We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Overall, this hotel was pretty good, but had some room for improvement.

The biggest problem with this hotel is the gym. I travel a lot for business, so I rely on hotel gyms quite a bit. This is the worst hotel gym that I have found in awhile. There weren't any towels or any anti-bacterial wipes to clean the machines. There is a TV in the gym, but no remote to change the channel (I asked and was told it was lost). There are only 3 machines - one of which was broken. The bike had a wonky peddle and the electronics didn't work, so you couldn't set a workout program or even reliably set the resistance. There aren't any free weights either.

My room was clean and reasonably comfortable, although a desk chair for the desk would have been nice. I had to move an armchair to the desk in order to have a place to sit.

The common areas were pretty good and the breakfast reasonably well-stocked. Nothing out of the everyday, but decent.

The staff were also ok - they could be more welcoming and friendly, but they weren't rude or anything, just not as welcoming as with most HI properties.

So, overall it wasn't a bad stay, just not up to what I have come to expect from HI properties.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank november_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear november_moon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked our clean and comfortable rooms, common areas and breakfast option. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I am sorry that our fitness facility did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very clean hotel. A bit less modern than the ones we are used to staying at, but it is kept up well. It passed my inspection ;)

Not within walking distance of too many places, but everything is a short drive away (restaurants, movie theaters, etc).

Breakfast staff were very friendly. Wish I could say the same about the front desk. When I checked in, the young gentleman clearly didn't want to be there. I tried to ask what there was to do around Dothan, as we arrived a day early for what we were in town for, but he said "uh nothing" and didn't care to elaborate. Additionally, he gave me a welcome bag and when I asked for the 300 bonus points instead, he said they did not participate in that. I found that odd, as every other HIE we have stayed at has given us points instead of the welcome bag.

This isn't a huge deal to me. I'm being a little nit picky here, because the good definitely outweighed the bad. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I enjoy staying at this Holiday Inn express..they are very nice and friendly. The property is very clean, great parking and easy access to business work in Dothan. I like clean and friendly and this is tip-top!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy915891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very clean, friendly, and staff is very welcoming. Rooms were clean and smelled great. Only draw back is there no restaurants nearby, you have to drive a little. Will stay again when I am back in town next month.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed there on our road trip. The location is kind of in the middle of no where, but it does not really matter for a road trip. The hotel itself is clean and comfy. The bed is cozy and furniture is new. It was a pleasant stay on the way.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Isabel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Everything was very nice, except bar closed very early. Rest of the hotel was clean and comfortable. Work out room was minimal expectations.Tike bar was never open while we were there but pool looked really nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlenFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear GlenFitz,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Hotel rooms aren't my favorite places. Maybe I've seen too many of those television shows that show you how dirty some of them really are. When we arrived at our room after midnight after a very long day, I used antiseptic wipes on the toilet seat, counters, remote controls, etc.. The toilet in this particular room had some gross yellow streaks, which turned out to be iron stains from the water, but yellow streaks in a toilet just don't make a great first impression. The counter top in the bathroom had several hairs from previous guests. So did the shower. The air conditioner was extremely loud. Fortunately I had ear plugs with me that helped tune it out. I would have complained, but was too tired. Left after an ok breakfast without showering since I was headed straight home. Wouldn't stay at this location again. For over $100 a night, I expect clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Crystal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Crystal E,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dothan hotels
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dothan
Holiday Inn Dothan
#17 of 27 in Dothan
103 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Dothan, AL
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Dothan
Courtyard Dothan
#8 of 27 in Dothan
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dothan
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dothan
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Dothan
Comfort Suites Dothan
#11 of 27 in Dothan
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North

Address: 4090 Ross Clark Cir, Dothan, AL 36303-5724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Dothan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
Price Range: £68 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Dothan, AL near Dothan Regional Airport. Located just six miles from the Dothan Regional Airport, our choice Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North offers comfortable lodging in Dothan, Alabama. Guests of our hotel in Dothan, Alabama are sure to enjoy the convenient access our location provides to nearby Dothan attractions. Known as the 'Peanut Capital of the World,' the city of Dothan has more than 60 peanut sculptures throughout the downtown. Other nearby attractions include the world's smallest city block, the Shute Pecan Company and the famous Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. The Wiregrass Museum, Dothan Botanical Gardens and G.W. Carver Museum are also nearby. Corporate travelers will find our hotel in Dothan, AL is located just six miles from the Dothan Regional Airport and is right next door to the Dothan Convention Center. Twitchell, Dunbarton, Southeast Alabama Medical Center, Michelin and Troy University are all close to our hotel. We offer high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center for doing business on the road. Unlike other Dothan hotels, our guests can take advantage of the complimentary hot breakfast bar and enjoy the pool and fitness center at our Dothan accommodations. We hope you will consider Holiday Inn Express for your next Dothan vacation or business trip. Make your reservations today for a great Dothan hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dothan North
Holiday Inn Dothan
Dothan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing