We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families, needs a little updating”
Review of The Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for families, needs a little updating”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Pictures on VRBO were a little deceiving, but room turned out to be adequate since we spent a lot of time at pool and beach. We viewed the other rooms of our traveling friends and each condo was very inconsistent as far as amenities, decor, linens, etc. The rooms with the exception of one in our party could use a little updating, paint, TLC. We all stayed in the Bristol Tower. Each person commented that the rooms werent thoroughly cleaned by houskeeping staff which isnt a great first impression. Club House fee came with our rental but it seemed most people just followed someone in the gate who had a key without asking for verification on whether they belonged or not. Club House pool was crowded and they even chased you down to pay for a raft or floating turtle they had in a bin by the pool if a young kid dared to use it. Tacky! Bar at this pool is nice and lunch served there was great each day. The restaurant at the front entrance is nice with a good atmosphere with things for the kids to do but service is very poor. Took almost 3 hours to complete dinner. Didnt use tennis courts or some of the other amenities they provide such as volleyball court. Beach is very nice, but dont expect Destin type beautiful water in my opinion. On the other hand, its less crowded and more private. Main restaurant at the Club pricey but food just medicore. We decided to eat only at the Club House pool as it was consistenly good each time. Security is always present around the property which is nice. Not sure why a lot of the other pools didnt have umbrellas??? Hot tubs seem to get neglected as they were low on water and had some trash in it each day. Overall property is nice and good for families just needs a little work to justify room rates.

Room Tip: Anything 3 floors or above give you a good view of pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blues03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    132
    37
    23
    23
See reviews for
289
61
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Pros first: Great if you like a VERY family focused vaca spot. An old room mate and I spend a weekend each year with our boys (7 this year) at a different spot. This year a friend suggested we use her condo at BC. I agreed before asking how much it would be as I thought it would be a "deal". So in that case I would not do that again, and would make sure I shopped prices. For what I paid I would normally have "more". Beach is lovely soft sand, the surf is mild and the patrons are all families with kids our age, so lots of play time. I stocked up on groceries (forgot salt/pepper, dishsoap...annoyances to go back to dollar store to get). There's a rest/bar on site which we had 1 drink at, but looked nice and newer. We ate "in" every meal and since hubby's weren't with, salads and light fare for kids was all good, so saved $$ on not eating at restaurants. Lots of kids were doing some fishing, looked like they were really enjoying. Normal stuff, buy your water toys, blow ups etc off property, the calm water is very nice for floating. Kids loved the sand castle building.

Cons: Again, my fault but compare prices, as stated there's VRBO, Meyer Realty, and Spectrum (the only one on site). The mild surf is nice for little kids, but "boogie boarding" and other fun requiring waves was pretty minimal. We had one day with lots of little biting somethings in the water and since the waves weren't big, they hung around longer than we thought they would. You have to pay extra for the pool with food/cocktails, work out rooms, indoor pool and hot tubs. And the close pool that you didn't have to pay more for was out of order (probably an "incident" in the pool" and unavailable for 24 hours. So, I would make sure the added amenities are included.

Also ran into a VERY bizarre incident with the "banana boat/parasailing" group on the beach. I walk up to their table (told later owner's daughter) and a blonde young woman is sitting at table. I asked what the water sports offered, she looked at me as if I was really troubling her asking these questions-no sign was posted so not sure how else I was to know. I asked if we needed a reservation...no, just come up if we're at table.

She said, "we're done for today-no more boat rides". (it was about 4:30p). My friend, trying to figure out a solution, said "so what time do you start tomorrow, can we make a reservation for then?". "We don't take reservations, we just run the boats until we have our last customer". "So how do we know when that is?" Again, nothing.

I'm not kidding when I say this is AL coast, southern kindness and nice people everywhere. I was dumbfounded, had I tripped and landed in snotty-20somethingville? Was I troubling her, done something to offend?

Next morning, AGAINST my will my friend went up to the driver (blonde absent) who apologized profusely, couldn't believe we had been treated so poorly. We had a blast, well worth it and the rest of the team was great. If you run into blonde, just talk to someone else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimbrahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I had never been to gulf shores, it was a nice suprize. At the last min. some friend suggested a quick beach trip, so we picked Beach Club Resort. The grounds are very pretty, we had some good food. My only complaint would be the room. A little run down compared to the rest of property. But in their defense it was less than a 24 notice and this was the only room available. Next time I'll look sooner. Over all it's been great!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimmie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at The Beach Club. My kids would much rather stay here than in the Orange Beach or Destin areas. This is the first time we have stayed in the Bristol tower and it is our favorite. There are several beach volleyball courts and you can para-sail right at the resort instead of having to drive in to town. The restaurant at the club house has really good food. We called in a takeout order and it was ready in less than 30 minutes. All staff we have dealt with on this trip have been courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

Property was well kept and staff are extremely helpful. However not all rooms in the same class are created equal. I came with a conference, so the rooms were selected and paid for-- except that we had decided to syay longer and pay for the balance. Our first room was ok, but not for $300+. It smelled faintly of smoke and it was old and in need of a facelift. We asked to change rooms; and were given a different room. What a difference. The unit was newer and had several upgrade features. So, if you can-- try to see your room online first. Several rooms have pictures via the co website. We stayed in bldg D, which I understand is the oldest. Plus, the resort is at least 15 min to a grocery store and about 25-30 min to a decent restaurant. They do have places to eat at the club; but we did not try any of them.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

had a great time!! really nice place with great staff!! the rooms were very nice and the view was amazing right on the beach! its off the beaten path which makes it good less traffic.but yet close to everything..its great for everyone families and singles out having a good time everyone was so friendly that we didnt wanna leave! we will definatly be back and soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We hadn't been back to the Ocean Club since the oil spill so we were anxious to see if things had changed. Thankfully, very little has changed. We've stayed in numerous units over the years and everyone has been great. Since our extended family joined us this year, we stayed in a 4 bedroom unit in the Bristol. Four nicely appointed bed rooms, all with HD tv's. The living and dining area was large and nicely decorated. The views from the wrap around balcony were spectacular.

We rented a poolside cabana for the toddlers. It was great until late in the week when a family occupied the adjoining cabana and played their boom box (these things still exist?) excessively loudly. We also noted a number of boom boxes at the beach...something we hadn't experience in the past. Most people, when asked nicely, reduced the volume. Management should consider better management of poolside behavior, including the football wannabe's tossing footballs in the pool area.

The whole family had a great time' the beach and water were fantastic as were the pools (with the noted exceptions). We'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: We enjoy sitting on the balcony listening to the evening's entertainment at the club pool, so an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrymoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
11.4 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,173 reviews
12.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
346 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
44 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
220 reviews
12.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club

Property: The Beach Club
Address: 925 Beach Club Trail, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 684
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of both worlds: vacation rentals + full-service resort amenities. If combining a casual and relaxing beach getaway with luxury-level accommodations and services meets your vacation expectations, book your next visit to the Alabama Gulf Coast at The Beach Club with Spectrum Resorts - the official owner and operator of all of the Beach Club resort amenities. Escape to this popular family resort situated on 86 acres of natural beauty with private beaches spanning the length of nearly five football fields. Located 12 miles down Fort Morgan Road (Hwy 180) The Beach Club is the perfect resort for a relaxing and secluded family vacation that will allow everyone to unwind and reconnect, and The Beach Club offers so many amenities and family friendly activities you won't have to leave the resort. Everything you need for a perfect vacation is here - multiple dining options, five outdoor pools, heated indoor pool, fitness room, spa and salon, shopping, playground and activities - is here for your enjoyment during your stay. Spectrum Resorts (the exclusive onsite management company) offers the largest selection of vacation rentals at The Beach Club including Gulf Front condominiums and lakeside cottages. Condominiums are individually decorated and range from one to five bedrooms - all with unobstructed gulf views and located just steps from the beach. Cottages range from two to five bedrooms and provide a spacious and home-like setting for your family vacation. Stay with Spectrum Resorts and experience the "Spectrum Experience" • 100% satisfaction with your vacation rental • Advance Beach Chair rentals and preferred availability• Access to all resort amenities• Priority dinner reservations at Coast • Priority Spa and Salon appointments • Resort charging privileges providing a "cashless" experience. If you are looking for the perfect vacation destination for your family to reconnect and relax while away from the demands of day-to-day life, The Beach Club, delivered by Spectrum Resorts, is your answer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Club Hotel Gulf Shores
Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
The Beach Hotel
Beach Club Gulf Shores
Beach Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing