We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rest and delicious food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Muscle Shoals, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Rest and delicious food”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The older hotel was updated with great service and food. The nights stay came with a coupon for a full buffet breakfast. We started our day with kind friendly attendants and a great meal.
Good job!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    64
    37
    27
    25
See reviews for
62
62
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean. With all rooms having access from the outside though, they make you walk around the hotel, in all the halls/stairs/public areas. And all of them, even in the door for the main lobby, were more than dirty with cigarette butts everywhere.
Employees were ok - looked a bit bored or tired. The breakfast was pretty good, with a decent buffet, but they make you wait for your drinks (why you don't have even the simplest things like juice and coffee in the buffet??). This becomes even worst when you have 2 employees for everything - sit you, take your drink order, clean tables.
On the positive, except the rooms, was that it was pretty cheap. Even with a good price though, I will go somewhere different next time I'm on the area - there are plenty of choices around.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cap10awesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dothan hotels

Petal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Yes, the rooms are accessed from the outside but the interior has been brought up to date. Had flat screen tv, fridge, coffee, etc. Unlike SunninAK our room was very clean and neat. I have no problems with wanting to come back again. We stayed two nights and the breakfast bar is outstanding. We are talking about a big breakfast bar. Eggs, grits, biscuits, gravy, bacon, patty sausage, french toast, and fruit. The hostess seats you and then a gentleman attends to you very well.
I was with 42 other Goldwing motorcycles and we all had a great time. The front desk was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Failing to get a winning bid on Priceline at a reasonable cost, I reserved the Clarion from the ChoiceHotel website and got a good senior rate of 61. As many have noted, and the staff acknowledge, it is an older property with exterior doors and stairs for those on the second floor. The rooms, however, are decently updated with comfortable beds, flat-screen television and even a refrigerator and microwave. Our two beds came with seven pillows; the towels were of the better sort. The only cavil with the room was the old-fashioned heating/cooling unit with a fan that ran constantly unless the unit was shut off completely. The room also came with two complimentary beverage coupons for the bar area and two breakfast buffets. In the morning, guests are offered the Wall Street Journal and USAToday. The pool area, unused due to the temperature, is pleasant enough; the fitness "room" contained only a treadmill and stepper. The breakfast includes eggs, sausage, bacon, and french toast in addition to the usual cold choices. Service for coffee and juice was friendly and prompt. As the agent at the front desk put it: "We know we are an older property and so we try to compensate with friendly service." They do indeed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We booked through Expedia, which classified this hotel as a 3 star. It was more like a single star. The rooms were dated and in poor condition. Most areas were clean, but there was visible dirt and debris in the corners where the walls and floor met. If we hadn't prepaid, we would have walked out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyinAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek L, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
We do appreciate your constructive criticism. I have addressed your complaint with my housekeeping staff. As a manager, I always like to seek a way to rectify any issues that are presented during a guests stay, prior to their departure from the property, however, sometimes as in this case it does not happen. I would like an opportunity to speak with you, so that I may encourage you to see a different side of our property than your previous stay. Our hotel is dedicated to our guests and their satisfaction. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sporttourer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We spent 9 days in this hotel while we cared for a relative who was hospitalized at the SE Medical Center, about 3 miles away. Got a 2 room suite for $69 per night. Staff was great. Room was a little dated but clean. From what we have heard from others, this is the best hotel in Dothan. Big breakfast buffet was included in the price, including eggs cooked to order. One of the waiters said he had worked there for 30 years!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sporttourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,662 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Spent an eveing in Dothan. The Clarion hotel rooms were nice. Thedesk had a good light and a plug for your laptops. The hotel's staff were friendly and very helpful. Ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. Food was good and the prices were fair. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a hotel discount book at the State welcome center on entering Alabama
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipperhigh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dothan hotels
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Dothan
Comfort Suites Dothan
#7 of 27 in Dothan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dothan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites Dothan
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 27 in Dothan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dothan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites
Address: 2195 Ross Clark Cir, Dothan, AL 36301-5747 (Formerly Holiday Inn - Dothan South)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Dothan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dothan
#6 Business Hotel in Dothan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full service hotel is located on the corner of Ross Clark Circle and Hwy. 231 South, just 90 minutes to the beautiful beaches of Panama City, FL. We have newly renovated rooms and lobby offering many great amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Hotel Dothan
Dothan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing