We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always guaranteed a great trip!”
Review of Island Winds West

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Winds West
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My family has stayed at Island Winds West for over 20 years. We have always had very nice accommodations (Especially Unit 873) and have always enjoyed a very nice relaxing beach vacation. My children now take their children down there. This complex has become our "Beach Place". Would not stay anywhere else, and I have seen several other condos on the beach. IWW is directly on the beach and the pool and surrounding areas are always immaculate.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mallen041658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

First time at Island Winds West. Stayed in Unit 672 with another couple. Great location & easy to find. Nice balcony with privacy, great for suntanning. Beautiful full view of the ocean/beach from the balcony! Great beach access. Unit had all the comforts of home, nicely decorated, neat & clean. Fully stocked kitchen, newly updated with new cabinetry, counters, and stainless appliances. Two bedrooms with two baths was great for privacy. Also has convenience of a pull-out sofa bed for guests. Overall, a great stay and would love to return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SueSue007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have rented with Brett Robinson every trip we have taken to Gulf Shores. The unit was clean, comfortable and exactly what we wanted. Island Winds West is located at a great spot with easy access to the beach and other amenities. We love being able to walk to local eateries and shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones2222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We rented through Brett Robinson Vacations for a 4 night stay at Island Winds West. Check in was quick and easy. The unit was clean and well maintained. Everything worked in the unit and it had all the necessary appliances. The unit was well lit and the furniture was comfortable. I like to relax with a good book and the sectional was very good for that. The unit is located next to the beach and access to the beach was was simply walking across the parking lot and onto the beach. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chesslamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was my first time renting through Brett Robinson and also staying at Island Winds West. It was a great experience for both. The property was exactly as advertised. Easy walk out to beach and great central location. The property is older but well maintained in general. The unit we rented was clean, updated, and had everything we needed. It was very quiet during our trip which may have been partly due to the season but the units seemed to nicely block out pool/hallway/outside noise as well. Checkin/out was easy. I would recommend Island Winds West and Brett Robinson and would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We are repeat customers for both Brett/Robinson Vacations and Island Winds West (and East)! There are two units in Island Winds West that we prefer because of the furnishings and knowing what to expect; but every unit has been acceptable. The Brett/Robinson Website is very user friendly and clearly shows what you are getting. The rates for these properties are very affordable if you are on a budget. We especially like the location because it is so close to everything that we prefer. AND, it is not crowded or loud.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bedroom with a TV, the website photos will show you what units have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sydhueytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Directly on the beach, can look out of the back window and see your umbrella and beach chairs. Left umbrella out over night, and it was fine. Room was a bit small and dated, but it was clean, and everything worked. The two elevators were fast, which is a big help when people are going out to the beach often. Two Bar-B-Q pits and picnic tables were provided. Can walk to many attractions, like the Hangout, Pink Pony, Souvenir City, Alvin's Island, Surf Style, Purple Octopus. Two excellent seafood restaurants, Bahama Bob's & DeSoto's are also within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucktown-yat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
0.7 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,241 reviews
8.2 mi away
Phoenix East II
Phoenix East II
#14 of 42 in Orange Beach
200 reviews
5.1 mi away
Phoenix Condominiums
Phoenix Condominiums
#20 of 42 in Orange Beach
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Phoenix I
Phoenix I
#17 of 42 in Orange Beach
371 reviews
5.1 mi away
Phoenix III
Phoenix III
#9 of 42 in Orange Beach
547 reviews
5.1 mi away
Phoenix II
Phoenix II
#15 of 42 in Orange Beach
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Winds West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Winds West

Address: 407 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Winds West in Gulf Shores is especially great for families and sleeps up to 8 in a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom unit. It's the perfect headquarters for enjoying all the fun Gulf Shores has to offer. There's fishing from Gulf State Park Pier, or charter a boat in nearby Orange Beach and take to the Gulf for the afternoon to see what you can catch. We have putt-putt and amusement parks, and a great number of golf courses of varying difficulty right near our Gulf Shores condos. In addition to the variety of non-beach related activities we have, we also tons of water activities on top of good ol' sunbathing and swimming. Gulf Shores and Orange Beach offer jet ski rental, parasailing, kite surfing, boat rental and more. Take a ride on a Dolphin Cruise to admire those highly intelligent and amusing animals, or enjoy the views from the Mobile Bay Ferry as you journey to check out items of more historical interest, like Fort Morgan. In town you'll find a lot of adventure no matter what you are looking for at Island Winds West. When it comes to cuisine, our seafood is of course top-notch, and our Royal Red Shrimp have made international headlines for their deliciousness. Places like the Amphitheater at the Wharf and the Hangout have live music, and the Wharf has the largest Ferris Wheel in the Southeast. We even have a zoo, the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo, which you may have seen featured on Animal Planet. Parking is limited at Island Winds West. A one-bedroom condo will be issued one car pass. A two or three bedroom will be issued a maximum of two car passes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Winds West Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing