We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an awful place”
Review of Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boardwalk
texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just an awful place”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

First of all, it's in a great location. That's where the positives end though. The complex itself is just low rent. Parking is a NIGHTMARE! Just the stress of trying to park here was enough to ruin my vacation. Issue is that there is a restaurant on the beach behind the complex, and no priority is given to people renting in the building. Once the lot is filled, you're just out of luck. Facilities on either side have comtrolled parking, so no where remotely close to park. Room was ok - recently updated but still old school with tiny bathrooms and pretty low budget. It was nice compared to the room the other members of our party had - that one was just plain awful. First night left a beach chair outside the door - whole house awakened at 2 a.m. by security banging on door demanding chair be moved inside door. Pretty much the worst experience overall I've experienced at a vacation location.

Gulf Shores has beautiful beaches and is a great family place. There are a lot of great places to stay there but Boardwalk isn't one of them and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blakesfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
28
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dothan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Like many other reviews, I will agree that the location is great. It is not great enough to merit the awful quality of the unit we stayed in. ALL the dishes in the unity were filthy. The refrigerator was rusting on the side. The sheets in one of the bedrooms were FULL of sand. Lampshades, sinks, and coffee table were all dirty. The distance to the beach was excellent, but it was a fight jut to get a parking space due to all the restaurant traffic. Would rather stay home than ever have to stay at this poor quality condo again. DON'T recommend.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in room 187.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cgirl125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gulf Shores hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Boardwalk is located on the beach, just a few blocks from Hwy 59 in Gulf shores. The beach is beautiful; pool is great. Parking is limited, with overflow lot across the street. My family group rented several condos. Ours, Unit 181, was clean and comfortable, but outdated. However, when we complained about a sticking door, management had it fixed within an hour. The other condos ranged from very nice to plush. The Sea and Suds Restaurant is located on the beach on an adjacent property. For the best views, ask for a unit on the east end of the complex, rather than those closer to (and overlooking) the restaurant.

Room Tip: For the best views, ask for a unit on the east end of the complex, rather than those closer to (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YatWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in unit 587 at the Boardwalk in July of 2013. It is a corner condo with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It was clean, beautifully decorated with a beach theme, and a very pleasant place to stay. Air conditioner worked great. The roomy balcony has a fine view of the pool, boardwalk to the sand, and the beach. The master bedroom has a large tv on the wall. The bedding is comfortable and has a shell design on it. The master bathroom is smallish but adequate with a large, glass-enclosed shower with a seat. Bedroom 2 has a queen bed and large tv. Bedroom 3 has two twin beds and a large tv and dvd player. All bedrooms had ceiling fans.

We have 2 teen boys and 1 teen girl. This setup worked great. The 2 boys shared the room with the twin beds. They all shared the second bathroom. We could sit on the balcony and easily keep an eye on them while they were on the beach and at the pool.

The condo was equipped with nice towels. It has a front loading washer and dryer. There were paper towels, toilet tissue, kleenex, starter supply of coffee, and enough dishwasher soap for 2 washes. The kitchen had everything you might need in the way of plates, glasses, silverware, cookware, and so on. It had a microwave, dishwasher, coffee pot, etc.

A definite plus is the Sea and Suds restaurant right behind the building on the beach. You can just walk over to it. We went in directly from the beach to eat lunch, a very good and reasonably priced hamburger and fries. Guys have to wear a shirt and girls have to wear a cover up. The last night we ate dinner here, excellent fried shrimp, and the waitress made the homemade cocktail sauce right at the table.

As far as the Boardwalk building itself, it is nothing special but it is adequate. One basic swimming pool right behind the building. Not much parking right in front of the building but plenty more directly across the street. It is conveniently located. There is a waffle house and a souvenir store in easy walking distance. It is just down the street from The Hangout. The Shrimp Basket and The Steamer, both excellent restaurants, are a very short drive.

I can't comment on other units at this building, but highly recommend unit 587 at The Boardwalk.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank minniedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at the Boardwalk a few times. The location is the best in Gulf Shores. We walked to many restaurants, especially Sea-N-Suds, Waffle House, and the Pancake House at the Best Western. There are many more within walking distance.

Unit 684 is a nice 1 bedroom 1 bath. It seems to be recently updated with newer appliances, cabinets and granite countertops. There is a nice size flat screen tv and free wi-fi, and nice furniture on the balcony. The unit is small, but adequate. We spend most of our time at the beach anyway.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CRTHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This particular unit (884) is outdated & in very bad condition, not exactly the romantic location we were hoping for. The first thing you notice when you walk in is the huge hole in the wall next to the door & the broken plastic "guard". The door looks like someone tried to break "out" of the unit from the inside-the frame seems to be coming away from the wall & the door is very hard to open or shut-you had to slam it to close it & pull very hard to open it. There are also scuff marks throughout the unit. Someone else mentioned that the furniture was torn & the reality service made note that the furniture was replaced. Well it was replaced with more torn furniture because the chair still has a huge tear on the side. Also, when we got there, the washer or dryer would not come on, husband tried everything. Called maintenance & they came over, the washer dryer unit was unplugged. Which you might say, why didn't you figure that out? Well because the plug in is behind the unit & you have to move both the washer & dryer to get to the plug & we weren't looking into moving appliances around just to check a plug. Also, we could never get the dvd/vcr to play either. The view from the balcony is nice & for the most part, the kitchen & living room was in fair shape-minus the torn chair & broken dvd player. This unit is very outdated from the torn up scuffed up walls to the dirty looking carpet in the bedroom-that was frayed at the door entrance. If someone would put a little bit of time, effort, & money into this unit, it would be a great one bedroom condo with a great view. We were very disappointed with the shape of the condo, kinda felt like staying in a cheap roadside motel. What a shame because this place has a lot going for it if the owners would just make an effort.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSUTUTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My daughter and I booked this condo on a "name your price" site. We got the "CONDO" for 59.00 per night for 3 nights. After our fees it was about $215.00 for the stay. Not unreasonable for a CONDO on the beach. Once we checked in however, we were informed of a $149.90 surcharge by Suncoast Realty. This made the stay about $120.00 a night. Still not horrible for a "CONDO" on the beach but definately more that was represented by the "name your price" site. Once we got to the "CONDO" we realized that this was nothing more than a hotel room with an extra bed in it. What a RIP-OFF !!!....add that to the fact that the "CONDO" was not clean and now we have a problem.

I would highly recommend that anyone reading this review contact me directly and i can go into more detail on our experience. STAY AWAY From Boardwalk and SUNCOAST REALTY !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rickinharbourtown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
218 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
44 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk

Property: Boardwalk
Address: 420 E Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6600
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Gulf Shores
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boardwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing