We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach Stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Beach Stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

High Price for outdated rooms and no ice available in ice machines. Bed was very good and location was great, but for the price I paid, I'll look for alternate accommadations on my next trip to the beach,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    267
    131
    90
    72
See reviews for
461
340
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We just left and wish we could have stayed longer. The location was great, the staff was very friendly. The only issue was the bathroom was a little small. But I could deal with that. I was surprise they had a stove in the room. We cooked a few meals which saved us some money. The pools and hot tubs were great! The rooms were clean and big. I only wish the waterfall would have been on in the pool. Can't wait to come back here again! Thanks for making our family trip a memorable one!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Loulou201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for all of your feedback! That certainly has to be our number one complaint from guests that their stay with us just isn't long enough! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I just checked out and I really didn't want to leave. The location is great. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfy. The only bad thing was the bathroom is very small. All the rooms have balconies and we paid extra for an oceanview. There was also a stove top and mini fridge and microwave in the room which I wasn't
expecting. One more thing if u book online u may find a cheaper rate. I saved about$30.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberzth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We paid extra (worth It) for a room with a beach view. Wonderful. It was super close to everywhere we wanted to go. Too bad somebody dumped in the pool, It had to be shut down the last 2 days we were there, The grotto was cool, but I noticed what should have been a waterfall wasn't working, and hasn't been for an obviously long time. The price was a little high, compared to a condo, but... they had a vacancy, so we were lucky to get a room at such short notice.

Room Tip: Smoking allowed on 6th floor only- smokers unite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for all of your feedback! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We loved this place. Room was spacious, clean and loved the wicker decor. Front desk staff were super nice. First time for us in Gulf Shores and we loved the area, sun, golf and attractions. The restaurant was very convenient for a great breakfast before heading out to beach. We would rent 2 chairs and unmbrella for the day and it was so nice. We just took our little of refreshments to our chairs with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny66611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for all of your feedback! Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and am so happy to hear that we were able to achieve that for you! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodridge, IL, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay of 4 nights at this hotel on the Gulf Shores Beach. The BW is an older building that has been rehabbed; our room was a long good-sized room with a kitchennete with a small dated bathroom, and a very good balcony facing the beach. The older of the 2 buildings that we stayed in didn't have a direct access to the lobby; you had to go outside and enter through a canopy type passage way to the stairs to the lobby with a great Island Restaurant next to the lobby--serving breakfast/lunch from 6 am to 2 pm. Great food, good service, great view of the beach, good prices. Had all breakfasts there. Surprised by the prices, but worth it for 4 days. Heard rates are much, much better in September, October while weather is still enjoyable. Being a very few of the guests/tourists from the Northern States that we ran into, the people down there from the Southern States couldn't have been more genuinely friendly and courteous. This area is so much better overall for friendly people, great beaches, great restaurants compared to the west and east side areas of Florida that we have been to many times over the years. Highly recomend staying at the BW on the Beach and going to the Gulf Shores Beach area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Larry J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for all of your feedback! We hear so often from our guests how our customer service is unlike anywhere else they have been, you cant beat southern hospitality and a great beach location. And you are correct, October is a great time to Gulf Shores, we hope to see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacombe, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I realize that you are paying for locaion, but I do expect a clean room and things not be broken in it. Our room had a broken phone and freezer in room, maintenance didn't show up for 24 hours to fix, after kids in bed. The lamp shade was stained and nasty looking. The front desk was always out of pool towels. Also, when we checked in, we had to change rooms because they were still waiting on sheets for our room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN on the Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Blvd., PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing