We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceless view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulf Shores Plantation
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Louisa,Ky
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Priceless view!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in condo 1101 at Gulf Shores Plantation. The condo was beautiful. We've been staying there for the past 15 years and this condo has been our favorite by far. The owners are wonderful to work with. They rent through VRBO. Furnishings are always updated. They strive to keep their condo comfortable at all times. The view is AMAZING and very private. Can't say enough good things about it. If you go to Gulf Shores Plantation do your research. Not all condos are kept as nice as 1101.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank zadear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    125
    46
    32
    17
See reviews for
217
67
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our weekend getaway at the Gulf Shores Plantation. We rented from Mandoki Hospitality, the room was more than we needed to escape from everything. The staff was extremely friendly. The resort is about 12 miles outside the Gulf Shores city. Had free wireless internet, uncrowned beaches, several pools and a cafe that offered several different beachy drinks. The daily towel exchange from our rental company was great. We will return soon!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kramis00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during Christmas week. We found the condo complex to be older, but well maintained. The communal indoor pool/hot tub has recently been remodeled and is very nice. The location is pretty remote, which can he good or bad. Overall, the facilities were adequate and the condo was reasonably priced. A good option for a young family.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soccermom0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The bulk of Gulf Shores Plantation are individually-owned condos, so our unit may not be at all similar to others in the resort. For this review, I'll focus on the common property and location.

The property was equipped with indoor and MULTIPLE outdoor pools, a well-kept café, and easily-accessible beach. We could swim with our toddler in the kiddie pool, hang out in rental chaise lounges, and grab a quick bite and frozen daiquiri at the café for lunch. However, the common areas were run-down and in poor repair. Lots of peeling paint, weeded-over landscaping, old/dirty hall and stair carpeting, etc. It is a secure property with a security team that oversees entry/exit from the resort. There is a shopping district with a modest assortment of restaurants and grocery stores, and a outlet mall a short distance away, but that district is a solid 20-30 minute drive to get from the resort peninsula into the "mainland" activity/shopping area. It got to be tedious making that drive every night after long days at the beach/pool.

The worst part is that the ocean was FILLED with live and dead jellyfish. There were 6 people in our traveling party and all of us were stung at least once by jellyfish. Obviously the resort can't control this, but it is an epidemic in the gulf coast (google it) that I wish we had known about before booking.

Overall it's a decent resort for people with modest expectations. However, if you've ever been to a timeshare or similar resort in more exotic locations (Hawaii, South Beach, etc.) you will be underwhelmed by this property. If you have young kids who might not be the wiser, it's a frugal way to get a condo/resort experience.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have similar views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JETSETG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

In Feb 2012 the Monday after the super bowl I spent 5 nights with my wife in the heart of Gulf Shores at the Westwind condos unit 704 which was great too but too cold to swim in pool or ocean. But with highs in upper 60's was fine for walking on the beautiful white sand beach. It was $109 a night for that condo which was great condo but would have been $139 night if in September of same year. Being that I work at Walmart value price is an important factor in my vacation choices. I set up a friend from work to go and his family loved their 5 nights at Plantation east in June 2012. So I wanted to check it out myself. I found it exceeded all my expectations and found none of the issues l read in previous reviews. I lucked into a great deal for 8 nights for $740 or $92.50 night for two bedroom two bath unit on the fourth floor of 9 story Plantation Dunes building starting September 23 Monday thru Monday. My private balcony had great east side ocean view which gave me a good sunrise view over the 3 story plantation east buildings across parking lot. The weather was plenty warm in late sep 2013. I even got sunburned by not reapplying sunscreen between swims in ocean or pool. On the ground floor they had several charcoal bbq grills I used. The only frustration on my vacation was the matchlight charcoal will not light with just a match or lighter, you need lighter fluid because of the winds. But I didn't have to drive all the way back to Gulf Shores to get the lighter fluid fortunately there was a convenience store just down the road on the right heading back to Gulf Shores. The pools and hot tubs were great, and the peace and tranquility on the uncrowded beach was awesome. I highly recommend the entire resort for a relaxing beach vacation that won't burn a whole in your wallet. And best of all my walmart stock paid for everything when I got back home.

Room Tip: The Plantation Dunes building is as most of the buildings perpendicular to the beach. Only the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We rented one of the cottages which had 2 balconies with ocean view. There were 7 family members and there was lots of space for everyone to gather together or go our separate ways if we wanted some privacy. The master bedroom was huge with many windows and French doors out to balcony. Our cottage also overlooked one of the pools which was very convenient. Resort had lots of amenities - 6 pools, hot tubs, tennis, free DVD movie rentals and so close to the beautiful white sand beach! Wasn't busy at all as we went in October. Would definitely go back. The only drawback was it was about a 15 min highway drive to get into Gulf Shores for dining, shopping etc. Bring your own beach chairs as there are a few on the beach but are rentals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OntarioTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We love this family friendly "resort" and have been here many times over the years. 11 miles down fort Morgan parkway, these condos sit right on the beach. We have watched dolphins play in the surf, had an up close visit with a great blue heron, swam in the 7 outdoor pools, and relaxed in the hit tubs. Free DVD rentals, free sports equipment rental (tennis, horseshoes, shuffleboard) and enjoyed going to Bon Secour wildlife refuge, down the street. Some of the rooms are a little older and not super flashy, but we spent most of our time away from the room, so it was great for us. Call to book and the wonderful ladies at the from office will make sure you get the best view and best room for the best deal. Love this place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
12.3 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,173 reviews
13.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
346 reviews
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
221 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
44 reviews
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Shores Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Shores Plantation

Property: Gulf Shores Plantation
Address: 805 Plantation Rd, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-3244
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#7 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Shores Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mild temperatures, gentle breezes and the South's most spectacular sunrises and sunsets make Gulf Shores Plantation a destination for all seasons. Located on Fort Morgan Peninsula and featuring thousands of feet of uncrowded beach, the Plantation offers accommodations that include studio to 3-bedroom condos and 3-to-5-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gulf Shores Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Shores Plantation Hotel Gulf Shores
Plantation Gulf Shores
Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing