We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phoenix All Suites Hotel West
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We have been vacationing at Gulf Shores for more than ten years. This was our second trip to this property. The service at check-in was much improved and efficient. The accommodations are sumptuousness and comfortable. This is a grand location for family fun, well-managed to support family relaxation. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank acoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

This may be the low end of the Phoenix properties. The bedroom is located in many units next to the outside hall. This means you can hear anyone walking down the hall going to and from their rooms if they are talking. Also, never stay in a room next to the elevator. I could hear that thing every time it stopped on or near my floor. Also, they tried to put in bunk beds for kids. These are small and are for smaller kids only. Keep that in mind in case some adult or kid taller than 5'9". The good things are the kitchen area and living--dining room area. All in all, it is better than a regular hotel room but not as good as a good quality condo.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
4  Thank stillaround24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We were there for only one night this trip - this is at least my third stay here. Can't beat the value for a room that sleeps 6 people right on the beach. Other reviews have stated problems with the elevators, but the day we arrived and the day we left, maintenance crew were there monitoring the elevators. When necessary, the maintenance man used an override key so the elevator didn't stop when it was already full. Seems the property is doing all they can to minimize elevator issues.

The cleaning staff was just finishing up our room when we arrived, and it was clean as always. We had a corner unit so we had a very nice view from our balcony.
I would not hesitate to stay here again on our next beach trip.

Room Tip: Rooms ending with 1 or 6 will be corner units. Pillows are a little small and hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MSmom1965Mississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I booked 3 nights at Phoenix All Suites West only because it was Summer Prime and everything was sold out. My mother, 14 y/o son, and 4 y/o daughter accompanied me. The room was exactly like the pictures, everything worked fine, and it was clean. I expected more space for clothes ie a dresser or chest of drawers, we had to cope with stuffing everything into the hallway cleaning closet and bedroom closet. I slept on the couch 2 nights, in the bed 1 night and found it to be comfortable. It was refreshing to have housekeeping stop by daily to replenish toilet paper, shampoo, conditioner, soap, and towels. There was a safe in the closet so that we could lock up our valuables while we were out. Thankfully we were on the 4th floor so stairs were optional after waiting 10 minutes for the elevator to not stop for us. The view was spectacular, we enjoyed coffee on the balcony every morning at 8am while watching the dolphins swim by. The pool was perfect for my 4 y/o, half was 3ft giving her plenty of room to play. The property is in a great location with plenty of restaurants and beach rentals nearby. I was not disappointed with this property other than the elevator situation and would book again if nothing were available at a condo.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here during an impromptu weekend trip. It was cheaper than a hotel room and we got twice the space and a full kitchen. The king bed in the master bedroom is enormous and very comfortable, the couch becomes an extra bed for little boys that want to watch just one more movie before bed, and the balcony was roomy and private. We stayed on the 16th floor and could see all the way down beach highway and far out into the ocean. It was serene and peaceful. The staff was courteous and forgiving when we woke up five minutes before check out. The pool was clean and the beach just a walk on the boardwalk away. The only negative is the elevators can take several minutes to arrive. There are only two for almost twenty floors of suites. Other than that, it was perfect and well worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank slwiebe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We planned this trip as a quick family vacation before our son went back to finish college for the summer. We didn't know anything about the Phoenix other than the reviews I had read when booking and that can be sort of scary, so it was with a litte trepidation that I held by breath when we arrived to see where we would be staying, and I wonder in retrospect what I was anxious about! Phoenix All Suites were very nice and clean, even a crockpot in the kitchen. There was plenty of room for all five of us! We couldn't have asked for more, and our only complaint was that we only got to stay two nights. Bahama Bobs is right next door and the food was very good, as well as Mikee's that is only a short drive away! Loved it and can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank momma2Jasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Only qualm is very slow elevator service, which I knew of from previous review. For number of floors need more elevators. Also, if housekeeping staff would not use during peak hours would help. Other than that great place to stay. Friendly, clean, had everything we needed, & close to everything. Will not hesitate to book again!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lala2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,254 reviews
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
2 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#12 of 25 in Gulf Shores
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix All Suites Hotel West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix All Suites Hotel West

Address: 533 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a beachfront hotel in Gulf Shores, AL then you've found it! Phoenix All Suites West offers the luxury of a condo with the amenities of a hotel. The hotel offers friendly service, condo-style amenities, convenient locations with direct beach access and, of course, unforgettable memories. Phoenix All Suites West is strategically located to give you easy access to all that Gulf Shores has to offer. It's just a half-mile west of Hwy. 59 on West Beach Boulevard. Great restaurants and shops are within walking distance. There's a lot to experience while visiting Gulf Shores, make sure you choose a location that is close to where you want to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Phoenix All Suites Hotel West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Gulf Shores
Phoenix Hotel West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing