We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty with a smile!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We unfortunately had to stay here for one night; being one of the few hotels that allowed pets.
The GM and staff we dealt with were exceptionally friendly and pleasant. However the property was a dump.
Let me list the complaints:
The bed was sloppily made.
The room was large but the only place to sit was on the bed.
There was a desk but no chair.
There is no direct way to contact the front desk.
The shower was extremely slippery.
The pillows were stained and smelled.
The mattress was terribly uncomfortable, felt like a metal bar running from side to side under your back.
When we got in the bed, we found a wad of hair under the sheets.
There were dead bugs around the night stand and under the bed.

I know I wasn't staying at the Ritz and was not looking for amenities, however cleanliness should not be considered an amenity! I This place was unacceptable and I would NOT recommend it to anyone.
When we spoke to the front desk about the bed; we were given fresh sheets and blankets.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkcompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIGulfShores, General Manager at Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

We deeply apologize for the concerns you experienced during your stay.

Sloppily made beds, missed vacuuming and hair on the sheets is not a standard. With more than 200 customers in the same two nights this was an isolated experience.

In regards to the chair, we apologize that the guest prior to your stay damaged the chair and it was in our repair shop. It is likely that we could have repaired and returned is or come up with another solution had we known this to be an issue.

The pillow complaint will be and could have been addressed as we have spare and new pillows. Had we been aware of the issue we would have corrected this.

All apologies to the shower being slippery. This is likely due to the housekeeper not thoroughly rinsing the sanitizer down.

We will take a look at the bed and correct the likely broken box spring. The beds are young and are high quality Sealy sets that should have been comfortable.

We apologize for the hair on the sheets as well. Judging from your picture it appears that during the washing and drying cycles in bleach this was deposited and missed by QA before being used.

For everything again, we deeply apologize. We are very concerned that you were unable to contact the front desk directly. It appears from some of your comments you had some contact with us (fresh sheets and blankets. Friendly staff) during your one night stay. All of our rooms have phones and the ability to press "0" for the front desk. In addition, our office was open until midnight. Again we regret your feeling of us not being available to your needs.

After researching, it appears an agreement was met that compensated you for your concerns. In the future, please allow us the opportunity to correct items for you so that your stay can be pleasant.

Thank you,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

very noise wall so thin you can hear every thing other people are saying the hotel staff so rude you only get one towel per person and when you ask for more they are out
we went down as a group when we book we ask to be put all together on same side when we book we all was on dif side so far away form each we ask to change they say the could not change us

Room Tip: no room in this hotel are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIGulfShores, General Manager at Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We apologize for the noise complaints. There were several school age groups that may have lead to abnormally loud conditions.

In regards to the towels, we provide each room a set of towels and wash cloths per guest the room sleeps daily. In addition, if a guest needs fresh towels we are more than willing to honor the exchange of dirty towels for clean ones. All guests who stay with us are made aware of this when the request is made. Several of our guests during your stay had over occupied the rooms and had somehow received towels from housekeeping staff without exchanging their used ones. This causes the shortage that was encountered.

In regards to the group reservations, I personally book all group reservations. When booking group reservations we make every effort to meet specific requests. During your stay, there were several groups that had booked far in advance and the space at the hotel was limited. We did the best we could to provide your group with rooms and give the discounted group rate you received. Most of the room types are mixed on each side and floor of the hotel to provide options to guests when space is available.

In closing, we apologize your experience was negative when so many others who stayed had positive ones. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove that this was an isolated event.

Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Kevin M Gilliland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We went over the weekend of 10-15-11 and were pleasantly surprised. The person at the desk was very welcoming and made us feel comfortable. The rooms were clean and it was a very quite, safe feeling place. The staff was excellent. Our only draw back was when we were leaving on Sunday morning the lights in the parking lot went out and it was still very dark. Going to the office there was no response. We didn't know if it was a problem with the lights, or possibly they needed to change the timer on the box. Otherwise, we enjoyed everything about the Country Hearth and look forward to staying there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The walls are paper-thin in this hotel. We couldn't sleep because the couple next door was having loud sex half the night. The furniture is worn-out looking; the tv was fuzzy and small. The rate was high because it was a weekend. This has to be one of the worst hotels we ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIGulfShores, General Manager at Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

We apologize for the items you had issue with back in May. Having experienced a change in management around that time some things you are reporting just now have been addressed. The televisions have been upgraded in most of the rooms to larger flat screen models. The furniture is updated as needed and worn furniture is not kept in rooms. We unfortunately cannot help the noise next door but will research ways to dampen this in the future. Thank you for your time and review. In the future please contact us at the time of your stay for assistance.
Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My family and I stayed at the Country Hearth Inn for a few days, and we will stay there again. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, and the location of the Inn made our vacation convenient. My family can't afford to stay at some expensive, luxuary hotel so this was a perfect solution for us. The Country Hearth Inn is very close to the beach, next door to the best putt putt golf course, "Treasure Island", it's across the street from the "Track", right down the road from "Waterville", and across the road from LuLu's, for fun dining. The Manager, Kevin, was so kind, and made us feel right at home. For my family's next trip to the beach, we will be staying at this wonderful Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTheBeach065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I was very impressed by the hotel when we arrive. I really had my guard up due to the previous review written but for the price I paid and on a budget with kids. It was very much worth the stay. The rooms were clean. It was in a central location to everything and very close to the beach.

I will highly recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and just want a clean and safe place to stay with a family. Will visit thm again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vett20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Check was fast and easy and the clerk was really nice. The room was pretty basic, tho the tv looked like it was about a 13in. The room was overall clean it had a frige and microwave both worked great. The bathroom was also clean tho the sink was started to come dettached from the wall. There also was a lounge chair in the corner that my husband refused to sit on he said it made him itch. There were really not any ammenties, no free breakfast at this location which was kind of disappointing as this was reason we chose this hotel. A plus it was very close to the beah, Family Dollar, and supermarkets. We like the location the best and the fact there was no breakfast the least. But if you want a cheap plac thats clean and close to the beach go here but if you want the fancy stuff this is not it. I would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsOusley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
4.1 mi away
Lewiston Hall
Lewiston Hall
#17 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1 reviews
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores

Address: 3025 W 1st St, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-2710
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range: £38 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores is a limited service hotel featuring clean, affordable, and centrally located rooms. We feature both standard and kitchenette rooms. The kitchenette rooms feature A microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The bed types are Queen, King, and Double+Double. Each room is cleaned daily and with a smile. The beds are by Serta and the A/C is cold. We have limited WIFI access for free to guests and fax services. In addition, we have recently began changing our televisions to flat screens and are more than 50% complete. The property is easily accessed from Hwy 59 in Gulf Shores, well groomed, 1.5 miles from the Gulf Shores beaches and around the corner from LuLu's at Homeport Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores
Country Hearth Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing