We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that great”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Gulf Island Grill

Gulf Island Grill
Ranked #39 of 154 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

French fry seasoning is horrible, crab is alright, buffalo shrimp is nasty, service was horribly slow on a Monday night when no one was there. I wouldn't recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank elbn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    125
    66
    37
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
283 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice, lively spot”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were at the Hangout Music Fest and went across the street for dinner here. We waited a little while for an outside table but eventually sat down, ordered some beers, soup, gumbo and a piece of grouper. Everything was very good, especially the gumbo my wife ordered. My grouper was outstanding although I was not ready for the heavy sausage-filled gravy that they put on it. It was very good but nothing like I have had in the past. The crab & corn chowder was good too. A lively place, nice people and good food across from the beach. Cheers to Gulf Island Grill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenL60089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't even bother!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First of all, the restaurant wasn't busy on a Saturday night, Memorial Day weekend. We should have known something was wrong then. We sat down, ordered drinks and an appetizer. Our appetizer came, and 30 seconds later our main dishes came. My husband ordered a seafood platter with no oysters....he received oysters. I ordered some kind of seafood pasta. The waitress asked if I wanted the bell peppers and onions with it, so I said sure. Well....the just cut up raw peppers and onions and threw them in there. The times where our waitress wasn't sitting at the bar talking to the bartenders, we had to flag her down to ask for things. I wasn't impressed and I received better service from the pizza delivery girl!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogersville, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow! A must visit restaurant when in Gulf Shores”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We ate here for dinner, and we were in love with the food. We ordered snow crab legs and crab and corn bisque. The bisque is so delicious I really cannot adequately describe it....made with cream, smooth, flavorful, I literally wanted to lick the bowl! The crab was fresh, and perfect. I will be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunnyPamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arab, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fresh Seafood & Great Staff”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My hubby & I ended up going 2 times, it was so good!! I recommend them at the top of the seafood dinning at very affordable pricing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gulf Island Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gulf Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing