We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Lakes Triathlon-Last Minute Reservations”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guntersville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Guntersville State Park Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Guntersville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I called to check availability on Wednesday for a Friday night stay. Thought it would be a simple yes or no answer; I was abruptly transferred to voice mail, but did get a call back within the hour and was told there was a room. Rented site unseen and was very impressed when we arrived for our stay. The location was gorgeous and the lodge was impressive. The staff was a little short at check-in, but lets call it being efficient. They made no attempt at small talk or to welcome us to the lodge, just a fast paced do you have a reservation, you owe $$, and here are the keys to your room. There were no pleasantries or introduction to the amenities; just a slam, bam, thank you mam' approach.
Our room was 2 queen beds and the view was awesome! The beds were comfortable, but one was much softer than the other. We were told at check in that due to a lighting strike we would have control over our own thermostat. Interestingly, we did not find that to be the case. We adjusted the temp to 68 degrees and found the temp never dropped below 74 degrees.
We ate at the hotel restaurant. The seafood buffet was decent; I really enjoyed the catfish. It was light, flakey and moist. However, my daughter ordered pasta from the menu. The alfredo sauce was like soup and the pasta was drowning in it. It also had little to no flavor and was a complete disappointment.
We were in bed by 10pm; hoping to be well rested for the (early morning) competition. At about midnight the fire alarm in our room screeched twice. Of course this jolted all of us out of bed and it took a few minutes to realize everything was ok. We all laid our heads back down only to be jolted back to life again at 12:20am by the same double blast of the fire alarm. We have no idea why this happened, but it was annoying to say the least! The rest of the night was quiet.
We stayed in room 372. There was no balcony, but the large windows offered a wonderful panoramic view of the mountains & lakes. The sunset from this hotel was truly a sight to behold.
In the morning we had plenty of hot water and soft snuggly towels at our disposal. The departure was uneventful. This property is not close to the Mountain lakes triathlon venue, but with over 900 participants getting a room in town was close to impossible at such a late date and based on the reviews we read the motels that did have availability were of no interest to us.
Over all we enjoyed our stay at the Guntersville State Lodge and would stay there again. I am not sure what the deal was with the fire alarm, as we did not have time to stop at the front desk to complain. I hope they get it fixed before the next guest spends the night!

Room Tip: Room 372 had a great view, but no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebrsmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

THE GOOD: 2 night weekend stay catching up with old friends (great time!). The resort was updated in mid to late 2000's and the decor of the public areas is traditional lodge style. The views from the back of the lodge may rival some of the best in the world! Friendly desk and restaurant staff (great southern cooking breakfast buffet for under $10 pp-not exactly calorie friendly :)).

THE NOT-SO-GOOD: The hotel area of The Lodge could really be "something." However, the "renovated" rooms are already showing extreme wear-and-tear. Peeling wallpaper, tired linens, and plenty of burned out light bulbs in our HUGE 2 queen bedded suite (large separate bedroom, bathroom with double sinks, separate bath with shower AND shower stall, and a private water closet, and a living area with a "dry" bar area, frig/microwave, and leather sleeper sofa/club chair/small dining table with four chairs). There seemed to be quite a bit lacking in the housekeeping area (pink ring in toilet-hadn't been cleaned, bugs needed vacuuming in corners of our room and in public areas, last guests' used soap left in the shower). It's a total bummer because this facility is in a prime location and is BEGGING for a large hotel chain to come in and operate the facility instead of being state run. At $204 per night (tax inclusive) I expect operational light bulbs and no pink ring in the toilet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank McBizzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

we think this is a beautiful place to visit. If you get a room please do not get one on the 200-206 or 300-306 because the trees are so tall you cannot see the lake view very well. You can trees but who wants to see the trees we are here for the lake. Otherwise you will like the place and the people here are friendly

Room Tip: do not choose the end that is blocked by the trees. you pay the same as those who have a clear view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chaplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

When our vacation reservations at another location were cancelled 3 days before we were set to arrive, my sister searched the internet and found Lake Guntersville State Park. To our amazement, they had an opening for the very thing we wanted . . . a cabin on a lake. We thought it was a miracle at such short notice so we were willing to take a chance on an unknown.

I must say, we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the park. The lake is huge & the views from the Lodge are breathtaking. We stayed in a 2-bedroom, 2-bath cabin situated on a small cove of the lake. We were well pleased with the accommodations. It's no 5-star hotel, but it was just what we were expecting, a cabin on a lake.

The cabin is not new, but it was clean & well furnished. The furniture, including the beds, was quite comfortable. The bedrooms & the living room have ceiling to floor windows affording a very nice view of the lake. There is a deck across the full length of the lake-side of the cabin with a table and chairs. That's where we spent most of our time. There is also a small charcoal grill just off the deck.

The towels were nice and fluffy and were swapped out each day with clean ones. The kitchen is not ultra-modern, but it has a refrigerator/freezer, microwave, stove, sink, coffee maker & has dishes, cups, glasses, flatware, pots & pans and a few big bowls for food preparation. We were all pleasantly surprised to find the cabins have Wi-Fi since the website hadn't mentioned it.

There were 9 people in our cabin, 4 adults, 5 kids. We knew there would not be enough beds for all of us so we brought along air mattresses. All slept comfortably, except for our granddaughters who had to tolerate our snoring. lol

In addition to the cabins and rooms at the Lodge, the park has a camping and an RV area. There is a beach area where you can swim in the lake, a pier from which you can fish, numerous hiking trails (of which, I must admit, no one in our party took advantage), an 18-hole golf course which the guys said was beautiful and challenging (especially for flatlanders from Florida and Louisiana.) We were able to fish right from the bank below our cabin & there was even a fish-cleaning station nearby for the nice bass they caught.

I wasn't certain if our teenage granddaughters would fully appreciate the park, but they loved it! We visited the Lodge each day as the facilities there are open to all guests staying in the park. There's a swimming pool, (small but refreshing on a hot July day), a workout room which includes a sauna & showers and lots of lobbies and decks for exploring and enjoying the view. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful but not intrusively so.

Overall, our entire group found Lake Guntersville State Park to be a genuine treasure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was our second stay at the Guntersville State Park Lodge. The rooms are very nice. The best feature is the private balcony/patio that each room has, so be sure to request a room with a view of the lake (second floor rooms face the parking lot). The restaurant in the lodge is nice and the pool is great!

You can easily spend your entire trip in the state park, but I recommend also checking out Top O The River restaurant, Rock House Eatery, and High Falls waterfall.

Room Tip: Floors 1 and 3 view the lake. 2nd floor views parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed one night in June while visiting the Space and Rocket Center. I've stayed at a lot of nice state parks, but this is easily the nicest facility. The lodge was apparently gutted and renovated in 2004, and they must have spent some serious bucks. The rooms were definitely above the typical state park grade and more in line with a moderately nice hotel: very spacious, clean, good AC, comfortable beds, granite counters, heavy gauge doors, and a gorgeous view of the huge lake. The public areas of the lodge were decked out in innumerable leather wingback chairs and ottomans, and there were several large fireplaces. Along with the exposed wood beams and taxidermy mounts, this gave it a masculine and "updated rustic" feel. We ate breakfast in the dining room: the food and our waitress were both good. I highly recommend this place for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ucancallmeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had stayed in the lodge several times about 10 or so years ago. We went back with our grandchildren for a mini vacation and wanted the extra room of the cabins. They were extremely out dated! Holes in the curtains and and, just in general, old. Nice view. The towels were nice, however. It was like a fishing cabin, I would think. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guntersville
7.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Guntersville
Hampton Inn Guntersville
#1 of 5 in Guntersville
441 reviews
8.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Albertville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Scottsboro
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Albertville
Quality Inn Albertville
#4 of 4 in Albertville
32 reviews
17.6 mi away
Quality Inn Arab
Quality Inn Arab
#1 of 1 in Arab
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Guntersville State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Guntersville State Park Lodge

Address: 1155 Lodge Drive, Guntersville, AL 35976-8127
Region: United States > Alabama > Guntersville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Guntersville
Price Range: £46 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Guntersville State Park Lodge and Park is nestled atop Taylor Mountain and over looks Lake Guntersville reservoir. Including zip lines, an 18-hole golf championship golf course, 38 miles of trails for biking, hiking, and horse trails, campgrounds, beach complex, boat rentals, activity center and nature activities, restaurant, lounge, and event venues, this destination has something to offer all ages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Guntersville State Park Hotel Guntersville
Lake State Park Guntersville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing