We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nautical lobby decor”
Review of Key West Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key West Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Clean, neat & tidy everywhere and located on an I-22 exit on the outskirts of town. Rooms are clean, but nothing fancy. Beds were OK and clean, but not the luxurious linens we really appreciate. Towels were the whitest, fluffiest hotel towels we have ever seen - LOVED them.

We didn't eat the breakfast, so have no idea what was even offered.

We'd stay here again if in the area, especially after we drove by the other hotels in town. THIS location is American owned and operated, which is important to us.

Room Tip: All ground floor ... 100% non-smoking motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

I took my family here in Oct of 2011. We loved everything about it-I dont go to hotels for the breakfast, and understand that is just an "extra". If I had them hold a room-I absolutely would not expect them to refund the room for reservation cancel-after all they cant rent it out because of MY reservation. Thanks Key West

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanwooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Desk clerk very nice,friendly and helpful.Room clean however found a hair on sheet when turning first bed back. Walls not very sound proof.Large room with nice fixtures and nice bath area.Sink was a little slow to drain.Breakfast left a lot to be desired consisting only of cold pastry and juice or coffee. No computer center available.Probably newest facility in area and with a little effort could be very nice but as is not great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xrayhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark084, Owner at Key West Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

    We are family-owned and want to provide a room that is "utmost" as clean as possible ... that we would want our children to stay in. Internally, we are always at high-alert for anything that is not perfect.
    Our breakfast has several types of premium pastries, premium juices, and premium coffee. Our breakfast is a careful descision based on industry information, guest feedback, and personal experience.
    Since very few people eat a full breakfast at home, almost all prefer not to be "forced" to pay for and eat a full breakfast while traveling. The lodging industry reports an average increase in room rate of $17 per room at "free" full breakfast hotels. Since it was paid for the night before, the cost has been forgotten by morning.
    People who normally don't eat breakfast usually will then eat breakfast simply because it's paid for, they can't take it with them, and they don't want to walk out and leave it on the table. Certainly "Free Breakfast" is a deceptive illusion.
    We believe our breakfast is a great way to start a day.
    Thank you for your business and feedback. Your feedback shapes the service and hospitality that we are here to provide. Key West Inn of Hamilton ... Clean, Secure, Reasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

we reserved 2 rooms 3 weeks ahead of time they were to be next door to each other arrived one room was downstairs one up . their answer was well we have a reunion staying with us they did change and got us close in room 1 remote never did work they tried at checkout said they had fixed it NO they didn't also the vent in bathroom didn't work Now for room 2 this is the kicker besides lights that didn't work we all went away in the mornign when we returned that evening the fridge had 3 beers and 2 soft drinks missing their answer was , well they probably thought you had checked out LOL so why leave 1 beer and 1 soft drink?? they had no answer we won't be staying here again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark084, Owner at Key West Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

- Guest called front desk late to extend stay. Room had been cleaned as a “check-out” rather than a “stay-over.” Refrigerator was cleaned out by housekeeping.
- Guest booked last two rooms available during a family reunion that had been planned months in advance - it was not possible to give them the rooms that had been rented by other guests.
- TV remote issue was reported at check-out. If guest had reported it at the time of incident, we would have replaced the batteries.
- Bathroom vent does work properly. Bathroom vents work from 5 central units. It does not make a noise, but works perfectly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had a reservation originally for October 11, but had to change our plans because of illness. I called and made a new reservation and cancelled the old one by phone. Then I was contacted by e-mail with two reservations for the same night. I e-mailed back that we only needed one reservation for one room. I got an e-mail in return confirming that our reservation was for Oct 17 checking out on Oct 19 and they looked forward to seetin us then. We actually arrived October 16 and were able to get a room for that night and stayed until October the 20th. Today, October 26, 2011 I found a charge from Key West for the night of the 11th. They would not remove the charge, even though I had e-mails giving our arrival date as October 17, so we had to pay a no show night for their not cancelling our October 11 reservation. Wanda

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark084, Owner at Key West Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

We are sorry for your inconvenience. We have been unable to verify or identify the source of this problem but have contacted the reservation service for answers. Certainly you will not have to pay for an unrestricted reservation that you have cancelled. Someone from the hotel will call you and resolve this matter to your satisfation.

Key West Inn of Hamilton is American-Owned and operated. Our goal is to take care of any issues once they are presented to us. We provide clean, secure, and reasonable rooms based on American values and standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I've brought groups to Hamilton to attend The Ramp for years now. This weekend was the first time using this hotel. We will be back. The rooms are hands down THE best rooms in town. Facilities were very nice & well kept, especially in comparison. The only down side, be warned pastors, youth pastors, leadership, while the rooms are the best, the breakfast is easily the worst. Your teens will not be satisfied. I would recommend you increase your groups breakfast options with a trip to Walmart & take advantage of the microwave & frig in the room. That's our plans for our next visit…

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ythpstr2k7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

An excellent motel offering exceptional value tucked away beside interstate 22 between Tupelo MS and Birmingham AL. Large spacious rooms with desk, refrig, microwave, iron w/board, and plenty of outlets for electronic gadgets. Clean wide interior halls with security cameras throughout. Large clean bathroom with plenty of towles. We are retired and traveling the entire U.S. by car. We made a reservation from the car about 50 miles away on their 8OO number. When we arrived in our room we found the A/C had been turned on for us at the time of booking. Our room was nice and cool -- a nice touch. Easily 3 stars and another star for the low price. A real find -- 4 stars for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George_and_Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Guin
Holiday Inn Guin
#1 of 2 in Guin
117 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winfield
Hampton Inn Winfield
#1 of 2 in Winfield
345 reviews
2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#1 of 4 in Hamilton
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hamilton Holiday Motel
Hamilton Holiday Motel
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Key West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn

Address: 224 River Road Dr, Hamilton, AL 35570-6887
Region: United States > Alabama > Hamilton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £51 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Key West Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Inn of Hamilton is a new 2008 property, nicest hotel for 100 miles at the same rate as the run-downs. We re the only hotel on US 78 / I-22 in a 150 miles span. Family owned by local folks with a good standing in the community. We offer spacious, clean rooms & wide parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IBC Hospitality, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Key West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing