We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously???? I would not recommend staying here!!”
Review of Key West Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key West Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Eclectic, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seriously???? I would not recommend staying here!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Although our room was clean...Wifi didn't work in our room, the bathroom vent didn't work, and we were overcharged $30.00 for our room after being told we were getting a discount because my husband is a deputy sheriff. We spoke with the front desk and tried to get the matter resolved before leaving but was told by the front desk clerk, after she acknowledged we were overcharged, that there was nothing she could do about it because she was the only one there and the manager and/or owner could not be reached. I have yet to get a response from them regarding this after several attempts to reach them by phone and sending an email.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
We take your comments very serious such that we investigated and reviewed your check-in and check-out videos and inspected your room.
- You were given the government employee rate exactly as you requested and agreed to at the time of check-in.   - The lady who checked you in thoroughly discussed the discount with you, you requested and received the government employee discount, you verbally agreed to that specific dollars-and-cents rate, and then signed the bill exactly as discussed.
- At check-out you aggressively argued for a change-of-rate. Even after foul language was used toward the young lady at the counter, she DID NOT state that you were overcharged as stated in your review.
- I am sorry that you were unable to connect to our WiFi. Our monitoring system shows we haven't had even a temporary an outage in quite some time. However, had you brought this to our attention, our 24-hour staff would have investigated immediately and reported back to you. Usually non-connecting devices will connect once restarted. Internet usage has no limits and is unpassworded.
- Our bathroom vents are silent, but work perfectly from a central system. They have never once failed. Even though our system lets us know when maintenance may be needed, we double-checked and affirmed that your room was in good order. If you had let us know that you believed there was a problem, we would have addressed your concern immediately. It's our guarantee.
We are an American-owned hotel. We offer clean rooms (three-inspection process) at a very competitive rate as other travelers can see at this site. Any concerns brought to our attention are addressed as quickly as possible to guarantee a trouble-free stay with us.
Since our franchise is not a big-name mega-franchise, we must go-the-extra-mile to to prove ourselves everyday ... to compensate for the false sense-of-accountability that the big-name properties have.
   Clean - Secure - Competitive Rates ... American-Owned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    25
    13
    3
    13
See reviews for
26
15
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington TN
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was spotless. I stayed on a Saturday night, and it was very quiet. I didn't hear any noise above me or in the hallway. The check-in and check-out were very quick, and the staff was very courteous and helpful I'm not a big fan of continental breakfasts, so I simply walked next door to the Huddle House for breakfast which was reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to a friend who might be traveling to this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArlingtonSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you very much for staying and thank you for letting other travelers know what to expect.

We are doing our best to offer clean, secure, and reasonable rooms. All rooms are inspected twice after the housekeeper finishes to make sure that you have a room that we would stay in with our own families.

Also, all TVs were replaced last week with 32" LCDs, The channel system was also upgraded so that there are about 70 channels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The hotel is very nice and has curbside appeal with beautiful flowers and decor. Check in was ok but not without some problems. The rooms do not have HDTV, but one from like 20 years ago. The color was so light we could barely watch it. Our friends room had the same type tv with a horrible green color so they need to upgrade the televisions. Also no luggage cart so be prepared to drag your bags. Breakfast is a pastry with 2 juices and coffee. Maybe try some doughnuts or something to add a little variety as everyday has the same exact thing. The room was clean except for comforter stains. The microwave and fridge were very nice. Ice machine is clean and works great. The walls are thin so if you have somebody above you on the 2nd floor u can hear them. I recommend if you can lug your bags upstairs to stay on that level. Parking lot is well lit and very clean. Staff was very friendly and housekeeping did a good job. Wifi was fast and dependable. Bathroom had no working fan so bring some spray if your traveling with others. Shower was nice and clean. Pillows were ok and heat was adequate for the weather. The lack of a good tv and no luggage cart will probably make me stay in the next town over at the Hampton. Some things u just cant do without and HDTV is it for my family.

Room Tip: 2nd floor if you can carry your bags as it seemed quieter as the noise radiates down to the 1st floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigStickInAFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for the nice things that you have reported about us and our hotel for people who are researching the best value in Hamilton.

We work very hard to keep this hotel rated the best in the county according to state inspectors. We also work very hard to keep the rates as reasonable as possible ... about half that of the competitor that you mention.

Part of this rate-vigilance is by not forcing a full breakfast on guests most of whom have let us know that they are not looking for a full breakfast. Our premium pastries, juices, and coffee provided by Royal Cup are a quick and great way to start the day. For the occasional guest who needs a full breakfast, there is a restaurant only steps away that specializes in breakfast.

Our bathroom vents work perfectly and have never once failed. They work from a silent system and are much preferred to individual motors in the rooms. If you have ever had a problem with your TV, let us know, we normally fix any issues within minutes since we are on staff 24/7.

Additionally, we are proud to say that we are American-Owned by an owner who is not two states over and struggling with dozens of hotels, but pays attention to every room at Key West Inn in Hamilton.

We strive for CLEAN (rated the best), SECURE (never once an issue), and REASONABLE (see for yourself while you are online) rooms. We strongly believe that we are by far the best value within 75 miles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay. We stayed one night and came back the next night. The staff is really nice and helpful. If you plan to stay on a weekend night you should call ahead as it might be an event weekend . FYI : The Huddle House is right next door
and have great food. Heard some guy say he had driven 50 miles for breakfast.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to let researching travelers know about us. This is our exact goal when we built here ... clean, secure, & reasonable. We are the only hotel in the county (at least a 75-mile radius) that has gotten a 100 from the Alabama Department of Health. Thank you again ... and yes, the Huddle House is a great place for a good meal 24-hour a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

A nice little place to sleep, very quiet and easy to park etc.

Breakfast was very sugary, with muffins. Not a big fan of that, but it was included with the room. Service/staff were good and friendly.

If you are interested in nature, this is about an hour's drive to the beautiful Will B. Bankhead National Forest, and the nearby town of Hamilton has a few good chinese buffet type restaurants.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Soren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you very much for letting the other travelers know about us. We are not a big-name franchise, so many travelers over look us. Just the opposite, personal care is taken when the owner is not two states over and the manager has 6 properties to care for. We strive to give you a good night's rest at a competitive rate. We want to provide a place that you can stop-over while travelling through or stay while in Hamilton ... that you would be proud and confident to bring your family to. We have clean rooms, competitive rates, secure area, great wi-fi, parking-o-plenty, and conveniences next door. - - The Bankhead National Forest and the Sipsey River Trails are a great surprise ... great exercise either for an hour or for three days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We weren't sure how far we wanted to travel on our way home from FL, but found a coupon in the TN hotel coupon book advertising "we match (our competitors') coupons" and decided to test it out. Sure enough, got the nicest room for $50 and the young man at the desk treated me very well. Exceptionally clean and quiet, micro and fridge, and right on the highway next to a gas station so we could get going quickly again. And the hummingbirds were cool :) Really glad we stopped!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myinfo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are doing our best to provide all of our guests with what we expect when we travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clermont,fl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

They over charged my card and refuse to refund my money they are thieves and the place is very creepy to boot. STAY AWAY. ...Management and Ownership do not care about repeat business. They want to catch you on you way through. They are small town and small minded. They carpet looks like you are in a cheap office. The Breakfast is absoulutely nothing but coffee and some apple pies in a bag. Pass by this one go to one of the known chains.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shawn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
- Person does not dispute that he did not show for a guaranteed reservation.
- Person was charged as agreed.
- Person vowed to damage reputation of the hotel.
- Rules of this website do not allow supporting emails to be printed here.

Our employees read a script to all guests making reservations. Those employees then initial that script line-by-line as the script is read. This is all done at the front desk where the security system records the employee reading this script to verify that the employee has performed their job properly. This individual was charged according to the reservation agreement.

Please note that this person is a one-time hit-and-run reviewer. Please consider the postings from our guests who pay as agreed.

- We are a family-owned hotel with roots in the local community.
- Key West Inn is an American-Owned hotel that promotes the same values that we all grew up expecting in a hotel.
- We have just been rated as the cleanest hotel in Marion County (99/100) as inspected by the State of Alabama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Guin
Holiday Inn Guin
#1 of 2 in Guin
108 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winfield
Hampton Inn Winfield
#1 of 2 in Winfield
324 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#1 of 4 in Hamilton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hamilton Holiday Motel
Hamilton Holiday Motel
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
11 reviews
10.9 mi away
No photo provided
Relax Inn Guin
#2 of 2 in Guin
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn

Property: Key West Inn
Address: 224 River Road Dr, Hamilton, AL 35570-6887
Region: United States > Alabama > Hamilton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Key West Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Inn of Hamilton is a new 2008 property, nicest hotel for 100 miles at the same rate as the run-downs. We re the only hotel on US 78 / I-22 in a 150 miles span. Family owned by local folks with a good standing in the community. We offer spacious, clean rooms & wide parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Key West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing