We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamara's Downtown

Tamara's Downtown
Ranked #8 of 111 Restaurants in Fairhope
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
719 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“High Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

When you go to Tamara's make sure you look up at all the hanging art on the ceiling. I had the grouper special and it was delicious, artfully presented, and very reasonable at $13. A lot more reasonable that the $24.99 special I had at Wintzell's a couple of nights earlier. The pecan pie, made with local Baldwin County pecans, is well-worth the calories. The service was very friendly and attentive. Our servers had conversations with us and were very respectful always saying ma'am and sir. Good place to try if in Fairhope. They have a terrific brunch on Sundays with make-your-own bloody marys and mimosas, but they don't have it on Saturday, which is when we went.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flaneur40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    54
    13
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
189 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The BEST restaurant in Fairhope, hands down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was greeted at my table by the owner herself and given all the specials that were incredible, I just didn't know what to choose.
The menu has a great selection of just about anything you can think of, but their crab encrusted grouper with a 3 cheese sauce was out of this world.
I also took a bread pudding to go and it was so good that I hated to see the bottom of my to go box!
You will not be disappointed when you dine at Tamara's!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pam15801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, LA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has Potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our party of four dined for dinner last night. When we phoned to obtain reservations, we were told that they were not accepting reservations that evening due to the Arts Festival, but that the crowd was moving quickly. The gentleman did not seem to eager in encouraging us to dine . We decided to drive in and give it a try as we were limited in our time and knowledge of other options. While we were waiting for a table at the bar, a gentleman came in and spoke with a male behind the bar with whom he seemed familiar and stated that he had left a message on the machine . After asking how many in the party (6), his party was immediately seated. I get that as we also have a local favorite dining spot where we afforded special seating---discretion is important in not offending other patrons.. The dining area and bar area had a nice vibe and as mentioned by a previous poster, the artwork hanging from rafters was a nice touch. The mason jars of some type of skin care product at the reception area was strange. My daughter, a hospitality management major, immediately noticed while seated at the bar) that the area where the kitchen puts out the orders had a sink and a trash can directly under it where the pick ups are made- strange and visually displeasing. While our food was generally average or suitable, our service was poor. We ordered a doz oysters on the half shell as an appetizer which was delicious. However, when brought to the table, the waitress verbalize," so how do you all want to arrange this? " So, we, ourselves, moved the water glasses, cocktail glasses (most were empty), silverware, bread basket and individual plates, votive, and stacked the empty bread plates ourselves so that she could place in the middle of the table. We then requested crackers, but had to ask an additional time to obtain. The wait time between delivery of the oysters and the waitress returning to take our main order , or any additional drink orders, was unacceptable at 30 minutes. Salads arrived early after the order taken which was a plus. We were never offered any additional bread during the wait. While the others enjoyed their salads (house and Caesar), I was disappointed with the iceberg bleu cheese wedge. It was dribbled with only a few pieces of cheese and then a small drizzle of raspberry vinaigrette. It paled in comparison to a "real" bleu cheese wedge that I had the night before in our hone town. Our entrees arrived at individual servings. One of us received the seafood pasta dish, which she enjoyed, but we had to urge her to go ahead after waiting for 1o minutes without our entrees arriving. Then, a side order of gouda grits were delivered to me- no entrée. Eventually, my daughter's entrée was delivered and then followed by husband's and mine. This made for awkward dinging and conversation.

The prime rib, filet mignon, seafood pasta and sides were all very good, but the pace and quality of service paled significantly. We were not asked about dessert, but after being there for 3 HOURS, no need.

My suggestion to the owner, after researching, maybe consider only operating one venue and seek to do that superiorly rather than doing that mediocre. Again, this establishment has possibilities---work to improve.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J5CUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mediocre Wannabe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Tamara has tried to secure all of the prime downtown Fairhope real estate for restaurants. It would be a good thing if she learned how to run a restaurant. The food has improved at Tamara's downtown, but it's still only mediocre. They do have a beautiful bar, and the bartenders and servers are very pleasant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WallytheK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
162 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in Fairhope”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We are here around three but were able to dine off the dinner menu. We started with crab cakes as an app. The two cakes were fairly large and was basically full of crab--no fillers here!! My wife had grilled scallops with risotto and crisp spinach. It was delicious! I had the grouper over mashed potatoes covered with crabmeat. The crisper was crisp and moist. It needed a little more seasoning but that was my taste. It was accompanied with crisp spinach also. We were both full so we did go for desert. Perhaps next time. We really enjoyed the food but the special treat was being waited on by Tamara herself--very nice outgoing lady. We'll be back on our next trip through Fairhope!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hortman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamara's Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Tamara's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing