We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION - GREAT VALUE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a well maintained property, that has been kept up to date with all of the conveniences you can want. Modernized rooms with up to date improvements in beds.

They also provide a full, hot breakfast buffet, with the room. This is not just a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I must brag a little and agree that our breakfast is one of the best around and we continue to not cut corners to ensure our guests leave with a fully belly and hot cup of coffee each morning before they hit the road. While we all know breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day, we believe it is essential to starting your morning off right and leaving you energized and ready to take on a day of traveling or business upon your departure. We hope that you will continue to choose to stay with us in the near future!

Best Regards,
Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Although not a new hotel the rooms were clean & appeared well kept.Everyone on staff was very friendly & seemed glad to see us.The free breakfast buffet was outstanding.The food was cooked great & the service was excellent.One of the most pleasant weekends away we've had in a while.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leadman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Dothan. It is important to us as a property to ensure all of our guests leave as satisfied as you. Our goal is to present comfortable accommodations mixed with the best customer service in our area to ensure that you leave with pleasant memories of Dothan. We hope you will continue to choose to stay with us in the future and wish you the best of days until your return!

Best Regards,
Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a motel, not a hotel. The lobby is much nicer than the typical motel lobby and gives off a feeling of a hotel; but all rooms have a motel entrance. Some rooms are facing their beautiful pool/courtyard while some are overlooking the Winn Dixie parking lot. I only saw the pool at night, but it looked amazing for a motel! There were some loud people swimming, so we chose not to sit around the pool. There were several chairs/tables, but no jacuzzi.

Check-in/check-out was quick and easy with no frills; however after settling in, the front desk actually called our room to make sure we had everything we needed!! That is a major plus in my book, because rooms frequently do not have enough towels or pillows or blankets when I travel with 3 teenage girls!

The room was old, but it was clean and comfortable. There was a hair dryer and a coffee maker in the room with tea bags, etc. The shower had a very nice, updated shower head and rounded curtain rod to give more space in the shower... very nice for a motel! The beds were doubles as opposed to queen-size, which almost caused me to choose another hotel. The walls are a bit thin, but fortunately, we only stayed one weeknight traveling through Alabama. I think there are only two levels, but no elevator. From our room, we could hear voices from the stairwell, but it was quiet during the night. I think there was a maintenance man at 8am who had a very loud voice... he should be told to speak quietly in the morning.

The wifi worked perfectly in room 200 (which was the closest room to the lobby). There was a lounge for ages 21+ which served bar food at night. I peeked in and noticed it was loud and pretty empty with a friendly bartender; but the noise was nicely contained and could not be heard outside their door.

Breakfast is a nice full-service buffet in the restaurant. There were eggs, french toast, bacon, grits, sliced melon, whole fruit, cereal, bagels, yogurt, and more... no waffles, berries, or skim milk.

There was an ice machine conveniently located near the parking lot where you can refill your cooler before you continue on your way.

Room Tip: Choose a room over the pool/courtyard... don't get stuck in a room overlooking the parking lot a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homeschool_Mom_Patti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are so pleased you took time out of you busy day to leave us a review regarding your recent stay at our property. It serves as a great tool of encouragement for our staff for our guests to let us know that they appreciated the hard work and accomodations that we strive to provide for our guests. Our welcome calls are one of our favorite things to do after check in to ensure you found your room to be comfortable and up to your expectations prior to you leaving so that we can address and resolve any issue you may see before you even notice them. (i.e. extra towels, toiletries, or any other items you may need to make your stay the best possible) We are quite partial to our beautiful pool area that you described in your review as the palm trees and luscious green grass are a relaxing view for many guests who stay with us. We hope that you will continue to choose to stay with us when you are in the area and wish you the best of days until you come see us again!!
Best Regards,
Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The reservation was made online and I did not expect much for the price, It was located exactly where we needed it, I am sure they did that just for me:-). I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. The room was spacious and everything worked. The Bar area offered a free bufet while you had a drink or two. I was on the backside which was quite even though close to the rad. Breakfast was a free buffet, nice. eggs and pork grits.

Room Tip: the internet price is outstanding.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VideoCreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave feedback regarding our property to your fellow TripAdvisor travelers. Your remarks are some of our favorite to hear, as there is nothing more gratifying than hearing we not only met, but exceeding your expectations during your stay. Our staff's goal is to supply the best service possible to each guest everyday and your comments serve as wonderful encouragement for our staff. We hope that you will continue to visit us when your in the area so that we are able to supply to you the most hospitable accommodations in Dothan.
Best Regards,
Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed here some time ago when it was part of the Holiday Inn system. The General Manager Derick & his staff were superb. I would not stay with Holiday Inn anymore so I am glad it was the Clarion & would stay with them. However, what made this hotel for an extended stay was not Holiday Inn, it was Derick & his staff. The Kitchen staff was also fantastic & accommodating. Derick always went out of his way to be helpful, informative, sincere, & friendly. That is something that is hard to come by these days. I never visited the bar or the pool because I was working 7 days a week, 16-20 hours a day so I cannot comment on that. Maintenance also did an excellent job of taking care of things. The hotel was a reasonable & fair priced hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

David C,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding our property. We pride ourselves on being able to adequately staff our property with people who are pushing for the highest level of customer service and accommodations possible so that all our guests leave feeling as satisfied as you have on your previous stays. I have forwarded your positive comments to all our staff here to serve as encouragement to continue to show up to work each day with a smile and helpful attitude to ensure our guests leave happy and with a positive memory of their stay.

Best Regards Until You Return,

Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Once upon a time when you booked a Clarion you were getting a room upscale from Comfort Suites. If this Clarion is any indication it is now a down market hotel. I would not recommend staying here on a weekend because this is a party location and has a large bar that allows smoking which is quite lively on the weekends. Might be ok during the week but stay somewhere else on the weekend if you are traveling and need a good nights rest. We were up often throughout the night. I do need to point out that the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was priced correctly for what is but just don't expect what Clarion used to be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Ricky768,

Let me begin by thanking your for your feedback regarding our hotel as it is the only way we are able to improve as a property. I do apologize that you found some aspects of our property not to your liking, but we do not promote ourselves as a "party location". You are correct that we are a full service property that includes a lounge area that does allow smoking. We apologize that you had any inconveniences while you stayed and urge any guests who have any issues during their stays to follow up with the front desk so that the manager on duty can reconcile any issues immediately so that you may enjoy a peaceful stay at our property. I am pleased to know that our staff was pleasant and helpful during your stay and again apologize that you felt your stay was less than satisfactory. We will address your comments and make the appropriate adjustments necessary to ensure all of our guests are happy and content upon departure.

Best Regards,
Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The motel was clean, modern, the staff friendly, a restaurant on premises. The hot breakfast was excellent. The only negative was that the bath could use some up dating. Motel is next to a grocery store, micro wave and refrigerator in the unit. We were their to visits friend on near by army base. Free internet, plus a couple of computers in the lobby........................ Review has to be 200 characters, what more can I say? This is a good place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah S, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Beth,

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to post a review regarding our property to TripAdvisor. It is always nice to receive kind words about a recent stay as it is a very accurate gauge of how well we are preforming as a staff at our hotel. It is always our goal to go above and beyond to extend all courtesies possible to our guests and I am so please to hear that Jacob, the night clerk, was able to schedule you a taxi and recommend a wonderful restaurant for ya'll to dine. My staff joins me in welcoming you back next time you are in town to visit friends and hopes you will choose to stay with us again when you return.

Best Regards,

Hannah Shiver
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dothan hotels
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dothan
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Dothan
Comfort Suites Dothan
#9 of 27 in Dothan
161 reviews
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Dothan
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 27 in Dothan
76 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites Dothan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 2195 Ross Clark Cir, Dothan, AL 36301-5747 (Formerly Holiday Inn - Dothan South)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Dothan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dothan
#6 Business Hotel in Dothan
Price Range: £47 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full service hotel is located on the corner of Ross Clark Circle and Hwy. 231 South, just 90 minutes to the beautiful beaches of Panama City, FL. We have newly renovated rooms and lobby offering many great amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Dothan
Clarion Inn And Suites
Dothan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing