We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bill & Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Point Clear Cottages
Ranked #1 of 9 Fairhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bill & Barbara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The facilities were first class. Being on Mobile Bay brought back childhood memories, view and Sunsets were spectular.

Robert and his staff were great, spending time with them was like visiting with the "good side of the family".
Joanie's breakfast was very special "Southern Cooking". Will remember the Sweet Potatoe pancakes, and try to duplicate at home.

Over all I rate our experience as excellent, and plan to stay again when we are in the area. Wish we had discovered sooner.

Good job Robert, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house; other rooms are equal but different. It would not matter to me which ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you, and thank you for the nice review! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
373
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Point Clear Cottages is absolutely amazing! A beautiful, quiet B&B, just perfect for a little getaway! We stayed in the Pelican's Nest, a nice secluded cottage above the garage. Robert (the owner) made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed, also suggesting local places that were a must-see (we're out-of-towners, clearly). Waiting for us was a relaxing hot tub, kayaks, and a beautiful pier to grill, fish, and just enjoy the view!...And trust me, we enjoyed every bit of it! Every morning Joannie had a delicious southern breakfast prepared for us, including pecan waffles, a breakfast casserole, grits, and for dessert a bread pudding topped with an astounding bourbon sauce. The staff was everything you would hope for! Very friendly, funny, and again made sure you felt/were comfortable. We will definitely be planning another vacation to these cottages! Thank you so much for your welcoming hospitality! :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrillkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
It pleases us when our guests get what they want out of their stay, whether it is simply enjoying the scenery from a rocking chair on the pier or taking full advantage of our offerings. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come and experience it all again soon! Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in the main house in the Master Bedroom because it has a king sized bed. The bed and bedding were very soft and comfortable. The house and grounds were immaculate and beautiful. There is are rocking chairs, padded chairs and a hammock on the pier to relax on, which we did a lot of.

Breakfast on Saturday morning was delicious! We were only able to stay 2 nights but thoroughly enjoyed our time at Point Clear Cottages.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCOG377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the area. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake forest, ill
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We once again returned to Point Clear Cottages and to our wonderful host Robert Berglin. There is nothing more wonderful after a long day in the car but to arrive where your every need is taken care of. The refrigerator was stocked with a variety of juices and fruit. The freezer had ice cream and ice cream bars. Breakfast was served by Joannie and Tabatha who are wonderful cooks. It is like eating in a fine dining restaurant. Robert is a charming host who knows the history of the area and can point guests in many directions for wonderful days outings. We hope to continue going to Point Clear and watching the beautiful sunset on their pier.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for returning to Point Clear Cottages! We hope to have the opportunity to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madisonville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Mr. B's Bayshore Cottage was cozy and wonderfully appointed. We couldn't have asked for more. The property was immaculate and the outdoor pier was the perfect place to watch the sun go down over Mobile Bay with a glass of wine. The staff was friendly and courteous. Joni's breakfast are not to be missed! We felt so pampered.

Would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bayshore Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We are so pleased that you took time to enjoy a beautiful Mobile Bay sunset from the pier, but most importantly, that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama city, florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay. Lovely accommodations. Spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were scrumptious. Robert, Joannie, and Tabatha pampered us and made us feel special and welcome. We are elderly and getting decrepit. The master bedroom/bathroom in the main house were perfect. We parked next to a ramp (did not have to climb stairs). The walk-in shower instead of a tub was great for us. The huge bed was so comfortable. Especially enjoyed sitting on the sun porch at daybreak to see the beautiful colors in the sky over the bay. Also sitting on the pier out over the water, feeling the breeze and watching the pelicans -- most tranquilizing.

Room Tip: The master bedroom/bathroom in the main house is perfect for those who cannot climb stairs and who n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbpancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We strive to be a place for all to enjoy and we are so glad that we were able to accommodate your needs in a comfortable way. Thank you for taking time to write this nice review. We hope you will come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I've been to a lot of places, stayed in many different hotel/motel/B&Bs, but nothing compares to the wonderful experience, we had at Point Clear Cottages. Robert Berglin, is a wonderfully charming host, and very informative about the surrounding area, and it's restaurants. Mr. Berglin and his staff, were extremely accommodating and spoiled me. Joanie, Point Clear's chef, created the most delicious breakfasts, that would rival a world class chef's best efforts. Tabitha and Kaky, were also, wonderful, and very warm, and friendly. My boyfriend, and I, stayed in the main house, and it was amazing, comfortable, private, warm, and inviting. Mr. Berglin and his staff, made us feel right at home. We felt like we were part of his family. I will never forget my stay at Point Clear Cottages.......it was the experience of a lifetime!! And I will be returning. I've already recommended Point Clear Cottages to ALL of my friends and family.....many of who, will be experiencing the peaceful beauty of this wonderous get away, for themselves, very soon. Thank you Robert, Joanie, Tabitha, and Kaky, for a truly beautiful experience......you all touched my soul, more then I can convey! God bless you all!!

Room Tip: The main house acommodation, is a pampering one......and you've GOT to experience the beauty, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Owner at Point Clear Cottages, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for the very nice review. We truly love what we do and are so happy you came to experience what we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again, and a big thank you for the referrals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairhope
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairhope
Hampton Inn Fairhope
#1 of 4 in Fairhope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
3.4 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile-East Bay-Daphne
15.3 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#8 of 64 in Mobile
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Clear Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Clear Cottages

Property: Point Clear Cottages
Address: 18129 Scenic Highway 98, Fairhope, AL 36532-6832
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fairhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cottages on Mobile Bay. Each has King size bed and suitable for couple. Top quality accommodations. Ironed sheets and quality linens. DirecTV premium channels, wireless high-speed internet. Pier. Fresh cooked breakfast of crab omelets, shrimp & grits, pecan waffles, blueberry pancakes, Monday thru Saturday. Nice continental breakast on Sunday's in cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Clear Cottages Fairhope, Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing