We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome trip !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiva Dunes Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kiva Dunes Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome trip !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is the first domestic summer vacation I’ve had in about three years. I told my wife to find someplace with Caribbean beaches. We drove over ten hours from Texas to Kiva Dunes, house name “sand castle”. We had three families which included a total of 6 adults and four children (ages 2, 3, 4, and 6). The house was located adjacent to the boardwalk to the beach. The house was three stories tall and had an elevator installed. Garage, full bath, and a play area/children’s sleep room were located on the first floor. The second floor had a washer and dryer, and had 3 bedrooms, each with its own full bathroom and deck area. The third floor consisted of a living room, kitchen, and TV area, as well as a deck on both sides of the house. We had no problems with anything being dirty. We did have some really big looking ants that would try to make their way into the house anytime it rained. Rain storms where usually pretty quick, and we had several at night that were beautiful to watch. We had no issues with mosquitos, although by the end of the trip the children did have one or two little bites. The beach was awesome and not crowded at all. I often went on walks at 7 am and there was literally no one on the beach. We saw maybe two jelly fish the whole week, but did see lots of little fish, and one sting ray swimming in the ocean. The water was about as perfect as you could expect; perfect temperature, clear, no trash. There are a couple pools also located for our use and after a long day at the beach it was fun to float around and relax there before going home. I saw many people using the golf carts to get around but we never did. Overall the whole family had a great trip , and bonded a lot.

Tips for your trip:
1. Consolidate your grocery trips with your activities. It’s a 15-20 minute drive into town and the only place close by to by with any type of food or “libation” is a couple miles away and is really overpriced. Buy your groceries before you check in so you don’t have to leave right away and waste an hour or so getting food. Buy several days of food at once so you aren’t making trips all the time.
2. Be careful about Mobile. When we left it took us three hours to drive through it. Perhaps look at the ferry that goes from Fort Morgan to Dauphin Island to save some time, if you’re going west.
3. This is a vacation location for those who really like to hang out: either on the beach, pool, or just at the house. If you want to be around lots of people, or be social, this isn’t your kind of place.
4. Bring card games etc. Relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dutch1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    12
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lousiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My family of five stayed here for a week in one of the houses near the beach. We had a view of the gulf from the third floor and a partial view from the second floor. House was large and spacious with several nice patios/porches to sit on. Spent a lot of time on the screened-in patio on second floor off of kitchen/living room (facing dunes and other homes and partial view of gulf) and also the patio off of the living room that faced golf course. Both very relaxing. The home is well-stocked with all that you need. The kitchen was stocked with everything you could need. Also, beach towels, beach toys and chairs, movies, books, games. A few problems. One of the bedrooms never cooled off so I let them know on check out. My complaints for the house were that, as previous reviewer stated, the bedspreads were dirty. I saw numerous stains on them...ick. Also, our third floor bedroom did not have window treatments. Windows had outdoor shutters that attached at the top of the window, but that did not prevent the sunrise from waking me up at 6 am every morning. The master bedroom mattress also felt a bit old and not very comfortable. The kids mattresses were fine though. The rest of the furniture was comfortable.

My husband played the golf course twice and really raved about it. We ate at the grill twice and everything was delicious and the service was fantastic.

The beach is beautiful and not crowded at all. No loud music. There was one smoker near us. House was near the beach so it was not a bad walk to it. Pools looked nice though we did not go to them.

The major drawback, or it could be its biggest draw depending on how you want it, is that it is a good 15 miles from the main road. So stock up on groceries. There are a few restaurants nearby other than the Kiva Dunes Grill, but we really preferred the grill. As I said it was very good food (reasonable prices) and good service.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Seabreeze. It was a great location and had plenty of room for us. three bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alostyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

This is the nices course in the area but if you are on a budget it's expensive. If you move to area like I did it would be nice for a better reduced playing card. But it is the best of the best. Go play it once! Oh beware of the wind & if there is no wind beware of biting bugs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RbGip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kivadunes, Manager at Kiva Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for giving us such a great review on our golf course! Please know that if you do live in the area, we offer a VIP card that allows you to play our course at a discounted rate. For more information, please call our golf shop at 251-540-7000. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

The condo was not clean. Master king size bed had what looked like blood and other stains both on bed and sheets. Floor had food and other trash scattered all over. Found finger nail clippings on furniture. Looked like floors had not been vacuumed. We had to clean bathrooms ourself in order to use them. Found hair in towels in both baths. Found hair on walls and floors of both bathrooms. Condos are old and rundown. The decor is old and worn out. Not worth the money. To far out from area attractions. This location is a long way from beach. We complained about the dirty condo and the only thing they did was change the sheets and sweep bathroom floors. They smile and seem concerned, but do very little. DO NOT STAY HERE! There are to many places to stay in the area that are cleaner. When we checked out they did give us our $60.00 cleaning charge. Hardly enough to cover having to deal with a unclean condo.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOHN_W10330677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kivadunes, Manager at Kiva Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kiva Dunes. We take comments from our guests very serious and regret your stay with us did not meet and/or exceed your expectations. Our mission at Kiva Dunes is to provide all of our guests with outstanding service and hospitality in all areas of our resort including golf, food and beverage, and lodging. Many people visit our resort every year and the Kiva Dunes management staff understands the competitiveness of the resort business. It is always our goal that our guests enjoy our beautiful resort and leave with great vacation memories that last a lifetime. We would appreciate another chance to earn your business and speak to you directly in regard to your stay. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed in a beach house in this resort. They have a shuttle service within the resort - a golf cart. they are so fast and nice. There are 3 pools we got to use and a man cleans them daily.

Helpful?
2 Thank travelercd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duson, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

The first year I went to Gulf Shores (out of 12 times I've been), this is the place where my family and I rented a condo above the clubhouse. Being a golfer, I loved being within walking distance of a putting and chipping green and driving range. The vistas we had from our balcony were gorgeous at sunset. Only problem was that we couldn't fit my whole family on the balcony, hence the reason we now rent a beach house. The other issue was that the women in our family don't play golf, and its a good quarter of a mile walk to the beach. Not fun when you're covered in sand. There is a shuttle that runs, but at that time it ran somewhat sporadically. If you just like the view of the Gulf and LOVE Golf, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Visit the website and view pictures of the condo's. Try to get a Gulf view. It's worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobT794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We rented a house in the Kiva Dunes Resort area over spring break. the "houses" are in a separate gated area behind the golf club house. We rented Piper House; which is a two bedroom, two bath, two story place. One bedroom is downstairs, and has it's own bathroom; and laundry room. Upstairs is the living room, kitchen and the other bedroom/bath. There is also a patio upstairs overlooking the neighborhood. This house is across the boardwalk from the ocean, so there is no ocean view (nor can you hear it); but it's quiet and the boardwalk over the dunes to the beach is a fairly short walk. There is a pool in close proximity as well; but it wasn't heated and was quite cold.

The kitchen is well equipped; but the appliances are somewhat old (but they all worked). the living furniture is extremely comfortable; and there are TV's in every bedroom as well with excellent cable access. There is Wifi; but it is shared with the house next door; it worked, but was a bit slow. The beds are queen size (we prefer King); but they were comfortable.

My husband said the golf course; he paid $98 each round. The restaurant at the club house was good and served burgers and the like; pricing was reasonable.

The beach is stunningly gorgeous.. huge and not crowded. That was the best part of the stay.

It takes about 20 minutes to drive into town to the city of Gulf Shores. Here you can find a lot of things to do like miniature golf, go carting, tons of restaurants, shops and more beach. We went to Lamberts café (was told it is a must have experience)- they throw the rolls at you... was a good time but WAY too much food for us.

We paid $1300 for the week to rent the house; quite reasonable. There are other houses that are right ON the beach; but they are huge; would be a good spot to take a multi-family trip.

Overall, we enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: if you want ocean front; you'll need to go for the larger homes; otherwise, the houses are all c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
13.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#12 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
13.1 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiva Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiva Dunes Resort

Property: Kiva Dunes Resort
Address: 815 Plantation Drive, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 64

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing