We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great Hotel close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night and it was great. I would highly recommend it. It is only 8 miles to Gulf Shores, Al. The hotel staff was very helpful. They have a wonderful hot breakfast with gravy & biscuits also hot waffles.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hfsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

Ok I know the breakfast is complimentary, but does that mean it has to be horrible. The breakfast attendant would not make more coffee an hour before the breakfast ended. This is the only complaints though the hotel was clean, housekeeping was awesome. The Front desk clerk that checked me in was very nice, but the clerk that I asked for recommendations on what was good in the area was very unhelpful.

Room Tip: Complimentary breakfast is not good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyblue00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Stayed in Foley for one night en route from Daytona back to Houston. We'd stayed in Gulf Shores several years ago, but I wanted something more affordable for just a one night stay. I called the hotel to tell them we would be arriving late, and the front desk woman was very kind and pleasant on the phone. The hotel was almost empty (it was Sunday night) Check-in was quick, and we received a room on the 2nd floor. There were luggage carts available for use. The room was spacious; my friend said it slightly smelled like it had been closed up for a while, but it wasn't bad and certainly nothing to raise an issue about. The wi-fi worked fine. The room was clean, the bed was large and comfortable, and the shower had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. It was a quiet night. Free breakfast in the morning-ours included biscuits and gravy, waffles, cereal, muffins, coffee, and juice. The staff was attentive and friendly. All in all it was a good room for a good value, and located right on 59; quick drive south to the beaches!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nightrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We ended up checking into this hotel after we had to check out our original hotel due to maintenance problems. We checked in around 9:30 p.m. and allw ent smoothly untill about 11 p.m. when the drunk couple in the room nex door to us started fighting and slamming the door which rattled the window of course the sound of screaming and yelling was a bit distracting, the desk clerk was no where to be found for the duration of the night. To make matters worse the A/C stopped working at 1:00 a.m. still no desk clerk so needless to say it was not a good evening.
To top matters off we may have picked up bed bugs from the hotel - our luggage is currently at Terminex along with all the great clothes we picked up at the outlet mall.


This hotel is a bit seedy and risky

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chele372002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I chose the Econo Lodge in Foley based on reviews from several sites, as well as, its proximity to the outlet mall. We were so pleasantly surprised! The hotel was spotlessly clean, quiet, and beautifully decorated for Christmas. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The beds were as comfortable as those in a four star hotel we stayed in in NYC once. The breakfast leaves a bit to be desired compared to those served at the Embassy Suites but still is much nicer than just the plain continental you'd expect. We would stay here anytime!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank journey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyJo10, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2011

Thank you for choosing the EconoLodge in Foley Alabama and sharing your experience with other readers. We have a great hotel in a very convenient location with a wonderful staff.
Look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

My partner and I got a room with TWO queen sized beds. He has circulation problems so he likes a blanket on his feet. I wanted a blanket because I like a cool room and warm bed. There was only One blanket so he went down and requested an add'l blanket. They refused as there is only allowed one per room. Excuse me, there are two beds. So I had to sleep in my small jacket or go buy a blanket I would not need later. It is idiocy that two beds cannot have two blankets if requested. After all they had our deposit. Next time we go, it will not be at Econo Lodge. I guess two blankets would have taken the Economy out of the Inn part.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frognose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEhrat, Internet Coordinator at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Well, goodness!! What can we say after first offering our sincere apologies to you? It most certainly is not our policy to count out blankets! We cannot begin to figure out why this desk clerk would say such a thing to you! We care deeply about the comfort of our guests! That is our business! And we rely on (positive!) word-of-mouth, and repeat business - and this is surley not the way to get either one!

We can only express our apology to you once again, and let you know that we would sincerely appreciate a second chance to show you we do know how to treat our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Econolodge Foley, AL. Old, loud, people running up and down outside yelling, rained and water standing all over walkways. Housekeeping leave carts out in walkway so you cannot get by. Price was OK

2  Thank autumFayetteville_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmfoley, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2009

We are an exterior corridor requires each housekeeper to have her cart with her at each door on the room that she is cleaning. Every 2 weeks we pressure wash the sidewalks and undoubtably this was the case while guest was here. As for the yelling and running up and down the guest should have called the front desk and we would have taken care of the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foley hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Foley
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Foley
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Foley
Super 8 Foley
#9 of 10 in Foley
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Foley
Hampton Inn Foley
#1 of 10 in Foley
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Foley
Comfort Suites Foley
#5 of 10 in Foley
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Foley
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 2682 S McKenzie St, Foley, AL 36535-3408
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Foley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Price Range: £40 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is located just across the street from the Tanger Outlet Mall. We have 82 rooms that include Suites and some with hot tubs. We have an outdoor pool and hot tub, free wi-fi. Free continental breakfast each morning, complimentary USA Today paper, In room coffee/tea maker, flat screen televisions, microwave and refrigerators in room and we are just seven miles from Gulf Shores beaches and other local attractions are just a short drive as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing