We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for high school senior trip, bad for adults.”
Review of Whaler

Whaler
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whaler
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Reviewed 27 May 2013

When I was in high school bloody sheets, roaches, and stinky carpet probably wouldn't have bothered me. As an adult however, I was disgusted. Going to sleep was hard because of the blood stains on the pillow case and sheets, both top and bottom ones. Not good for being 320 dollars a night. Great location and good place if your just trying to get plastered but if you care about sheets and smells and roaches- not good. Don't know whose fault it is - owner or realty place (Meyer)- but whoever is responsible needs to take better care.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluebell930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

Worst place we've ever stayed in Gulf Shores. Not maintained, and most everything in the unit was old or dirty. It needed painting badly and a complete overhaul. When we arrived, there had been a water leak in the unit. We were told it was drying out, but the carpet in the bedrooms had been pulled up, and the pad removed. Not to mention, the floors and carpets were filthy. We had a baby with us not yet walking, and after crawling across the floor and carpet, it looked like she had crawled around on a garage floor. Maintenance did come and tack the carpet back down and clean it after our complaint. But, if we had not complained, we would have been expected to stay there in those conditions. Bathrooms are extremely small, and there is only one grill outside for the entire building. Pool was not great either. The price of the unit was comparable to others in the area, so it was not a bargain. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed week of July 4th 2012. The elevator broke down @ least 5 times that week. I heard of 2 instances that people were in it and 1 of these the fire department had to get a couple out. The morning we checked out I went around 8AM to get a cart and the elevator was broke. I called and reported it 3 times. We had to check out @ 10 and ended up taking all our stuff down 6 flights of stairs. I am 66 and have severe arthritis. Thank goodness my grandson's and their friends were with us to take everything down.
The lock on my bedrook door wasn't working and the front door was not secure. Anyone could have broke in. The pool was kept up. There is not a bathroom on the ground floor for the pool. The room we stayed in was dated and had a few roaches. There was several roach traps placed around. We were very disappointed and conplained to the people @ Meyer Realty when we checked out. Even though we rented it through them she said they are not responsible for the upkeep and only handled the money. Needless to say we will never go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Would not recommend if staying a week. Stayed in a 3 bedroom 3 bath penthouse. Bathrooms
were WAY TOO SMALL. Great for the master bedroom but not for the other 2 bedrooms. The plumbing was terrible. Had to hold the handle down for 2 to
3 minutes before working. Very OLD complex. The hall way were small, could not
move around to unload the luggage.

Parties going on next door at all hours of the night. This is not a family complex

The unit itself had room to move around in. Very small TV's - maybe a 17" in the
main living room. Run down place, can pay a little more and stay at a nice place like the
Lighthouse condo - highly recommend.


Walking distance - maybe have to walk a mile.
I would rate this complex maybe a class 2 or 3. It is NOT a class 5.
pleaseeee check around brefore staying here.

CHEAP PRICES FOR A CHEAP PLACE

Room Tip: please check out the Lighthouse or San Carlos, these are stars 5 resorts. will pay little more BUT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

There were 8 of us that stayed in the 3 BR 3BA Penthouse at The Whaler. Location was great, just about a mile to the center of town. The condo had plenty of room for all of us with two balconies that overlooked the pool and beach. Everything you could want and more in the condo. The weather was perfect in mid-October. Had many great meals at the local restaurants - Lamberts and Original Oyster House were impressive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sgibtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,246 reviews
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Surfside Shores I and II
Surfside Shores I and II
#15 of 25 in Gulf Shores
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaler

Address: 505 E Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6627
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range: £160 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whaler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whaler Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing