We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach after Tropical storm Debby”
Review of Island Winds West

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Winds West
Anniston, AL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach after Tropical storm Debby”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Tropical storm Debby brought about perfect beach weather and perfect water conditions to enjoy while staying at Island Winds West which we rented through Brett Robinson in Gulf Shores. On one note, I have used Brett Robinson many times and have always been given excellent service.
This was our first time staying on the West side of Gulf Shores and we were very pleased that we were centrally located to all attractions and to great restaurants.
Our 2 bedroom condo was the perfect size for three adults and small child. The 2 twin beds were a hit. The master bedroom had a great view of the water and was very comfortable. Condo was clean and well taken care of. Small kitchen but plenty of room to cook our meals.
I did report on check out that the master bath toilet kept me up all night the first night. Sounded like it kept filling with water. Not really a problem after the first night. But it does need to be checked.
One thing I forget to mention on check out was that the fan in the second bedroom did not work.
Pool was small but nice. Only downside to the pool is no public restroom so that you had to go up to your room or walk down to the public beach restroom which was often having a small child with us.
Check in is at Island Winds East which was very convenient and the staff was very nice and friendly.
We had a great time all week and did not have any problems with Island Winds West. Would definitely rent through Brett Robinson again and probably will sometime in August this year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of buildings have less foot traffic outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babygirl706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    68
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
130
47
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed in unit 870, a three bedroom, 2 bath unit. Very large and we had plenty of space for our family of eight. The kitchen was a bit dated and could use some upgrades. Could have been just a bit cleaner. Building was well maintained with friendly staff. The only real complaint is no public pool restrooms. Therefore while out on the beach or at the pool you have to go back to your unit. A little difficult when having small children. We had a side view from our balcony. Initially we were disappointed not to have a full gulf view, but we found in the late evening it was interesting to people watch on the road from our balcony. For the price we paid for this unit, it was well worth the stay. It's located near all the hot spots of Gulf Shores.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mydconder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
221 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed on the top/8th floor in a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit for one week. Great location and views overlooking the beach and pools. The unit was decent sized and seemed to be in good condition. Nice kitchen, very brightly colored bedrooms, and a nice modern living area. The air conditioning worked great and kept the entire unit comfortable. TV's are all flat panel TVs with a large selection of channels. Bedrooms are good sized, but the bathrooms are a little bit small. The shower heads aren't very good, but overall the bath and shower were decent. It is located in a good spot, but it can be a bit of a walk to some of the restaurants and shops.
I would definitely stay in this unit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a great experience renting through Brett Robinson Vacations. They offered great rates and service. We stayed in an ocean view. It truly was an ocean view. I didn't have to hang over the balcony to see.
Pros
Location
Service
New washer and dryer
Easy beach access

Cons
Older
No pool bathrooms
Limited seating in family room

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4thefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Great location, condo was very clean and beautiful Island Winds East and West is the bomb will always book with Brett-robinson not only are they on-site but the staff makes you feel right at home, thank you Brett-robinson for making memories

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crabclawsyummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The location is great. The suite we stayed in was very nice and up to date. The building is not as new as some others but it makes up for that in convenience. What really made it for us was the nice private balcony to sit and read, listen to the surf and watch the pelicans. We even saw the Blue Angels fly by a couple of times. Everyone was super nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Corner suite (like the one we chose) has more windows and larger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank submom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I just spent the month of November in a great condo in this building. This review is just for the building itself. It is such a clean place. Yes, it's not new but so what. Everyday the lobby and elevators were mopped. Weekly each floor ( there are 8) was hosed down. As soon as you enter the building you smell clean and fresh. They also keep the outside just as clean with daily hosing of the entrance and parkling lot front and back. They provide many grocery carts and 1 luggage valet to get everything to your condo. Super fast elevators. Now here is the negative. The garbage truck comes 4:30 AM to 5:30 AM to empty dumpster. If your a heavy sleeper you will never know it but if you are a light sleeper like myself it will really wake you up. Very Noisey while the truck is outfront banging the dumpster. Now at home my family asked me why didn't I get ear plugs..DUHHH!!! Older and set in my ways I guess..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank sjq1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
0.7 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.2 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#13 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Winds West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Winds West

Property: Island Winds West
Address: 407 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Winds West in Gulf Shores is especially great for families and sleeps up to 8 in a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom unit. It's the perfect headquarters for enjoying all the fun Gulf Shores has to offer. There's fishing from Gulf State Park Pier, or charter a boat in nearby Orange Beach and take to the Gulf for the afternoon to see what you can catch. We have putt-putt and amusement parks, and a great number of golf courses of varying difficulty right near our Gulf Shores condos. In addition to the variety of non-beach related activities we have, we also tons of water activities on top of good ol' sunbathing and swimming. Gulf Shores and Orange Beach offer jet ski rental, parasailing, kite surfing, boat rental and more. Take a ride on a Dolphin Cruise to admire those highly intelligent and amusing animals, or enjoy the views from the Mobile Bay Ferry as you journey to check out items of more historical interest, like Fort Morgan. In town you'll find a lot of adventure no matter what you are looking for at Island Winds West. When it comes to cuisine, our seafood is of course top-notch, and our Royal Red Shrimp have made international headlines for their deliciousness. Places like the Amphitheater at the Wharf and the Hangout have live music, and the Wharf has the largest Ferris Wheel in the Southeast. We even have a zoo, the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo, which you may have seen featured on Animal Planet. Parking is limited at Island Winds West. A one-bedroom condo will be issued one car pass. A two or three bedroom will be issued a maximum of two car passes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Winds West Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing