We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Complaints, You Get What You Pay For” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No Complaints, You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night because it was the closest hotel to the beach without being $500 a night. Great location, right across the street is Walgreens, PNC bank, and Walmart. One mile from the beach, quick 5 minute drive. Hotel it's self had plenty of parking and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alyssab21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    27
    33
    24
    90
See reviews for
86
44
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the start customer service is nonexistent!!! Management is rude!!!!!!! I wouldn't recommend this establishment to someone I didn't like!! Bottom line avoid 213 Fort Morgan Rd. Gulf Shores, Al and save yourself a headache!!! The manager Brandi is very incompetent and if the front desk clerk can't answer multiple calls at once this probably isn't the right line of work!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Imjusaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gulf Shores hotels

Thomasville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I booked this hotel for a concert back in March & the price was regrettably jacked to high Heaven (as can be expected). It was pretty clean & that's where it ended. All the amenities it claims to have in its online description are a bust. Internet didn't work. Their display photos show a room with a flatscreen, a microwave, & a mini fridge. My room had an old box style television & neither a microwave nor a fridge. Not to mention the channel selection was pathetic. My mom sat a drink on the tv cabinet & the screen went haywire. The bed was like a rock. The washcloths & towels felt like sandpaper. A strip of carpet was missing at the door. Breakfast was barely a continental breakfast. Just bagels basically. And to top it off, the staff wasn't very friendly at all! Point is, if you just want a cheaper place to lay your head, this will probably be your best bet in the area because of its location (right off the Parkway). Beach town hotels are ridiculously priced, so this is one of the cheaper choices. If you care to pay more & get quality, I suggest you do so. This hotel is in serious need of updating. Either that or to stop claiming they're something they're not. I wouldn't stay here again if they paid me!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Went to check in with my confirmation number in hand, told I didn't have a room! I had previously called 1-800 number to cancel 1 night of my reservation and they mistakenly cancelled my whole reservation!! Manager on duty was horrible and rude!! She said it was Days Inn's fault not theirs, said they will soon not be part of Days Inn so they don't honor anything with Days Inn anymore???.... Doesn't your sign still say Days Inn?? Wanted me to pay a higher price for a room, would not honor my confirmed rate. So, I was stranded for the weekend but no worries , I drove down the road to the very helpful, nice people at the Microtel Inn and gave them my money for the weekend!!! Don't ever stay at the Days Inn in Gulf Shores!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Checked in and went to the room. Had no towels. Went and asked they didn't have any ready at 3:30 p.m. Went out came in at 9:30 p.m still had no towels. Finally, got towels the next morning we had go ask for them. Will not stay they again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camaudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel could use an updating, carpet appeared worn, baseboards were dirty. The price was a little too high for this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Pool area was small. The rooms could use a better cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iamrunnergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

My 72 year old mother decided to surprise my family by bringing my Aunt , her sister, (age 79) who had never been to the Gulf to visit. She made reservations at the Days Inn, under the impression ( the name, Days Inn...) that it was a nice clean hotel. Maybe back in her day, the name Days Inn held integrity....
As soon as I found out they were coming to town, I quickly ran to check the hotel and room out. Very very disappointed. The original room they were assigned to was a king bed, nasty carpet, nasty bathroom, large patched hole in wall, mold in bathroom, with a view of an even nastier parking lot littered with trash. As March is the month of spring break, I was concerned with trying to find another hotel. The young man, Sean, was very helpful in finding another room, that was even somewhat close to being acceptable. The hallways smelled really bad. Musty. Nasty carpet. I should have used my better sense and found other accommodations. But again, was pushed for time. After getting them settled in the "suite" and I do say that loosely...
We headed to dinner. Upon bringing them back to the room, we were welcomed by a very Loud barking dog in the adjacent room. Which continued to bark through the night. Owners were not to be found. And staff could have cared less. And then, the heat did not work. Not wanting to bother us, my mother & aunt did not tell us about the heat until the next morning. Yes. They did offer to move them to an even dumpier room. What a disaster. I might could have come close to accepting this if the room had only charged 39.99 a night, which is the standard charge for such a place. But at 325.00 for 3 nights, I truly expected better. Very very disappointed. As a local, I can assure that I will definately not recommend this place. No respect for the name, Days Inn. Gulf Shores deserves better and so do our guests.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Rd1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
5.5 mi away
Lewiston Hall
Lewiston Hall
#14 of 24 in Gulf Shores
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores

Property: Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores
Address: 213 West Fort Morgan Road, Gulf Shores, AL 36542 (Formerly Days Inn Gulf Shores)
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay within minutes of the beautiful Gulf Shores beaches at the pet-friendly Magnuson Hotel Gulf Shores. Admire exotic animals at the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo, and spend an afternoon dodging obstacles at Pirates Island Miniature Golf Course. Thrill on exciting water rides and splash in refreshing wave pools at Waterville USA waterpark or race around The Track, a high-speed go-kart track and amusement park. Head to the Tanger Outlets to shop at discounted stores, or visit the Wharf for premier shopping, dining and nightlife destination. White sandy beaches, championship golf and top-notch fishing are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores La Quinta
La Quinta Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing