We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Prattville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable beds”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was very happy with our stay, other than the fact that we could only stay one night because of the inflated summer pricing. Staff was helpful, beds were heavenly, and loved having an oceanfront balcony.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank elisia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    288
    146
    94
    78
See reviews for
519
372
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first visit to Gulf Shores and we loved it! Beautiful beach, family friendly met with smiles everywhere we went in town. The Best Western was very clean, very helpful staff, right on the beach. We had a beautiful view from our balcony. I would highly recommend to anyone thinking about a beach vacation.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are worth it if you enjoy sitting and just watching the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loucindy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel room is nice, and beds are very comfortable. One issue is the balcony light does not go off and the light from it made it seem like it was daylight out every time I woke up and looked toward the balcony door. The mini fridge is MINI and does not hold much but did work great. The view on Oceanside was great. The walk down to the beach not too bad. They only have one floor for smokers and you can't even smoke on the balconies on the lower floors. They do provide a nice, breezy smoking area with chairs and a partial view of the beach. Heather at the front desk was great as was all the other staff we interacted with. Small hotel which also made for a pleasant experience. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, ask for the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel has a great beach front. Easy to access. Close to area activities. The room was large and had a great view of the beach. Coffee in the room was good, quite naturally as it was not Starbucks. Road noise or other noise was not noticeable. Staff was very good and polite. Parking was great, right at the front door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank luv2eat06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I would like to thank everyone who we had contact with at the hotel. Tammy and Heather are were the most friendly people I have ever encountered when entering a hotel. All of the staff was very friendly and greeted you with a smile and ask if they could do anything for you. We are very pleased with our stay and will return again. The White's RM308

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perdido, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Love the beautiful white beaches and very clean hotel with a very friendly staff. Island Pancake House offers a great breakfast and overall it's a very nice property. I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville, tx
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was my third stay, here. I wrote a review a few years ago, but wanted to write another one after my most recent stay. I like this hotel. The rooms are nice and they smell fresh and disinfected when you walk in. This hotel is committed to keeping the place maintained well as there were contractors there doing various things while we were there. But this wasn't much of an inconvenience at all. I was glad to see it. The beds are really something special. The mattress was so comfortable! And the linens and pillows were as well. They have these comforters that are so soft. I slept like a baby. The A/C unit was quiet. This room was facing the beach. All rooms facing the beach have a private balcony where you can sit and watch everything during the day, or sit and listen to the waves roll in at night. This hotel is ON the beach. The road runs BEHIND the hotel and condos, not BETWEEN them and the beach. You almost literally step out of the elevator onto the beach. Now, this isn't a new building, but it is well-maintained, the furniture is new and there is a big Samsung flat screen in the room. The only thing I saw in the the room that some might consider unacceptable is a missing tile at the base of the bathtub. Oh, yeah, the shower head is the type that can be handheld. I love those! I had a problem with the TV remote and the front desk enthusiastically took care of it in a hurry. There are two pools- one indoor and one outdoor. Restaurants, amusement parks, and Wal-Mart are all nearby. A couple of things to note- unless anything has changed that I'm not aware of, this place has no work-out room and no free breakfast. And that is the only reason I gave a 4 rating instead of a 5. There is free wi-fi. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: The east end of the hotel sticks out further toward the beach, but not enough to ruin the view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Property: Best Western On The Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing