We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise @ Island Winds”
Review of Island Winds West

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Winds West
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was our 6th or 7th trip in 7 years to stay at this complex. The unit we had this year was the best of all; but, all have been "good" or even better. Brett/Robinson Vacations is very good to work with and always responsive to any questions or maintenance issues. Highly recommend Brett/Robinson Vacations and Island Winds West. The location of the property is excellent for the best restaurants in Gulf Shores.

Room Tip: 8th Floor units have the best view!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sydhueytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Island Winds West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Arrived at the condo and the room was ready, clean and invitiing. The location was excelent and the veiw was amazing. The first morning in the condo I realized the coffee maker was not working. When I called Brett/Robinson Vacations (the company we used to rent the conodo) they were able to furnish us a new coffee pot immediately. I was very impressed with the hospitality and friendly workers at Brett/Robinson Vacations. This was a great trip and I will definetely be using them again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed in condo 879 for 3 nights. The condo was decorated very nice and very clean. Great view of the beach. Nice clean pool. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. Living room and both bedrooms had TVs. The staf was friendly. The only interruption we had was maintenance checkin our bathtub for leaks. We have no complaints from Island winds west !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krissyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Loved my stay. Right on the beach that was perfect for my 4 yr old.. pool was clean as well as the property.. staff was super nice with an easy checkin. Thanks Brett-Robinson for a smooth rental at Island Winds West.. will book again with you!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acgary08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Tropical storm Debby brought about perfect beach weather and perfect water conditions to enjoy while staying at Island Winds West which we rented through Brett Robinson in Gulf Shores. On one note, I have used Brett Robinson many times and have always been given excellent service.
This was our first time staying on the West side of Gulf Shores and we were very pleased that we were centrally located to all attractions and to great restaurants.
Our 2 bedroom condo was the perfect size for three adults and small child. The 2 twin beds were a hit. The master bedroom had a great view of the water and was very comfortable. Condo was clean and well taken care of. Small kitchen but plenty of room to cook our meals.
I did report on check out that the master bath toilet kept me up all night the first night. Sounded like it kept filling with water. Not really a problem after the first night. But it does need to be checked.
One thing I forget to mention on check out was that the fan in the second bedroom did not work.
Pool was small but nice. Only downside to the pool is no public restroom so that you had to go up to your room or walk down to the public beach restroom which was often having a small child with us.
Check in is at Island Winds East which was very convenient and the staff was very nice and friendly.
We had a great time all week and did not have any problems with Island Winds West. Would definitely rent through Brett Robinson again and probably will sometime in August this year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of buildings have less foot traffic outside.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babygirl706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed in unit 870, a three bedroom, 2 bath unit. Very large and we had plenty of space for our family of eight. The kitchen was a bit dated and could use some upgrades. Could have been just a bit cleaner. Building was well maintained with friendly staff. The only real complaint is no public pool restrooms. Therefore while out on the beach or at the pool you have to go back to your unit. A little difficult when having small children. We had a side view from our balcony. Initially we were disappointed not to have a full gulf view, but we found in the late evening it was interesting to people watch on the road from our balcony. For the price we paid for this unit, it was well worth the stay. It's located near all the hot spots of Gulf Shores.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mydconder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed on the top/8th floor in a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit for one week. Great location and views overlooking the beach and pools. The unit was decent sized and seemed to be in good condition. Nice kitchen, very brightly colored bedrooms, and a nice modern living area. The air conditioning worked great and kept the entire unit comfortable. TV's are all flat panel TVs with a large selection of channels. Bedrooms are good sized, but the bathrooms are a little bit small. The shower heads aren't very good, but overall the bath and shower were decent. It is located in a good spot, but it can be a bit of a walk to some of the restaurants and shops.
I would definitely stay in this unit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
0.7 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,202 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
357 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Winds West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Winds West

Address: 407 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Winds West in Gulf Shores is especially great for families and sleeps up to 8 in a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom unit. It's the perfect headquarters for enjoying all the fun Gulf Shores has to offer. There's fishing from Gulf State Park Pier, or charter a boat in nearby Orange Beach and take to the Gulf for the afternoon to see what you can catch. We have putt-putt and amusement parks, and a great number of golf courses of varying difficulty right near our Gulf Shores condos. In addition to the variety of non-beach related activities we have, we also tons of water activities on top of good ol' sunbathing and swimming. Gulf Shores and Orange Beach offer jet ski rental, parasailing, kite surfing, boat rental and more. Take a ride on a Dolphin Cruise to admire those highly intelligent and amusing animals, or enjoy the views from the Mobile Bay Ferry as you journey to check out items of more historical interest, like Fort Morgan. In town you'll find a lot of adventure no matter what you are looking for at Island Winds West. When it comes to cuisine, our seafood is of course top-notch, and our Royal Red Shrimp have made international headlines for their deliciousness. Places like the Amphitheater at the Wharf and the Hangout have live music, and the Wharf has the largest Ferris Wheel in the Southeast. We even have a zoo, the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo, which you may have seen featured on Animal Planet. Parking is limited at Island Winds West. A one-bedroom condo will be issued one car pass. A two or three bedroom will be issued a maximum of two car passes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Winds West Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing