We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Southaven, United States
1 review
“Nice stay on the beach”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My significant other and I travel alot and have stayed in many hotels. For the price point, this was a good hotel to stay at. We had the room that faced the beach which was quite an awesome view. The staff was friendly every time we came in contact with them. The room itself was comfortable and my better half loved the furniture theme. The only two things we could find that was not up to par there was no room service from the restaurant and the vent in batroom was dirty. I do recommand this hotel for the quick access to the beach and within walking distances to some restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    275
    137
    92
    73
See reviews for
478
358
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We actually had reservations at a different hotel, but it was so bad we had to move. We went to the Best Western and Stephanie at the front desk was SO friendly and helpful! She let us tour a room before we booked it to make sure it was clean and suitable. All staff members were very nice and the room was clean (much more so than our prior hotel!) with beautiful beach front view. This hotel has indoor and outdoor pools and beachfront access. The Pancake House was good, but was a bit overpriced. Also, there are a lot of things to do within minutes of this hotel. Switching to this hotel was our best decision! We also made friends with the New Orleans snowballs stand across the street who gave excellent restaurant tips!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths Station, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very pleased with this hotel, it is in a great location right on the beach. My room was clean with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was nice and clean with a good tub and shower. All the staff was very friendly and I would recommend this hotel .... I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haukur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atmore, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was there for business travel and found the staff as well as the facility to be a great place to stay. The grounds are kept up. Visible parking. The pool is in the middle of the lot which is great it's kinda separate from the beach. The rooms were nice sized and very clean. The maid staff are very attentive as well as management. I had an issue with a key and the manager on duty came to my room with me to be sure the key worked. The bathrooms were spotless. Overall a very great stay.

Room Tip: Pick the room with the jet tub in it. Very relaxing. And it's on the gulf side. Large King suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayski2467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, TX
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've stayed at older beach front hotels and understand they are a different animal. This property is the most overpriced hotel I've ever stayed at. Main pool waterfall does not work, it has been down since the "last hurricane," says the staff. For $300 ($269 + tax + charge for the pack & play for our toddler. The door to the balcony did not close properly due to no maintenance. Bathrooms are a little rough. The location is very good. For $300, offer some sort of service amenity.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BriDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at. Elevators and stairwells are also extremely clean. Beds are comfy. Updated decor (quartz countertops, updated linens and paint colors). The view from our balcony is unbelievable. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darbysweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our experience at the Best Western in Gulf Shores was great. They have made nice updates over the years. And you can not find a better location. It is directly on the beach with plenty of shopping and restaurants near by.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caleb d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for all of your much appreciated and positive feedback! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Property: Best Western On The Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing