We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay at a LQ hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fultondale Birmingham North
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fultondale
Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst stay at a LQ hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My family travels a lot and since we have dogs we stay at LQ hotels due to their dog friendliness. As an Elite member I have become accustomed to 1. being greeted as an Elite member 2. express check in and 3. Free bottled water. These are things that I am supposed to receive as an Elite member but I did not receive any of these at this hotel. At check in I was told I had a 1st floor room until they found out that I had my dogs. Then we were moved to the 3rd floor. Why would you put dogs on the 3rd floor of a hotel? Although we were told that the pool was open I did not allow my children to swim in it due to the fact that the water level was below the filter so the water was not being filtered. I was told that the chemicals were at the correct level so we could swim in it... When I asked why the pool level was low the manager stated that the filler nozzle had been broken and that she did not have a water hose that she could use... We have stayed at this hotel before but the service and cleanliness of the hotel have gone down.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RascalGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    38
    26
    26
    33
See reviews for
69
38
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I've stayed here on numerous occasions, on average about 3-4 weeks a year. Over the years the hotel has gone down. My coworkers wrote them off over the summer, but as an Elite member I continued to stay. Here are the problems with my last stay and the reason I've chosen to go some where else from now own. I was not greeted as an Elite customer and told the Railroad was priority. The lady on the front desk continued to cut me off before I could ask a question; her customer service needs work. Yes they accept dogs, but on the 3rd floor only. We don't want to disturb the railroad on the 2nd floor. Clean rooms? Ha. We had to switch rooms a few times. Switched rooms a couple times due to hair in the bed when we pulled the sheets back. In two rooms the sheets had quarter size holes in them. In one room they were almost thread bare. One room that had been "cleaned" still had poop splatter in the toilet! Finally got a clean room. When I notified the front desk manager I got an excuse for the condition, no apology. Taking my business elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fultondale hotels

Charleston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 weeks. We had a few issues... the wireless internet was unreliable no matter what time of day we tried to access it (from phones and laptops), the pool was closed for maintenance throughout our stay, hotel ran out of hot water every morning, our corporate travel company had an issue with them trying to bill for a week we were not there and the red-headed desk clerk needs to be taught hospitality skills. All other employees were polite and helpful, hotel was pretty quiet, our room (suite with sleeper sofa, 2 chairs, fridge and micro) was spacious and clean, full breakfast with waffle iron and a few other hot items, within walking distance of restaurants and convenient to other shopping and I-65.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank weride02h-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have stayed at this Motel before, twice!

The motel staff is friendly and helpful.

Their Hot Breakfast is very good, with scrambled eggs and bacon, plus the other usual breakfast items.

The rooms are clean and comfortable.

The motel is located just north of Birmingham off I-65 North. Easy to get to, (except for some construction on I65)

My Wife and I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTorsrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The best stay for a hotel in this price range. A really pleasant surprise when we saw the size of the room, the home-like atmosphere, and the cleanliness! The free breakfast was complete and delicious. Staff was super nice and competent. Fresh chocolate chip cookies in the evening. Convenient to everything! We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Enjoyed the stay. Check-in / out was smooth. Beds/pillows were comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. Staff was friendly. Amenities for hotel were better than most at this price point...indoor pool area and business center. Facility and grounds seemed to be well kept.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is very clean and friendly with a great breakfast. The beds are always great LaQuinta. The air conditioning was wonderful. Most hotels limit the low side of air conditioning to 68. This one went to 64 and worked. It also has an indoor pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank 428teresaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fultondale
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Fultondale I-65
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Fultondale
Comfort Suites Fultondale
#4 of 7 in Fultondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Fultondale
Days Inn Fultondale
#1 of 7 in Fultondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Fultondale/I-65
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fultondale
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Gardendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Fultondale Birmingham North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Fultondale Birmingham North

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Fultondale Birmingham North
Address: 1207 Boots Blvd, Fultondale, AL 35068-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Fultondale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fultondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Fultondale Birmingham North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Fultondale Birmingham North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing