We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel, great location, staff and price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
aloft Birmingham Soho Square
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Blahleigh, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, great location, staff and price!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We checked in on Nov. 21 to a lovely, comfortable room. Traveling alone with a small child can be tedious at best but with the hotel staff being as accommodating and friendly as they were during our stay, I can honestly say it made our entire trip much less stressful than it could have been. The rooms' decor is modern and trendy but extremely functional. Our coffee pot did not work but we had a replacement sent to our room within 10 minutes. Even though the weather was less than perfect, we were fortunate enough to be in a location within short walking distances of numerous restaurants, a grocery and even a pharmacy. Our staff, from the front desk attendants to the custodial staff were all very professional, efficient, helpful and friendly. We 'd only planned on staying one night but were so impressed, we booked an extra night. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we visit Birmingham, or any city that has an aLoft hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank VelvetJaneStaccato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Poe, Starwood Hotels at aloft Birmingham Soho Square, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear VelvetJaneStaccato,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the entire experience to be positive. We hope that the next time you come to Birmingham you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    107
    52
    23
    19
See reviews for
53
49
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Checked in nov 21 w icicles in the hall near our room 501... Was told they were having a problem ....no hot water after dinner at 9:15pm....had to get the remote replaced BC the change channel button only operated in the "down channel" position...at least Garrett a the front desk was cordial

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smithy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftHomewood, General Manager at aloft Birmingham Soho Square, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Smithy077:

Please accept my apologies for the multiple issues you encountered during your visit to my hotel. We pride ourselves on offering outstanding services and accommodations. Clearly we missed that mark during your visit. Please reach out to me at Elaine.Powell@AloftBirminghamSohoSquare.com to arrange for a return visit as my guest. I look forward to showing you the hotel of which we are so proud the next time travel brings you to Birmingham.

Sincerely,
Elaine Kirk Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

this is an excellent hotel- in a very cute neighborhood. Its good sized, modern, the rooms are very new, the bathrooms impeccable, the bed, linens and pillows; absolute heaven. There is free parking outside; wait, really? yes!

Its got lots of little design details that make the room comfortable for both business or pleasure. There is also a great bar downstairs. My only complaint and why Im giving it 4 starts out of 5 is that the air conditioner was on the noisy side.

Otherwise I wish all hotels were as well cared for and enjoyable as the rooms at Aloft.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Rooms are nice, free internet. Basically the same as every other Aloft... The TV was big and centrally located on the wall, fitness area is good. I would definitely recommend this easy in and out hotel compared to downtown as you are only 10 minutes away.

Staff was very helpful and the area is great as there are little shops and restaurants that you can walk to. Stay here, its nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discerning-Guest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Aloft is a very comfortable hotel of the newer modern style. At this hotel the personel are super friendly and service is great. Best of all is that there are a number of good restaurants and bars with in easy walking distance of this hotel. A delightful hotel in Homewood, a delightful bedroom suburb of Birmingham.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teak51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Love this section of Birmingham. Quaint shops, restaurants, beautiful area. Stay was great once in the room. I unfortunately arrived very early on a Saturday morning and was unable to check in early but lucked out spending time at nearby coffee shop called Octane with lunch at Little Donkey.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladadida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bressanone, Italy
Level Contributor
158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Friendly and courteous staff, clean and modern rooms and FOR ONCE ENOUGH PLUGS on the nightstands and the working table for all the gadgets a modern traveller caries around! A bit of an industrial flair that I personally like.

Excellent parking. If you arrive early enough you can park free of charge right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: My room faced the backyard parking lot and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzmoedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Poe, Starwood Hotels at aloft Birmingham Soho Square, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear fritzmoedinger,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all the modern amenities that the Aloft brand has tried to include. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time that you are in Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homewood
2.9 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Mountain Brook, Autograph Collection
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Homewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Birmingham Soho Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Birmingham Soho Square

Property: aloft Birmingham Soho Square
Address: 1903 29th Ave S, Homewood, AL 35209-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Homewood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Birmingham Soho Square 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Birmingham Soho Square is a hip new hotel! Enjoy the chic amenities of Soho Square. Walk to great shopping and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your aloft Birmingham Soho Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Birmingham Soho Square Hotel Homewood
Aloft Hotel Homewood
Birmingham Soho Square Aloft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing