We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, minimal amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for Hangout Fest. The hotel was in the perfect spot, right next to the fest, didn't have to walk far. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, but the restaurant was slow and very poorly run with mediocre food. Waffle House across the street was much faster and the food was the same (if not better) quality. I paid $349/night because of the peak season (Festival) and it was mostly worth it because I had a BEAUTIFUL ocean view (and very short walk to the fest), but it was still very expensive with so few amenities. I would've expected at least a small continental breakfast at that price. It was also very frustrating that, when we asked for a luggage cart, they did not retrieve it for us but told us to fetch it from a building next door. I stayed at another Best Western in Florida recently and the amenities were way better (great full continental breakfast and bigger fridge, etc) for only $99/night (granted it was a small town in nowheresville). I would stay there again only for the Hangout Fest though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for all of your feedback! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us during the hangout music festival weekend. We always book out quickly and rooms are in high demand that weekend for the comfort and convenience we offer and provide our guests that fun filled weekend. Thank you again for your feedback and I am happy to hear you hope to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
There are newer reviews for Best Western On The Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Pretty hotel, nice rooms. Had a room on ocean front, most seem to be. Nice beach in front for walking and sitting. Would recommend going to LuLu's to eat. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were many tall buildings but most were condos it would be nice if there were fewer lights so you could gaze at the stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for all of your much appreciated feedback! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. So many of our guests describe their vacationing our sugary white sands here on the Gulf of Mexico an unforgettable experience and I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed yours! Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

If you want valet parking, a concierge, etc., this is not your place. If you want a hotel on the beach that is clean, well maintained, a pleasant staff and a great breakfast restaurant, this is the place. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Loren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for your much appreciated feedback! So many of our guests as yourself enjoy the comfort and convenience we provide for our guests to enjoy a simple and relaxing beach getaway destination. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I want to say how wonderful the front desk and house keeping staff were to us on our recent stay at Best Western in Gulf Shores, Alabama. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and to meet any need such as forgotten toiletries, extra creamer for coffee, extra towels, etc. I would recommend them anyday. If you are looking for a place that has the friendliness of a small town yet located in a tourist setting, and a place with with hometown service with a smile, this is the place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very good value for a gulf front room,over looking the pool white sand beach and gulf. Room was clean and quite. Within walking distance of three restaurants. Hotel info said restaurant opened for breakfast at 6:00am but it didn't open till 7:00.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for all of your much appreciated feedback! Being located in the heart of Gulf Shores, so many of our guests enjoy the conveinience we have to offer. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to take a moment to say what a pleasant stay I had at Best Western on the Beach. The room was absolutely lovely! It was clean, beautifully furnished with new furniture & the bed and pillows were ever so comfy! All of the staff, from housekeeping and maintenance to the front desk clerks and management, were so courteous and helpful. If you are looking for a great hotel at a great price in a great location, Best Western on the Beach in Gulf Shores, AL is the place to be!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for all of your much appreciated and positive feedback! We work hard year round to ensure guest experiences such as yours and so I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We hope for the pleasure of your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Convenient, comfortable beds, easy access to the beach. Indoor/outdoor pools, jacuzzis. Restaurant on-site with excellent pancakes/breakfast. Older building, so wall outlets not as plentiful as more modern facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for all of your feedback! Our number on goal is to exceed guest expectations and I am so glad to hear we were able to accomplish that for you! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
357 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
2.9 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 25 in Gulf Shores
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range: £82 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing