We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I stayed here while visiting family. The staff is great and the place is clean. As a Royal Platinum Ambassador, they gave me a very nice room and took great care of me during my visit. The hotel is convenient to many very nice restaurants and the local mall. I appreciate all the hard work the staff put into making my stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidTMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay and thank you for staying with us ! We love the feedback from our guests. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again soon !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

I've stayed this hotel multiple times. It is always clean, well organized, and the complementary breakfast is reasonable. It is also near a plethora of restaurants. Highly recommended for business travelers. Maybe a little slim on recreational activities for families with young children.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulMartin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area.

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before and wee very happy, we were traveling from the Dallas Market Center and after 3 days of purchasing inventory we were wiped out and all of our credit cards maxed out; so we were down to cash. We thought we would try something new and saw the wonderful reviews for the comfort inn suites; and apparently they couldn't take the cash without a credit placing a 100 hold. Next time I will just come directly here and save myself time and trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneein2art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad you chose our hotel. We will absolutely take cash and look forward to welcoming you back whenever you are in the area !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This place looks nice upon first glance, but on further inspection it's obvious that cleanliness is lacking. I went to take a shower and found dried, bloody snot on the shower curtain! Not just a little, but quite a lot. Absolutely disgusting. Coffee pot in the room was filthy, too, not that I was planning to use it. I also found long white hairs on the bed blanket (we don't have white hair). Wi-fi was terrible, too. I won't stay at another Holiday Inn Express ever again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate all feedback from our guests . I want to specifically apologize for the problems you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is certainly not in keeping with our usual high level of cleanliness and service. Please be assured that these issues are being addressed with the staff in order to prevent recurrence. I do understand your frustration. My hope is that you will give our hotel another chance to win back the faith and confidence you placed in us when choosing this hotel for your stay. I also hope that you will definitely give our brand another chance in whatever area you choose to travel. If you have any other questions or concerns please contact me directly at the hotel.
Again, thank you for letting us know about your stay.

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The hotel appears fairly new and well maintained. The rooms are large, the beds are good, has the standard mini fridge, micro and coffee maker. The internet is fast, the breakfast is standard waffles and muffins. The location is OK, pretty commercial, one restuarant in walking distance, short drive to others. No real home away from home feel, just a little too commercial.

OK for an in and out overnight stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate all comments from our guests. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose our hotel the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely
Glenda Gilliam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

When your clock is off - Eastern time and don't want to wake your mate making coffee in the bathroom- well it was a delight to have coffee there, the TV news on. Recently updated so rooms were perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneein2art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay at our hotel. We welcome all comments from our guests. I am happy to know that we were able to make your stay more enjoyable by having our wonderful Smart Roast Coffee avaiable for you . It was our pleasure to serve you ! We look forward to welcoming you back !

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here in Feb. of 2012 for our daughter's birthday. Normally, we stay at the Marriot for things like this, but we couldn't get reduced rates for this particular weekend. We selected the Holiday Inn because it was relatively new, had a pool and was around $100. The room was a standard guest room, it didn't stand out from any other hotel where I've stayed. It was clean and had the normal amenities. When we checked in, we witnessed a lady with her child complaining to the front desk about bites they had received in the pool area. The staff at the desk handled this with professionalism which I respect. Of course, the pool was the reason for our visit so we ventured to it pretty quickly after arriving. The pool is in an enclosed room which holds in the stench of chlorine. Also, the acoustics make it very difficult to carry on a conversation with someone. After spending several hours in the pool, my daughter also had a few bites but we couldn't decide what had caused them. The pool itself had quite a few bugs floating around in it and a film on top of the water surface. However, my daughter upon waking the next morning did not hesitate to want to go back. The breakfast was good and was the only thing that exceeded my expectations. We did visit the pool again until checkout time. All in all, the hotel served its purpose - it provided a clean room, pool, and breakfast at a reasonable price. The staff were friendly and accommodating. There are several good options for food within walking distance (buffalo wild wings, logan's, ruby tuesday's, five guys burgers and fries). So, if I were traveling and just needed those things, this would be a good place. However, if you are wanting something more luxurious, it's not here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenda G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We appreciate all comments from our guests. Please be assured that the issues you experienced have been addressed. We hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Glenda Gilliam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Florence-Midtown
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-Downtown
1.4 mi away
Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 12 in Florence
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence/Muscle Shoals
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Florence
Residence Inn Florence
#5 of 12 in Florence
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence

Address: 180 Etta Gray St, Florence, AL 35630-9574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £83 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Florence, Alabama hotel's near the Tennessee River. The Holiday Inn Express® Florence Northeast Hotel is located in the northwest corner of Alabama, an area best known for its variety of outdoor activities. As you visit this friendly town, pause to enjoy the surrounding countryside, which includes the beautiful Tennessee River and Pickwick Lake. Business travelers lodging in Florence appreciate our on-site Business Center and 1,008-square-foot meeting room. We are close to many major businesses, including Wise Alloys, TNT Fireworks, TVA (Tennessee Valley Authority), Coca-Cola Bottling Co., Florence Industrial Park and North American Lighting. The University of North Alabama, Eliza Coffee Memorial Hospital and Helen Keller Hospital are located in Florence, Alabama. Our hotel's property is near the Tennessee River, which boasts excellent fishing, swimming and boating. After a busy day on the river, slow down and enjoy a leisurely game of golf at The Shoals, part of the popular Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. The family can enjoy a visit to the Alabama Music Hall of Fame, as well as the Helen Keller House and WC Handy Birthplace & Museum. You can begin each day with a fantastic meal from our complimentary hot breakfast bar, and while lodging in Florence, our guests can also take advantage of the free high-speed, wireless Internet access we provide in each guest room. Our hotel also features an indoor pool and Fitness Center. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florence Ne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing