We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, better service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okinawa

Okinawa
Ranked #7 of 78 Restaurants in Homewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The service was wonderful. Everyone of the servers.waitresses had a smile and used all of the pleasantries of southern hospitality. I had no wait for a table and my food arrived promptly and as ordered. I ordered the spicy crunchy tuna roll and the tofu hibachi dinner. I was very pleased with both things - the sushi had good flavor and texture, as did the rest of the meal. Vegetables weren't over cooked, rice was nice, and the tofu was fantastic! They did a spot on job with the tofu. Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.The dinner also came with a soup (clear soup) and a ginger salad (creamy style to the dressing, but very good). I thought it was a good value and definitely recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank srmcknight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful food displays and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We were in Homewood for a volleyball tournament and found this restaurant behind our hotel. It looked dark and closed, but the open sign was on so we went in. The sushi displays on the trays they served were a work of art. We had the tofu meals with soup and salad and spend around $23 for two of us. Sorry my son wasn't with us to try the sushi but the people around us ate every bite of what they ordered.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ginajns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“An all around great experience for all taste.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We had extended family in town for the holidays and wanted to try a sushi/Japanese restaurant. There are so many to choose from in the area that it was hard to decide. We chose Okinawa based on the previous good reviews and we weren't disappointed. The group we took varied greatly in their taste for Japanese. Some eat sushi on a regular basis and some don't care for it at all. We tried a wide variety from the menu from appetizers to sushi to habachi. We were very pleased with everything we tried and everyone found something they liked. The service was outstanding. All the waitresses were attentive and the food came quickly. Needless to say we will be enjoying Okinawa again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, Great Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Staff was very polite and sushi was excellent. I dropped my chopsticks and my waitress seemingly heard it from across the room and had another to me in a flash. Will visit again next time I'm in town.

Helpful?
Thank michaelw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern US
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I dined here in July 2012. Great server, good food, my husband had the hibachi - steak and lobster. I had the shrimp tempura. We both had sushi, really our first time. I chose the deep fried - Godzilla roll and he had the Sunshine roll. Everything was delicious. I highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shondad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okinawa also viewed

 

Been to Okinawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing