We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice PLace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulf Shores Plantation
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice PLace”
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We stayed on the third floor with a lovely beach view. We rented from an owner whom we found on VRBO.com. We decided to go literally 1 day in advance, and the owner was very nice, and answered all of our questions. The condo was spotless and had plenty of room and everything we needed. We had an end unit which was wonderful. The only noise we ever heard was one night a family coming back from the pool. We were a little concerned of the oil on the beach, but saw none, and although the red flags were out, the beach itself was open and we enjoyed sitting out there. The resort itself had more than enough pools to keep our kids happy. We swam in 3 of the 6 or 7 they had. We are already planning to go back. And even though it was about 13 miles from the main road leading into Gulf Shores, it was much nicer to be away from the large groups and have some peace and quiet!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kajun213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    121
    44
    32
    18
See reviews for
207
67
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, TN
Level Contributor
247 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We rented a top floor condo at Plantation Palms and had a wonderful vacation. Our rental agency was on-site and couldn't be better. The unit was clean and met all our needs. The beach was beautiful and with both indoor and outdoor pools along with a kiddie pool and a hot tub - there was something for everyone. We golfed at Kiva Dunes which is walking distance and combined cooking with occasional dining out so that costs were contained. One of our best vacations ever and can't think of a single thing that we would change if we could. Simply the best!!

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

I rented through Mountain2Beach Vacations, and they charged us a damage deposit for a dent in the refrigerator that was there when we got there. We weren't asked to do any sort of inspection upon our arrival, so we didn't think to report it. The refrigerator worked fine, and was very clean, so we figured the owners had just bought it at a scratch and dent sale. Otherwise, the place was very nice. Small bedrooms, but plenty of common space, nice facilities, everything we could want on site, and a beautiful secluded beach.
I'd definitely recommend the place, just not this particular rental agency.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ckfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

This was our third trip to Gulf Shores Plantation. Our family enjoys the expansive beach, the friendliness of the staff, and the accommodations at the resort. This time we stayed in unit 1335, which has a loft. Be warned that though the ads say "sleeps 8" it omits the word comfortably. This unit has a loft, which was rather warm at night for sleeping. The stairway to the loft is ill-positioned in the unit, crowding all the furniture in so much so that it is difficult to walk through without hitting your head on the spiral staircase. My teen is 6'3" and bumped his head more frequently than we'd like to recall. Also, while the ad states "recently remodeled" I think that all that has really been remodeled is the bathroom and perhaps the oven in the kitchen. These were all minor inconveniences, though. We'll just request a place without a loft next trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My family (myself, wife, and two young children) spent a week at Gulf Shores Plantation at the end of August. We stayed in a 3BD/2BA condo in the Plantation West area. We had a great vacation but noticed that many areas of the resort were in need of repair or renovation. Here are some of our thoughts:

Pros:
- The resort is located approximately 12 miles from the town of Gulf Shores, about half way down the Fort Morgan peninsula (west of Gulf Shores). This means that the resort is isolated from a lot of the other tourist spots in Gulf Shores which equates to less crowded beaches, pools, etc...
- All of the accommodations at the resort are close the beach...the furthest walk is only about 100 meters from the sand
- Having the availability of an indoor swimming pool was very nice. We encountered rain during one day of our stay and were still able to swim
- Most of the staff who we encountered were friendly and helpful

Cons:
- We noticed many areas of the resort that require repair or renovation. Some examples include the fitness center (broken treadmill/old equipment), spa (jacuzzi tubs out of order), and nearby outdoor children's pool (full of debris). There were also loose nails on a number of the outdoor stairwells and beach piers that could cause injury
- Our room was clean and in generally good condition, however we could not use the provided bed spreads or the vacuum cleaner (both gave off a horrible odor)
- As mentioned above, the resort is located approx. 12 miles from the town of Gulf Shores. This could cause an inconvenience as the nearest full-service grocery store is in Gulf Shores, and there aren't many restaurants located nearby either

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank US_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2009

My fiance and I stayed at Gulf Shores Plantation two years ago with another couple, and we loved it. I was the one who planned the trip, and everyone gave me such a hassle about booking a beach trip to Alabama, but it turned out great! We were not looking for a busy club or party area, so it was perfect for us. There isn't much to do outside the resort (you have to drive quite a while before you get there once in Gulf Shores), but the resort is right on the beach and has several pools as well as other entertainment (we didn't use any of the other things, so I don't know the condition of them). The resort was clean and well lit. We stayed in a two bedroom, and there was ample room for two couples to have time together and seperately. The ocean water was extremely clear. The was actually a lot of marine life (not the dangerous kind), so I bought an underwater camera after the first day. Also, another neat thing about this resort is that it is located between the ocean and the bay, so there is water in front and behind the resort. (We didn't visit the bay.) The best part (in my opinion) was the price. They have excellent specials. I belive we had a night free and 20% off the rest, so between the four of us, it was very inexpensive for a four night trip. I would definitely return. (just a note- we stayed in one of the newer parts -I don't remember the name of the building, but it was the one that is behind the pools and runs parallel to the beach).

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneBride26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2009

My daughters and I recently went on vacation in Gulf Shores, Alabama. We stayed at Gulf Shores Plantation, Unit 5112. It is a wonderful place to stay!. The unit was very clean, beds were comfortable, and it was well supplied with everything we needed. The view of the ocean from the balcony was just beautiful! The owner of the unit was extremely nice and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamalissa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
12.3 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,147 reviews
13.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
343 reviews
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
41 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
204 reviews
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Shores Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Shores Plantation

Property: Gulf Shores Plantation
Address: 805 Plantation Rd, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-3244
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#7 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Shores Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mild temperatures, gentle breezes and the South's most spectacular sunrises and sunsets make Gulf Shores Plantation a destination for all seasons. Located on Fort Morgan Peninsula and featuring thousands of feet of uncrowded beach, the Plantation offers accommodations that include studio to 3-bedroom condos and 3-to-5-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gulf Shores Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Shores Plantation Hotel Gulf Shores
Plantation Gulf Shores
Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing