We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better”
Review of The Pub - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Pub
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
164 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Better”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Under new ownership and MUCH cleaner than it used to be. The new owner has had other successful restaurants in the area and the food is good...but something just seems off about this place.. perhaps it's the lighting, or the wait staff. It's pretty obvious that I'm not the only person who's noticed because you can always get a table here when everything else is packed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MasonOrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch while shopping in Fairhope”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Great salads, soups and sandwiches and a convenient place to have lunch while shopping or a great place for your husband to have a glass of wine or a beer while YOU shop!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, Alabama
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to Drank!”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Cozy place, the bartenders were friendly and attentive. The crowd was friendly as well. I like that there is an upstairs, and an outside balcony. Had a great time. I didn't try the food, so I can't speak for that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White_Kong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elberta, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
“Eat and Run”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Almost turned around and left , but was tried and needed food. Was middle of day and thought, ok , it's dark and smells of smoke but we'll have a quick eat and drink. Sad because the food was good, and the waitress did a good job (alone), but watched 6 people walk in and right back out...DARK and SMELL's like smoke. Why not lighten it up, open the doors, pull open the curtains, get vents and welcome the day crowd besides just the mid day drinking locals. Great local they have, just sad they don't take advantage of a good thing. Will not be back, unless I get it to go! Wonder if owner even reads what's being posted? It is a Bar ,Not a Pub! Not for small children! It will scare them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
180 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Couldn't step foot in here”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We walked in because my husband was interested in eating at a pub atmosphere. We walked in the door and were hit by a horrible stench. Couldn't eat here. Our stomaches turned at the sight and smell of the place. It is more of a bar. Its dark, small, and musty; reeks of cigarette smoke. Found somewhere we really enjoyed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank bethoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing