We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for beachgoers”
Review of Riviera Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riviera Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good for beachgoers”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family unknowingly planned a beach trip for the same day as the giant free Kenny Chesney concert in the area, so hotels were scarce and way overpriced. We got a reasonable-given-the-circumstances rate for this place for one night, and it served our purposes well. We basically wanted somewhere to crash nearer to the beach than Mobile or Pensacola, so the location was great for that. I also was happy to see a fridge and microwave in the room, so we could stock up on snacks and drinks the night before our beach day. We also appreciated the breakfast in the morning. It included the usual 2.5 star hotel breakfast items: make your own waffle station, a few cold cereals, bread and muffins, yogurt, juice, and a couple of hot items like eggs and sausage patties.

A previous review described the fitness center as a joke, and yeah, it's not great. A teeny stuffy room with exactly one bike, one treadmill, and one elliptical machine. The water cooler was empty, though there were towels and a functioning tv.

The room itself was fine. Nothing fancy, but clean. It had a musty, damp smell to it, which I assume is because all the rooms have exterior doors and it's damn humid down there. When we checked in, the room was FREEZING cold. I turned the air off entirely and left it off all night, and the room was still plenty cool when we checked out the next day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Former_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    45
    27
    16
    20
See reviews for
59
31
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

There is nothing prestigious about this hotel. It meets what you expect, clean, safe, good value and friendly staff! When on a budget, they are a terrific option and would suggest this to all frugal travelers.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BeachLoverA1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

No issue and the room was clean. Quiet off the road..
Michele helped us out at the front desk--they were sold out --checked in early.. Very helpful person.
We were in town for a show at the wharf --easy to get to from there
Would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonne Terre
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a super busy weekend. August before school starts and a big concert in town. Room was clean. Towels smelled like bleach which I LOVE!!
Nice staff. Great breakfast. Omelet with cheese. Sausage. Muffins. Toast or bagels. Cereal. Make your own waffles maker!
Oatmeal or grits.
Juice n coffee. Pool was clean n nice. Open late which was good. Only thing was our door had an issue,,, housekeeper didn't shut door all the way n we pushed it open!!! Told the deal and she thought maybe the humidity swelled the door?! I think I agree.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felinajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Ridge, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We really enjoyed our experience. It was very easy to check in and checkout. The accommodations were very nice and it was clean. The Best Western was centrally located to a variety of restaurants, as well as the Tangier Outlets. There are a ton of activities to partake in within minutes. Additionally, Gulf Shores is just a short drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great price and proximity to the beach. Large rooms. Easy parking. Nice staff. Breakfast was awesome. Pool was open late. Staff was very accommodating in changing my room from single to a double during my stay as a double was sold out upon booking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CoffeeMan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steele, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times first time room was dirty changed rooms hey it happens. Breakfast awful.don't waste Your time just go somewhere out to eat. But this time around we go to check in and the lady looked like she just rolled out of bed and came to work in her pjs. She was rude and was watching a tv show in the lobby that was unsuitable for a employee to be watching out in public area and with the volume up loud for all to hear. When im checking in with or without my children the last thing i want to hear is a program on your lobby tv talking about a mans swollen balls and the rest of the show cast calling him very nasty names. Than upon check out yes she was dressed right but still rude.they need a lesson in customer service.but on a good note the room was clean this time and the hotel is in a good location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sfinley1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foley
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Foley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lewiston Hall
Lewiston Hall
#14 of 24 in Gulf Shores
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Foley
Super 8 Foley
#8 of 10 in Foley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Foley
Hampton Inn Foley
#1 of 10 in Foley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Inn

Property: Riviera Inn
Address: 1504 S McKenzie St, Foley, AL 36535-1727 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Riviera Inn)
Region: United States > Alabama > Foley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Foley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riviera Hotel Foley
Best Western Foley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing