We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beach Club
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Allen Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place was very clean and the condos were very nicely equipped and very clean. Felt like a very safe environment and lots of stuff for the younger children. The grounds and pools are beautiful. Definitely not a party place and geared for families. Staff was friendly and accommodating however wait staff is quite slow. The beach is very clean with chair service. The resort does allow for fishing on the beach so be sure to try and stay away from them. When they catch something and drag it in, its unsettling with the line and hook and whats on the hook going all over the place. Location is 15 miles from everything with the exception of a small party store and pizza place and ten miles to a gas station. I would consider staying again for sure

Room Tip: I stayed in the Britol building and liked the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    118
    34
    22
    22
See reviews for
266
54
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you're looking for a beach trip without all of the traffic, crowds and hustle of Beach Boulevard, this is the place for you. The condominiums are spacious, and all of them have a view of the Gulf. There is direct beach access, and the complex is somewhat secluded so you don't have a lot of folks outside of the ones actually staying at the complex.

The condo where we stayed was spacious (if you are in one of the three-bedroom units, you're on the end of the building, so you also have either a great sunrise or sunset view in addition to the Gulf).

From my arrival through various other encounters, the staff was friendly and accommodating. The maintenance manager even spent an hour late one evening assisting with jumping off the dead battery on our vehicle.

The sports bar/restaurant located near the main entrance serves wonderful food and has a great selection of beers. The bartender was friendly, and she made outstanding recommendations on menu choices.

If you want the tourist trap shots and overpriced, bad-food restaurants, you need to stay along Beach Boulevard. If you're looking for a refreshing, relaxing experience, The Beach Club is definitely the place to be.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better for the view, but they're also more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReidAdair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Beach Club is isolated and, those wanting a good beach experience in the Gulf Shores area, can certainly find more convenient and economical locations that are equal to The Beach Club amenities. If you tire of the on-site restaurant you are in for a long drive to get something to eat, including shopping for snacks or food to cook. Nightlife, another long drive. Activities for kids . . . you guessed it . . . a long drive.
Food in restaurant is just OK and is pricey. Unsupervised kids dominated he spas since the supposedly heated pools were quite cold.
Most irritating though was the extremely poor customer service at the front desk. We were told that no way could we check in before 4 PM so dutifully we cooled our heels until our room was ready. Our big surprise was to learn that check out is 10 AM. The resort was maybe at 40% occupancy so we figured it would be easy to get an hour delay in checkout so we could have brunch at the onsite restaurant. Well guess what . . . no checkout beyond 10 AM and if you want a late checkout you must give 24 hours notice but the real kick in the teeth is that Housekeeping was not even open until 10 AM anyway . . . we know this because I called Housekeeping for more coffee and I got a voice mail telling me that no one from Housekeeping would on site until 10 AM! Anyway, we checked out and went into Gulf Shores proper had a great breakfast/brunch much less expensive than the onsite restaurant.
The front desk staff is very pleased with their inflexible rules and procedures -- telling me that any stay beyond 10 AM will result in another day added to my bill. We stayed the weekend and paid $250 per night - so we were paying top dollar for what should be comparable stay at a great hotel but this was not even close.We will never be back -- there are numerous better and more convenient options in Gulf Shores proper.

Room Tip: If you are a family planning on staying at The Beach Club be advised the room that we occupied is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cooperinmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh L, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
CooperinMob,

Thank you for choosing The Beach Club for your getaway from Mobile, AL. Please accept our apologies if your experience was not up to your satisfaction. The Beach Club is a village resort community located on the private beaches of Fort Morgan Road and it is promote as a charming secluded resort. Check in and check out times are to make sure there is ample time for housekeeping to make sure the unit is cleaned for the next guest. Thank you for the feedback and if you would like to experience another one of Spectrum Resorts property, please feel free to look into staying at Turquoise Place, located in the heart of Orange Beach.

Sincerely,
Spectrum Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great place for a family vacation with some great amenities for pampering thrown in.
We loved the unit and the view.
The resort itself was beautiful and very family oriented.
The spa was a little disappointing but the clubhouse and restaurants were great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh L, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Renee,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about The Beach Club. We are sorry you were disappointed in the spa but we are thrilled you had great experiences at the restaurants and clubhouse. We are looking forward to your next visit and we thank you for choosing The Beach Club!

Sincerely,
Spectrum Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was amazed at how clean the condo and the resort were. Well-stocked from the kitchen to the linens, comfortable furniture and roomy. I can't say enough good about this place.
Good food at the restaurants and very friendly staff. They have 5 pools, so crowding isn't a problem unless it's raining and everyone is at the indoor pool. There is so much to do that my 11 and 12 year old kids were never bored.
We liked that it was not right in the main part of Gulf Shores and was away from the majority of the other resorts. Less people on the beach and less rowdiness from Spring Breakers. It's only 10 miles off of Rt. 59, so it's fast and easy to get into town if you want to go out to eat or shop.
Stock up at Rouse's Market on your way in, they have everything you will need!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh L, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Carrie,

Thank you for choosing Gulf Shores and The Beach Club for your vacation. We really appreciate the wonderful comments about our clean condos and friendly staff. We agree that Rouse's is a great place to stock up. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Spectrum Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Great, friendly, and clean resort with lots of options for people of all ages! Tons of activities for even small children (playground, resort activities, on-site beach toys, etc.). The resort is actually about 15 minutes from the heart of Gulf Shores - it is closer to Fort Morgan, but that was fine for us. We made a day trip to Dauphin Island using the ferry and visited the Estuarium - not to be missed! But, we wouldn't have had to leave the resort at all. We spent a lot of time on the beach, which had toys for the kids and activities for older "kids". The sand was sugar white with lots of seashells. The weather was sunny and 60s - 70s in March, so the heated pool options were appreciated. We were a little concerned about noise and crowds during "Spring Break", but did not need to be as neither were an issue. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Catalina tower on an end, which is probably quieter than rooms by the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh L, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Traci,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful comments about The Beach Club! It sounds like you had a wonderful time and your day trip to Dauphin Island sounds like you had a great adventure. Thank you for choosing The Beach Club and we hope you will be back to visit soon.

Sincerely,
Spectrum Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a great getaway spot...mostly if you want it to be less of an attraction based getaway. The location is a distance away from everything so a family trip with little day trips would be ideal. The views are excellent. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The onsite amenities are great and the restaurant is , as my wife put it, "to die for". The rooms are all unique , adding to the flavor of the place. We stayed here twice, including over a fourth of July. The fireworks on the beach was just amazing !!!!!Wecame with 6 childen of all ages and they all loved it !! We definately recommend The Beach Club !!!

Room Tip: The staff is very helpful in getting you a room to fit your needs. Just ask !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh L, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Peter,

Thank you for the positive review on The Beach Club and for being a loyal guest. Please come back anytime, your view awaits!

Sincerely,
Spectrum Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
11.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
12.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
12.4 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
8.7 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club

Property: The Beach Club
Address: 925 Beach Club Trail, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 684
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of both worlds: vacation rentals + full-service resort amenities. If combining a casual and relaxing beach getaway with luxury-level accommodations and services meets your vacation expectations, book your next visit to the Alabama Gulf Coast at The Beach Club with Spectrum Resorts - the official owner and operator of all of the Beach Club resort amenities. Escape to this popular family resort situated on 86 acres of natural beauty with private beaches spanning the length of nearly five football fields. Located 12 miles down Fort Morgan Road (Hwy 180) The Beach Club is the perfect resort for a relaxing and secluded family vacation that will allow everyone to unwind and reconnect, and The Beach Club offers so many amenities and family friendly activities you won't have to leave the resort. Everything you need for a perfect vacation is here - multiple dining options, five outdoor pools, heated indoor pool, fitness room, spa and salon, shopping, playground and activities - is here for your enjoyment during your stay. Spectrum Resorts (the exclusive onsite management company) offers the largest selection of vacation rentals at The Beach Club including Gulf Front condominiums and lakeside cottages. Condominiums are individually decorated and range from one to five bedrooms - all with unobstructed gulf views and located just steps from the beach. Cottages range from two to five bedrooms and provide a spacious and home-like setting for your family vacation. Stay with Spectrum Resorts and experience the "Spectrum Experience" • 100% satisfaction with your vacation rental • Advance Beach Chair rentals and preferred availability• Access to all resort amenities• Priority dinner reservations at Coast • Priority Spa and Salon appointments • Resort charging privileges providing a "cashless" experience. If you are looking for the perfect vacation destination for your family to reconnect and relax while away from the demands of day-to-day life, The Beach Club, delivered by Spectrum Resorts, is your answer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Club Hotel Gulf Shores
Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
The Beach Hotel
Beach Club Gulf Shores
Beach Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing