We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK stay, not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    90
    85
    40
    26
See reviews for
88
60
40
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

My wife & I are on a road trip from Orlando around the American heartland and stayed here for one night. We pre booked using Expedia and got a rate of $60. Situated about 6 miles from Birmingham's downtown, a bit off the beaten track and I'm glad we had a satnav to find it.

Plenty of parking and a very friendly and helpful reception on arrival. The rooms are on 3 levels with inside corridors and we were given a room on the ground floor close to reception. It seemed recently refurbished and was in excellent condition. Quite spacious room with a comfortable king sized bed, large flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, all the other usual furniture and a clean bathroom.

We had dinner in a recommended nearby eatery called Jim 'N Nick's BBQ and the food and service were both good.

The Expedia price included free wifi, continental breakfast and 24 hour coffee in reception.

I don't know what else anyone would expect for $60 so I give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffers1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molino
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

the stay was good, but the area around the location offered very close eateries or gas stations the refrigerator was constantly making noise. could not figure it out until 7 am; the manager was wiling to change rooms but we were ready to go home

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have been here roughly since May 27th, with only a couple of weeks back home in Oklahoma. I must say the people at Super 8 Birmingham in Homewood, AL are superb!! I had my small dog with me and they were very accommodating for both of us. The owner, Raj, is super nice and extremely polite. Betty and Brenda are wonderful, nice ladies who work the front desk and helped me find fun things to do around the Birmingham area.

During my 3 months stay at the Super 8 Birmingham, I had nothing but a great time and with tremendous service. The only reason I am not staying longer is because I am moving, with my dog, into an apartment here. I strongly recommend this Super 8 location and the people who work here!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbell1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Close to destination. Clean room. Bit of late noise in hallway, but rock concert played the city that night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Gwendolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Spent one night there as a walk in guest. I checked out the room before checking in and found it to be very clean with quality furnishings and a comfortable bed. The prices was fair, very competitive for that area.

Check in was smooth and the desk clerk was friendly and informative.

I was very pleased and will definately stay again when in that area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larioransomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sullivan,Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

It's easy to miss the road to get here, but once you know it isn't too hard. Stayed one night on way through and it was perfect for it. The desk clerk was very nice and spoke to us a while about St. Louis, my hometown and where he had lived for a while. No elevator, so only stairs. Stayed in 215, which was clean. Room looked to have been renovated within past few years. View was the side of the hill hotel is on. Overall, really great for just a night passing through. I'd stay again

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Whatascreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homewood
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#44 of 79 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Wildwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area

Property: Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area
Address: 140 Vulcan Road, Homewood, AL 35209-4702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Homewood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Homewood, Alabama, which is centrally located to Birmingham, AL. Our staff is friendly and helpful. Come stay with us and we will direct you to all of the best locations that Birmingham has to offer. All rooms have Free Wireless High Speed Internet. Fitness Center Available. To start your day, try our Super Start Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area Hotel Homewood
Homewood Super 8
Homewood Super Eight
Super Eight Homewood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing