We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hospitality”
Review of Mi Casita

Mi Casita
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Glencoe
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
175 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Grand hospitality”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Eat at Mi Casita frequetly as this is my 96 year-old Mother's favorite place to go. The staff treats her royally. It is a locals kind of place with many diners each night being multi-repeaters. If you are in Glencoe, Hokes Bluff, Southside or Gadsden and looking for Mexican, this is the place to head.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NetaVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
175 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great family place”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We go here often to take my 96 year old mother and our grandchildren. The staff is most considerate of my Mom and know what she always orders, Pollo Fundida. The food is good. I enjoy the tilapia with garlic sauce. The veggies are steamed just right. My husband orders the red snapper (whole-head on) with garlic sauce. The grandkids order all over the menu as do my husband and I. We probably eat at Mi Casita more often than any other place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NetaVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

IS Tripadvisor Ever Wrong? If So, Don't Tell Me! This Place Was Amazing. The Ceviche Is The Best I've Ever Had And I Will Drive An Hour One Way Again Just To Get Jeffs Fish Tacos!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathycalvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Okay, but, I've had better...”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I visited Mi Casita with my sister and brother-in-law for lunch. I had the chili rellano with refried beans. It was okay as far as Mexican fare goes, but, I've had better... Not expensive... Salsa was good... Service was quick and friendly...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Every time - Always "Muy Bueno"”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I have been here more times than I care to admit, starting with the week they opened their doors several years ago. I am not a technical "foodie" - but I know GOOD and bad Mexican when I get it. Mi Casito consistently has fresh fish in the ceviche. The menu items are prepared consistently good - however the real joy is the special items that the owner prepares. His fish dishes are second to none. Ask if he has fresh octopus - as it is fantastic as a diablo dish.

Salsas are fresh, portions are generous, presentation is above average, service is great. . . and after the second time, you are family there. I drool as I write this review.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BamaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mi Casita also viewed

Been to Mi Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing