We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairhope
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife go to a Mardi Gras ball in Fairhope ever year and I have stayed at this Inn the same weekend for the last 7 years without a problem. This year was different though.

We had reservations and when we arrived we waited in line at the front desk. I asked if we could have a room near some friends that were already checked in. We were told we could not and our room was not ready, although it would be in 15 minutes. We were also told that we could not check in until the room was ready and that we would have to come back to the front desk and wait in line again when it was.

I was unhappy but I promised my wife I would wait the 15 minutes we were told it would take to get our room ready. While we sat there waiting I watched 3 other people check in and get a room. That really pissed me off. So after waiting 15 minutes I asked about my room again and was told that it still was not ready and one of the clerks was checking on it. I asked how others had been able to check in when we were not and was told that their rooms were ready and ours wasn't. Then I told the clerk to give me one of the rooms that was ready and was told that they were for people that hadn't arrived yet. I was about to go ballistic.

I worked my way through college at the front desk of a hotel and I know how this works. The clerks had assigned rooms at the beginning of their shift and were not willing to reassign them because it was too much trouble. When I worked the front desk and we had assigned a room to someone I would have made every effort to reassign a room to move someone closer to a friend staying at the hotel and I would NEVER have had someone wait on a room to be made up when there were others that were ready.

I addition, to the front desk problems, our door key didn't work, the hair dryer in our room didn't work, and the ice maker on our floor didn't work.

Next year we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Quartz2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairhope, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Quartz2337,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Room was clean and large. Breakfast ok. Great cookies at night. Price at hotel higher than online sites . This hotel was not as plush as some of the chain is
Not many hotels in FairHope, so it is one of best there.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alabamabusybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairhope, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Alabamabusybee,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent one night at the hotel. The hotel is right next to a Burger King....nice for some late night ice cream. The beds were VERY comfortable. We are a family of 5. Usually, we get a room with 2 queens and a roll away bed that barely fits in the room. This suite was so nice! There was a separate "living room" area. The couch pulled out for another bed. It wasn't too much more than a regular room. We loved it! The bathroom fan was a little loud but no other complaints!

Room Tip: Spend the few extra bucks for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I want to take the opportunity to express my gratitude and appreciation to the staff of this hotel. Racheal Mcbride and her staff were wonderful. We had apx 20-30 family members stay at this hotel. The banquet room was used for our rehersel dinner and allowed everyone in our party to stay within a couple of feet of their rooms. Thanks again for the excellent stay and we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champstire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Upon check in staff very accommodating. However carpet in rooms is very soiled. As owners of a commercial cleaning service(23 yrs) we clean carpet for all of Mr Bb Patels hotels in Laurel & Hattiesburg. Never seen any this soiled. Breakfast was a disaster. It was New Years morning and 45 min prior to end out of practically everything. When I went to front desk to report it sign stating staff was unavailable helping guest. After a 5 min of going back and forth to front desk CALLED from my cell. Told the girl the situation. She came in and replaced 1 coffee pot, cleaning up trash bins looked @ food or should I say glanced and walked out . Never to return. Lot of disgusted people. Loved our room suite # 303 great price, comfortable clean beds but dirty carpet.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cwalsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairhope, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Cwalsworth,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We deeply value our guest feedback as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the room cleanliness and the breakfast. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our family of four had a home fire on the 7th of december and we stayed at the holiday inn express in Fairhope until the 27th. We could not have asked for a more friendly staff and always helpful to us.
We owe a special thanks to the staff , Matthew, Sharla ,Domnic, Flora, John, Phnita , and another John.
We had our Christmas at the Holiday Inn with the help of the staff for our two young boys otherwise we would not have had any place to go.
I would recommend this Holiday Inn to anyone traveling and needed a friendly place to stay.

To the staff i give them A FIVE STAR RATING

L.G.B.

Room Tip: third floor north windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and I travel a lot and I can honestly say I've never met a manager that treated us the way John here did, He checked us in, helped with our luggage and we were shocked to see him the next morning serving coffee and working in the breakfast area, He remembered our names and made us feel appreciated. We loved the service so much we stayed an extra night. I understand the hotel will be renovating but the customer service here is unmatched.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairhope
0.4 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
150 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile-East Bay/Daphne
22.0 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile-East Bay-Daphne
10.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile Daphne/Eastern Shore
18.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fairhope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fairhope

Address: 19751 Greeno Rd, Fairhope, AL 36532-3843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Fairhope
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairhope
Price Range: £69 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fairhope 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal breezes, small town charm and a sense of romance and serenity welcome you to the Holiday Inn Express® Fairhope - Point Clear. Surrounded by unique attractions, we're great for both business and leisure visits.For corporate travelers here to do business on the Eastern Shore, Point Clear and Fairhope, AL, our hotel's location is perfect. We're near a number of local businesses, including Segers Aerospace, Sunbelt Fire and Thomas Hospital. We feature a 1,700-sq-ft meeting facility and a state-of-the-art Business Center with print services.Leisure guests experience the ultimate vacation in Fairhope, AL. Our hotel's proximity to Mobile Bay provides easy access to Fairhope Pier and its amazing coastal beauty. The "Flowers of Fairhope" and one-of-a-kind art galleries are on display year-round. In addition, downtown Fairhope boasts many antique shops, memorable restaurants and unique retailers. It's also the site of many unique festivals and parades throughout the year, including Mardi Gras and Arts and Crafts Festival.Whether you're headed to Fairhope or Point Clear, AL, our hotel's amenities meet your needs. Our free Wi-Fi access keeps you connected to friends and colleagues. We also have a complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar that is sure to satisfy. Our 24-hour Fitness Center and outdoor pool add even more convenience to your vacation in Fairhope, AL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fairhope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope Hotel Fairhope
Holiday Inn Fairhope
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing