We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice; but rooms are inconsistent”
Review of The Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beach Club
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Property was well kept and staff are extremely helpful. However not all rooms in the same class are created equal. I came with a conference, so the rooms were selected and paid for-- except that we had decided to syay longer and pay for the balance. Our first room was ok, but not for $300+. It smelled faintly of smoke and it was old and in need of a facelift. We asked to change rooms; and were given a different room. What a difference. The unit was newer and had several upgrade features. So, if you can-- try to see your room online first. Several rooms have pictures via the co website. We stayed in bldg D, which I understand is the oldest. Plus, the resort is at least 15 min to a grocery store and about 25-30 min to a decent restaurant. They do have places to eat at the club; but we did not try any of them.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

had a great time!! really nice place with great staff!! the rooms were very nice and the view was amazing right on the beach! its off the beaten path which makes it good less traffic.but yet close to everything..its great for everyone families and singles out having a good time everyone was so friendly that we didnt wanna leave! we will definatly be back and soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We hadn't been back to the Ocean Club since the oil spill so we were anxious to see if things had changed. Thankfully, very little has changed. We've stayed in numerous units over the years and everyone has been great. Since our extended family joined us this year, we stayed in a 4 bedroom unit in the Bristol. Four nicely appointed bed rooms, all with HD tv's. The living and dining area was large and nicely decorated. The views from the wrap around balcony were spectacular.

We rented a poolside cabana for the toddlers. It was great until late in the week when a family occupied the adjoining cabana and played their boom box (these things still exist?) excessively loudly. We also noted a number of boom boxes at the beach...something we hadn't experience in the past. Most people, when asked nicely, reduced the volume. Management should consider better management of poolside behavior, including the football wannabe's tossing footballs in the pool area.

The whole family had a great time' the beach and water were fantastic as were the pools (with the noted exceptions). We'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: We enjoy sitting on the balcony listening to the evening's entertainment at the club pool, so an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerrymoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The Beach Club is a great place away from the hustle and bustle of the main drag in Gulf Shores. It's about 12 miles off hwy 59 right on the beach. The beaches aren't as crowded as other condos that are built closer together. The rooms are very nice. I would recommend renting from the Beach Club verses renting directly from the owner if you wish to take advantage of the Club House amenities such as the gym, grill, etc. The property is large with multiple pools that were seldom crowded. While the distance from food and shopping is the main downfall, it also provides the seclusion.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Beach Club Resort Gulf Shores Alabama is a wonderful well appointed resort near Ft Morgan Park. The resort has amenities such as multiple large pools, tennis, basketball, children's programs, several restaurants,gift shops, ice cream shop, poolside bar, spa, and free transportation. Beach service, concierge, and security on site. Fishing opportunities abound. Fireworks multi times thru the year. Local entertainment includes deep sea fishing, ferry to an island nearby, putt putt, snorkeling, kayaking, go carts, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLSJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This year we rented the Beach Club condo thru VRBO (previously we rented through the beach club itself). The Condo was very nice and the rental process was easy.... for the Beach club itself....
We like to stay at BC because it is easy access to pool and beach and if you do not want to leave the property for dinner and activities you do not have to.. there is plenty to do.

Activities fee:
Each condo tower has a pool for itself which any renter may use for no additional fee. We discovered though that the pool chairs filled up quickly and there were no umbrellas out.
We chose to purchase the Activities Card (because we did not rent through Spectrum/ Beach Club the activities were an additional fee... for 6 days is was $144). The activities fee gave us access to the fitness center (we used it several times), the arcade (the kids used that a lot- the arcade in the club house is free after the fee, but the arcade games at the village hideaway are not), the club house pool (which includes the lunch cafe and poolside tiki bar). We participated in the scavenger hunt which was fun.. but missed Amazing Race, survivor, and the dive in movie. The kids participated in Pool games on one day.. but decided it was for younger kids (they are 9 and 11).
There are volleyball nets.. renting a ball is $5.
There are also grills available and we used them to cook out one night- you provide your own charcoal and lighter.
We did not use the basketball court or tennis courts.
There is plenty of grassy areas if you bring horse shoes or balls to throw, etc.
We were able to sit on our balcony and enjoy watching the fireworks for the fourth. That was very nice.

Pools:
Each condo tower has a pool and then there is one at the club house. You did have to pay the activities fee or rent through spectrum to use the club house pool. We had paid the fee, so each day we had to decide if we wanted to go to clubhouse pool - where there were umbrellas, music and lunch available for purchase.... but we had to buy drinks (no cooler), or stay at the avalon pool where there was no umbrellas, but we could have our own drinks in a cooler.......
many people we talked to agreed the no coolers at the clubhouse was a new rule this year and was most guests were not happy about it.
We also talked to a condo owner who said the Board had approved funds for umbrellas at all pools, so they should have been out.. We felt like it was a tactic to pull people to the Clubhouse pool to spend money at the Tiki bar.
The club house pool was clean and enjoyable. The avalon pool needed to be cleaned better and the hot tub was green.

Beach:
The beach was crowded this year.... we were there for 4th of July...... so we expected the crowd.
The beach chair rentals are discounted for multiple days. We choose to go ahead and rent for the week since the pools were so crowded. We used the chairs almost daily. The positive is that we did not have to haul chairs and umbrellas or tents to the beach.... the downside is the workers start taking down chairs and umbrellas at 3:30 and by 5 are requesting people move so they can put away all the chairs. Many people had their own tent and chairs which were left at the beach every night and no one seemed to bother them. If you have space in your car, this seemed a good way to go.
The kids used buckets and shovels to build sand castles almost daily. They also talked us into buying boogie boards while we were there. I do wish we had thought to bring some of these items with us...
people seemed to really enjoy floating on inter tubes and rafts and inflatable small boats.

Restaurants:
The poolside place was fine for sandwiches and burgers for lunch.
The first night we got take out pizza from Village Hideway- pizza tasted fine, but we did have to go back and have them correct our order because we did not receive the correct order.

Beach Club restaurant was fair, not great. Gumbo was very good. fried oysters were not good. Salmon was very good. We felt it was over priced for the quality.

Village Hideway- we went back here our last night.... mostly empty tables, but they told us it would be a 20 minute wait. Once we did get a table (which had been open the whole time we waited) it was another 10 minutes before a waitress came to the table. We ordered wings... they were out.... changed to pizza... they were out.... also out of fries. We left.

For dinner we grilled out some and went off property several times.... I was not impressed with the property restaurants this year. They have been better in previous summer trips.

DVDs- we did not rent through Spectrum, so to use the DVD machine it would be an additional $22 for the week (it is not included in the activities fee). We decided we did not need to rent movies.

All in all we had a really nice vacation and the Beach Club is a nice place to stay. The renter will have to decide whether to rent through VRBO or the Beach Club. The benefits to renting directly from Beach Club is no additional activities fee, but we found it still to be less expensive to rent through VRBO and pay the separate activity fee.
I would recommend either cooking in the condo or dining off property. The restaurants are the weakness to this vacation site.
If you want to enjoy the pools, beach, and ocean with easy access to the condo...this is a great place.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor open directly to outside from back porch.. may be nice for small kids. Low level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank JBoothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I try to make it at least once a year to the Beach Club. It is always a wonderfully relaxing vacation. The condo we stay at is nice. The unit is clean and well maintained. It has balcony overlooking the beach and Gulf of Mexico.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mperlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
12.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
361 reviews
11.5 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,215 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#12 of 25 in Gulf Shores
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
252 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
18.1 mi away
Turquoise Place
Turquoise Place
#1 of 19 in Orange Beach
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club

Address: 925 Beach Club Trail, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range: £146 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 684
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of both worlds: vacation rentals + full-service resort amenities. If combining a casual and relaxing beach getaway with luxury-level accommodations and services meets your vacation expectations, book your next visit to the Alabama Gulf Coast at The Beach Club with Spectrum Resorts - the official owner and operator of all of the Beach Club resort amenities. Escape to this popular family resort situated on 86 acres of natural beauty with private beaches spanning the length of nearly five football fields. Located 12 miles down Fort Morgan Road (Hwy 180) The Beach Club is the perfect resort for a relaxing and secluded family vacation that will allow everyone to unwind and reconnect, and The Beach Club offers so many amenities and family friendly activities you won't have to leave the resort. Everything you need for a perfect vacation is here - multiple dining options, five outdoor pools, heated indoor pool, fitness room, spa and salon, shopping, playground and activities - is here for your enjoyment during your stay. Spectrum Resorts (the exclusive onsite management company) offers the largest selection of vacation rentals at The Beach Club including Gulf Front condominiums and lakeside cottages. Condominiums are individually decorated and range from one to five bedrooms - all with unobstructed gulf views and located just steps from the beach. Cottages range from two to five bedrooms and provide a spacious and home-like setting for your family vacation. Stay with Spectrum Resorts and experience the "Spectrum Experience" • 100% satisfaction with your vacation rental • Advance Beach Chair rentals and preferred availability• Access to all resort amenities• Priority dinner reservations at Coast • Priority Spa and Salon appointments • Resort charging privileges providing a "cashless" experience. If you are looking for the perfect vacation destination for your family to reconnect and relax while away from the demands of day-to-day life, The Beach Club, delivered by Spectrum Resorts, is your answer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Club Hotel Gulf Shores
Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
The Beach Hotel
Beach Club Gulf Shores
Beach Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing