We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Clawson, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel has a great location, beautiful view of the ocean. We stayed over two weeks so got to know the entire front desk staff, also housekeeping, and evening maintenance person. All of them were so friendly, caring, and helpful when looking for things to do in the area. Our room was beautiful and so very clean! Beds comfortable, only negative, wished hot tub could have been a little warmer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for all of your feedback! We are thrilled to have had you as our guest for such an extended period of time! Our number one goal is to exceed guest expectations and am so happy we were able to achieve that for you. We do have regulations on how hot we are able to keep our indoor jacuzzi at during the summertime that is regularly and daily maintained by our pool professionals. Thank you again and we certainly hope to have the pleasure of your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    288
    146
    94
    78
See reviews for
519
372
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

After I booked the hotel I read the most recent reviews and I was a little worried but we made it here and I have to say I am very pleased! The room smelled like a pineapple when we entered which was great! Bed was very comfortable and everything worked great in the room!
Two problems is that one...most of the staff was not friendly. We met a few that was really nice but the rest couldn't give you the time of day and two...the indoor pool had way too much chlorine!! Gave us a headache just in there a few mins.
I would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aprilmm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killen, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hotel was clean and rooms were nice. Several restaurants and stores within walking distance with beautiful view of the Gulf from Ocean View room. Staff was friendly and Hotel restaurant served an awesome breakfast although a touch pricey.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for all of your positive feedback!! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were put in room 121. The room looked as if it was a closet at some point. The room was in horrible shape. The electrical outlets were broken, the ceiling tiles were not in place, no quarter round in the room, the sliding glass door track was filthy with dirt and dead bugs. There were also white patches all of the walls where they has patched holes but not painted. I have plenty of pictures of the room if anyone is interested. The part that bothered me the most is we were told it was their "honeymoon room" and it was over $200 a night. We have asked for an email address from Best Western to submit the pictures we have but no one at Best Western has provided the information or even responded to my email.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
7 Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trussville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Rooms were clean, but had a very unusual smell. We were close to the venue. Several restaurants to choose form in close proximity. I will most likely stay there again. The kids absolutely loved the large pool. good internet reception. so I was also able to work online.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm bay, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed and enjoyed one night at this beachfront hotel. Room was clean, employees friendly and enjoyed the beach from my balcony. Enjoyed breakfast at their restaurant. Would go there again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for all of your much appreiciated feedback! One of our favorite things to hear from guests is that they enjoyed their stay and will be returning and I am so glad we were able to accomplish that for you! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nice quality stay right on the beach. Rooms do need updated, but they are clean and well kept. The location and price of this hotel make it worth the stay. Do be aware though that the chairs and umbrellas on the beach are for rent and are not complementary for the guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingOSUCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your very appriciated feedback! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We are currently updating all of our furniture and so we hope we have the pleasure of your return to enjoy all of our hard work! Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Property: Best Western On The Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing