We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Treatment By Employees Comfortable beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Foley, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Treatment By Employees Comfortable beds.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The employees went out of their way to help us load and unload. My sister had a broken ankle and was having quite a struggle loading in and out. They gladly assisted all of us with this and wouldn't take a tip. We felt like we got the Royal Treatment. The beaches are really beautiful and the beds are like sleeping on a cloud. Liked the full size fridge and the convience of the mini kitchen. Will definitely recommend it to friends and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa-Messina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for all of your much appreciated feedback! Your feedback is truly the feedback we strive to hear and am thrilled we exceeded your expectations! We strive to give all of our guests the "royal treatment" for we are humbled and thankful you chose to be our guest! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    270
    132
    91
    72
See reviews for
466
343
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Walls are thin - also had to have maintenance come up and clean fan in bathroom - sounded like a train - seems like there were years of dust built up - fire hazard.....cafe downstairs would not let you charge meal to room - I did not like this...would look elsewhere - even if have to pay a little more

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for all of your much appreciated feedback! We will look into all of your input and we hope for the pleasure of your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

It is not a fancy hotel but it is very nice for a budget hotel. It's a 3 star type hotel but in that class it is one of the better ones I've seen recently. The Amazing view of the beach, clean room (much cleaner than I've seen at similar class hotels in the past), comfortable beds, very friendly staff, and reasonable parking. Rooms are smallish but not overly so. The hotel is two separate buildings that are not connected so it is a bit awkward to get to the West building (I think it is the older building).

Non-smoking rooms are abundant but be aware that the balconies of the older building are over a parking area and several other guests seemed to think that was the perfect place to smoke like chimneys (why do you even book a non-smoking hotel/room if you are a smoker?). That meant a gauntlet of smoke to the elevator from the beach and that the smoke travels up the balconies sometimes. Not the hotel's fault, completely the fault of the rude smokers, but be aware.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or up gives a great view without a lot of noise. Definitely worth the extra to get beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustAnotherPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently; our third stay at this location. It's not fancy, but we love it. Why?

1) Great location. It's on the beach. We love being able to walk out to our rented beach chairs and umbrella and cart all of our stuff easily to the beach and back. Also great to be so close to walk back to the room and fix a quick lunch (fridge, microwave, pots and pans, plates, flatware in the room)

2) Super comfy beds. We've stayed at fancier and more expensive places with horrible beds. Getting a good night's sleep is more important to us than posh decor.

3) Wonderful, friendly staff. Every staff person we have met goes out of their way to give a friendly greeting and make helpful suggestions for restaurants, give directions, etc.

4) Coincidence or not, something wonderful happens to us every time we stay here. Their sign out front says, "prayer works," referring to a hurricane their building survived years ago (if I remember the story correctly I was told years ago). That prayer seems to be working for us too!

Room Tip: I like third floor ocean view in the part of the hotel that only has 3 floors. Have not stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, AL, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed at this location twice and look forward to another stay next year. We love the location because it is right on the beach in the heart of Gulf Shores stores and restaurants. A great place to walk the beach in the morning and watch the beautiful sunsets in the evening. The staff is very helpful in making sure that our stay was as good as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for all of your much appreciated feedback! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff exceeded your expectations, that is certainly our number one goal; guest satisfaction! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were on the 6th floor of the older building; I thought the room seemed smaller than the one In the newer building I had stayed in previously. However, the ocean view was excellent and for two people the room was just fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank elisia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beechgrove, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

we were so impressed by this Hotel CLEAN!! Bed was Great!!! Employees were wonderful, we will be back,, ,Great price also! The location was perfect! Really all around just Perfect1 Thank you for a great place to visit<3

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Boyde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you so much for all of your positive feedback! These are certainly the guest experiences we strive to achieve. I am so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN on the Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Blvd., PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing