We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ we ever had and we're from Texas!”

Down South Barbeque
Ranked #6 of 119 Restaurants in Foley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
fulshear tx
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best BBQ we ever had and we're from Texas!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just ate here. Unbelievably good. He had brisket and I had ribs. Amazing. Great baked beans and horseradish potato salad. The sweet BBC sauce was yummy. And don't miss the jalapeno corn bread. Definitely a place to go back to when in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carolri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    24
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
2 reviews
“Delicious Southern Barbecue”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The cornbread sandwich is amazing! Pulled pork sandwich and rib sandwich (on the bone) were also very tasty! BBQ sauce very good. Picnic tables available, the meat is being smoked in the back. Down home cooking and so good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minivan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This was a very good and fast place to grab some Q, we visited the little place and not the restaurant, this place only has a car port that is screened in to eat, only had the sandwiches but was great BBQ, I have eaten at 2 places around here and they both rocked it.

Helpful?
1 Thank CHite68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Find!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had been to Billy's Seafood in Bon Secour to get shrimp, fish & crab cakes to take back to cook, but needed something yummy for the non-seafood people in our family. This place was perfect!! Got 2 lbs of the pulled pork with a side of sauce, and it was the best!! Lean, juicy and really tasty!! Right at the corner of County Road 10 and 59. Handy & wonderful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank racecar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, AL
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ and Quick”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a taste of true southern BBQ at a roadside stand. We were looking for a quick lunch and found Down South BBQ on Tripadvisor. My wife and I both had the SOB sandwich (BBQ brisket with a vinegar based coleslaw on texas toast) and it was excellent. The restaurant is really a roadside stand but they do have picnic tables under a tent to sit at and eat and the price is reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dexter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Down South Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing