We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
north Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hubs and I paid $41 per night for this hotel. At this price, I don't expect the Plaza. And that's OK. The room was clean and neat as a pin, the sheets were clean and the bed was about as comfortable as any hotel bed.
Amenities? TV with several HBO channels, coffee pot, hairdryer. Some rooms do have a fridge and microwave -- the website will tell you if yours does. They are doing renovations and it looked like our room had been freshened up with carpet and paint.
We had no problems with housekeeping. Our bed was made, and our towels were replaced. The garbage was emptied and they replaced the decaf coffee packet.
The only thing was we were right across the hall from the ice machine. If we had stayed more than two nights, I'd have asked to be moved, but we lived with it. Also, the corporate website said the motel had a business center, but it didn't. However, I was able to do what I needed to do online at the Gulf Shores Public Library.
The Microtel is about half a mile from the Intracoastal Waterway bridge, which is the real defining line for the "resort" part of Gulf Shores. It's about five minutes from the public beaches. This is not a bad thing, however. The traffic is not as bad and it's no problem to hop over to the beach any time.
Overall, for a budget-minded traveler, the Microtel is about as affordable as it gets. Pay attention to which amenities your room offers and you'll do well.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not near the ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Microtel Inn G, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay was a pleasant one. We hope to see you n your next trip to Gulf Shores

Andrew Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    317
    298
    144
    107
See reviews for
555
287
55
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I booked with microtel for a quick Christmas shopping trip with my husband. Trying to save money it seemed like a good option. Sadly, it wasn't. We had to climb stairs with our luggage as they do not have an elevator on the property. The room temperature was obviously set on a preset temp of 70. The air conditioner unit said 60, but it was quite warm. The room was very compact reminiscent of the inside of a camper trailer. The beds were hard because there were no box springs, it was a mattress on a board. I was truly only expecting a comfortable clean room, nothing fancy. But this was a joke. Will never stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Microtel Inn G, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced at out hotelIn response to some of your comments I can only say that all of our rooms have AC/Heat units that control the room temperature to an individual's comfort level. If there was in fact a mechanical issue with the AC unit in your room We would have relocated you to a room that would have met your needs had we been notified.We have 2 buildings at our property. One building has rooms with 1 bed ( a single ) and rooms with 2 beds ( a double ). the 2nd building has our suites and dobles. apparently you selected a sinle room. The building your room type is in has 2 floors with no elevator. The 2ndbuilding has 3 floors with an elevator.
While I can only apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to temperature or the fact that you had to climb one flight of stairs, I will unequivocally state that all 125 rooms in our hotel is furnished with a mattress and a box spring . there are no rooms that have only a mattress supported by a "board " as you describe.
Andrew ,
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gulf Shores hotels

Ashland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was well satisfied with my experience at gulf shores Microtel. the value is excellent and I hope they can continue to make affordability a priority in addition the service and cleanliness were good. Altogether a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Microtel Inn G, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Bobby D,

We're excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback.

Sincererly,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANAMA CITY
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We weren't expecting much since this is a budget motel but there were a few things that were unacceptable cheap or not. This is the only time either my wife or I have ever stayed in a motel where housekeeping didn't even enter the room after our 1st night. We didn't want new linens but we did expect the bed to be made, the two towels on the floor to be replaced, the garbage to be emptied and the disposable cups to be replaced. There were two lights one of which didn't even have a bulb in it. The alarm clock would make random strange noises until we finally unplugged it. My wife had to get off the toilet to be able to reach the toilet paper where the holder was installed, I could barely reach it by stretching. The wifi was pathetic and dropped the connection constantly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Microtel Inn G, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Ken S,

I would like to thank you for your review.Our hotel's policy is to offer housekeeping service to each guest on a daily basis. The fact that your room was overlooked is something that will be forwarded to our housekeeping supervisor and in turn to the entire housekeeping team. Please accepy my apology . We will work on training the housekeepers to notice things like missing light bulbs and faulty equipment such as radios and televisions. In both of these cases a call to the front desk would have resulted in replacing a bulb or moving you to a room that suited your needs better. Our goal is to make our guests happy and to provice quality service at a reasonable price. Your feedback is very valuable to us.

Sincerely,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
3.2 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
3.9 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#16 of 20 in Orange Beach
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Address: 3600 Gulf Shores Pkwy, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-2720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn & Suites Gulf Shores, Alabama. With our beautiful 'sugar white' beaches and emerald green waters just 3 miles to the sugar white sand beaches of Gulf Shores. We are conveniently located on Highway 59. This allows us easy access to both Interstate's I-10 and I-65 and major metropolitan cities, Mobile and Pensacola. Situated in the heart of uptown Gulf Shores, you will find us adjacent to Colonial Pinnacle's shopping & dining development and Craft Farms award-winning Arnold Palmer signature golf courses & spa. World famous Lucy Buffett's Lulu's is just down the road, where live music, good food and panoramic marina views allow you to sample some of our unpretentious deep-south culture. All of our guest rooms are non smoking. We offer quality budget accommodations in Gulf Shores. Add that to our fitness room, renovated outdoor pool, free continental breakfast, free WiFi, free parking (plenty of room for busses)great location to Gulf Shores, Foley and Orange Beach Sports Complexes you will know why we are a popular spot! Sorry no pets allowed. Service animals are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Gulf Shores
Microtel Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Microtel Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing