We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Family Vacation 2013”
Review of Island Winds West

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Winds West
Forest, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer Family Vacation 2013”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have stayed at Island Winds West for several years. It is a very family friendly condo that is within walking distance of the "T" in Gulf Shores. The condo is very close to all the shops and restaurants and it is easy to get in and out of in traffic by car or to walk to the places.
We love the location and have even stayed in the same condo (372) for the past few years. It is an older condo but it has been well maintained and I am comfortable bringing my three children here to enjoy our vacation. Brett Robinson manages this condo and they were very helpful with any thing that we needed.
The only thing about this condo is that it is an older condo and so it does show some wear and tear on the outside balcony. It is right on the beach and of course the beach is beautiful. It seemed like the beach had more shells than normal (?) and it was rainy some days but we truly enjoyed our stay at Island Winds West.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    68
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
130
47
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at Island Winds West condos. It was perfect for us. It was 4 adults & 1 child. Plenty of space, very clean, & friendly staff. Even with the weather being not as sunny as we hoped for we had a great time on the beautiful beach located right outside the condo. Also close to all surf shops & restaurants will def stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csmith1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this complex is that it is right on the beach. The views are amazing! This was our second time staying here and we will probably find somewhere next time. The units are old and didn't smell very fresh.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Once again we had an awesome vacation at your beautiful condo! We enjoyed the conveniences of the ocean only a few steps away and the cleanliness of the condo.The clean-up crew made a special visit to make sure everything was in order. Excellent service and friendliness of the owners themselves, rather than a management company. All the comforts we needed. Also the remodeling was awesome. Great time and will probably visit again as schedules permit.
We would recommend this condo for a romantic getaway or relaxing beach vacation or for families.
Larry and Mary

Room Tip: East end two bedroom units have more room and much larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

To us this place is ideal. The condos are very nice and well equipped. We have stayed here several times and love it. One of the best things is you can walk to almost anything you Need to in Gulf Shores. Close to eating and shopping and right on the beach! Come here if you come to Gulf Shores!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Walk to the Hangout from the closest condo available. Views are spectacular, and units are updated. Great value. We rented a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo from an owner and found it more like an attached house than like a hotel room. The end units have windows to look east as well as windows looking over the balcony to the south directly at the Gulf and the beach. We like looking straight out at the beach, not from a side view. Nice pool with a kiddie pool and an adjacent covered area with picnic tables.

Room Tip: East end corner units are larger than the interior 2 bedroom units, with balconies almost twice the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hueytown, AL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was our 6th or 7th trip in 7 years to stay at this complex. The unit we had this year was the best of all; but, all have been "good" or even better. Brett/Robinson Vacations is very good to work with and always responsive to any questions or maintenance issues. Highly recommend Brett/Robinson Vacations and Island Winds West. The location of the property is excellent for the best restaurants in Gulf Shores.

Room Tip: 8th Floor units have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydhueytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
0.7 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.2 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#13 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Winds West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Winds West

Property: Island Winds West
Address: 407 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Winds West in Gulf Shores is especially great for families and sleeps up to 8 in a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom unit. It's the perfect headquarters for enjoying all the fun Gulf Shores has to offer. There's fishing from Gulf State Park Pier, or charter a boat in nearby Orange Beach and take to the Gulf for the afternoon to see what you can catch. We have putt-putt and amusement parks, and a great number of golf courses of varying difficulty right near our Gulf Shores condos. In addition to the variety of non-beach related activities we have, we also tons of water activities on top of good ol' sunbathing and swimming. Gulf Shores and Orange Beach offer jet ski rental, parasailing, kite surfing, boat rental and more. Take a ride on a Dolphin Cruise to admire those highly intelligent and amusing animals, or enjoy the views from the Mobile Bay Ferry as you journey to check out items of more historical interest, like Fort Morgan. In town you'll find a lot of adventure no matter what you are looking for at Island Winds West. When it comes to cuisine, our seafood is of course top-notch, and our Royal Red Shrimp have made international headlines for their deliciousness. Places like the Amphitheater at the Wharf and the Hangout have live music, and the Wharf has the largest Ferris Wheel in the Southeast. We even have a zoo, the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo, which you may have seen featured on Animal Planet. Parking is limited at Island Winds West. A one-bedroom condo will be issued one car pass. A two or three bedroom will be issued a maximum of two car passes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Winds West Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing