We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for a Moderate Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix All Suites Hotel West

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phoenix All Suites Hotel West
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Moderate Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay with Brett/Robinson at Gulf Shores. We stayed at Island Winds East on our last visit and were very happy. This time we decided to try out Phoenix All Suites Hotel West. We were very satisfied with this location as well. The unit itself was plenty big enough for my wife and I and could had handled a couple more people as well. The ocean view from our balcony was great as was the view of the lagoon from outside of our front door. It is conviently located right next to Bahama Bob's (the best resturant in town) and is only a short walk from The Hangout. Fantastic place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterCJ0seph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    141
    84
    26
    15
See reviews for
274
147
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We thought it would be convenient and the pictures looked okay but we were very disappointed. There was almost no water pressure in the shower, could not get the soap out of my hair. When I got a towel down to dry off a roach fell out of it into the shower. The bedroom was tiny with nowhere to put your belongings. The toilet was tiny (especially for my husband), there was nowhere to put your things around the sink. There was a smell in the bedroom (don't know if it was the carpet, linens, or drapes. Our allergies were terrible while staying there. One thing that I thought was dangerous was when you open the sliding door you had to step over about a 6 inch piece at the bottom (someone could easily get hurt on this). The pool was terrible, a very small lap pool that couldn't accomodate the guests. The elevators were almost impossible to catch (I heard several people commenting on this). I told them some of this when we checked out but they didn't seem to care. I think the entire place needs renovating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petal, ms
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We booked a last minute Labor Day getaway and were pleasantly surprised. Reasonable rate even tho a holiday. Very clean, comfy bed, nice view from 8th floor balcony, and wonderful food (Bahamas Bob's) right next door. The check-in was fast and check-out even faster. Will definitely stay again, but longer next time.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank golfnutx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
153 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were able to book one of 4 rooms left a few days before the Labor Day weekend - last minute. It's a condo that services as a hotel with room service, toiletries. 15 floors, 6 condos wide. Check-in was effortless, staff was very welcoming. Our condo was very tastefully furnished, the lessor Brett/Robinson provided every kitchen tool: blender, toaster, measuring cups, corning ware, fiesta ware dishes, cork screw - even paper towels, a new scrub sponge and dishwasher detergent. The refrigerator's ice maker was busy making ice upon our arrival.
The nice part is that most gulf front condos require a 3 night minimum rental on weekends and holidays. Since this building functions as a hotel, we were able to book 2 nights, and there wasn't a private cleaning fee like most privately owned condos charge. Very nice and attentive security staff....they were friendly, but watchful. Lots of covered parking. Every condo has a beach view balcony that also overlooks the pool and kiddie pool. Beach chairs and umbrellas are available and one of the local services that offers kayak, jet ski and parasailing, operates a mere few feet down the beach - VERY convenient. Also, nice to be able to watch those parasailing from the balcony. Next door is Bahama Bob's restaurant, and there are a couple of restaurants across the street, so you don't need to drive if you just want to chill.
On the corner are several souvenir shops where you can purchase floaties, boogie boards, sun visors, bathing suits, etc.

The king bed was comfortable, a large flat screen tv was on the bedroom wall for easy viewing. There were lots of extra pillows and blankets in the closet - the closet had nice built in storage.
Very favorable were the ceiling fans - one above the bed and one above the living area - an enjoyed extra. Bunk beds are built into a hallway niche and the sofa pulls out - you can actually sleep 6 in the condo and there are 1.5 baths. Even the bath toiletries were quality - scented with Sicilian blood orange.

Reading older reviews indicated very long waits for the elevator, but the facility was packed for the Labor Day weekend and we rarely waited for the elevator.

We'll definitely book here again !

The only difference is that if visiting Gulf Shores/Orange beach on a holiday weekend, we'll use vacation and stay an extra day - it took over 2 hours, bumper to bumper to drive the 30 miles back to the interstate.

Room Tip: Mid-level condos are nice - you can hear the waves and the view is wonderful and close up, yet you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SerenaWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed two nights and will never stay at this hotel again! There were problems checking in as soon as we arrived. They could not even explain to us what the problem was but finally that got resolved. On our second day, which was a Saturday, no one was allowed to get in the pool because it was storming? There was no rain, no lightening, the sun was out and when everyone was questioning the reason the so called security guard was completely rude and steadily repeating "it's storming don't you see" when clearly there was not even rain. Absolutely disappointing especially after paying so much to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EvanPurvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Phoenix suites for a last minute getaway Easter weekend. We were concerned when we pulled into town and realized it was spring break and every teenager in town was walking the streets. however, we had no problems at the hotel. The condo was very clean and had a nice view. It is not a luxury condo, but it was perfect for what we needed. We didn't have any problems with the elevators as other reviewers had mentioned. I got the condo for a great price which was a surprise for Easter weekend, great getaway would definitely stay a weekend here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geauxtigers8511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights on the eighth floor and enjoyed the room and the oceanview from the Balcony was awesome. Great seafood restaurant right across the street. The Hangout with live music next door. First time in Gulf Shores but we will definitely return. The hotel and beach were not crowded even the first three days of July. Orange Beach is a hidden Gem.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix All Suites Hotel West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix All Suites Hotel West

Property: Phoenix All Suites Hotel West
Address: 533 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a beachfront hotel in Gulf Shores, AL then you've found it! Phoenix All Suites West offers the luxury of a condo with the amenities of a hotel. The hotel offers friendly service, condo-style amenities, convenient locations with direct beach access and, of course, unforgettable memories. Phoenix All Suites West is strategically located to give you easy access to all that Gulf Shores has to offer. It's just a half-mile west of Hwy. 59 on West Beach Boulevard. Great restaurants and shops are within walking distance. There's a lot to experience while visiting Gulf Shores, make sure you choose a location that is close to where you want to be! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Gulf Shores
Phoenix Hotel West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing