We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring a camara”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aldridge Gardens

Aldridge Gardens
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Hoover
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Loxley, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bring a camara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I love to take pics and this is a good place to do just that! I loved loved loved this place and would love to go back when it's not 95 degrees outside!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CRH627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oasis ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

One minute you're in the city. The next the country. Beautiful little pond/lake that has a nice walking trail. Great spot for family photos especially in the spring when all the hydrangeas are in bloom!

Helpful?
Thank Alabamagirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful gardens within the city of Hoover. Great place to walk and enjoy nature. Also have great concerts from time to time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HooverTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Nice Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you aren't careful you might drive right past Aldridge Gardens, it is on the corner and the sign can be hidden around a curve until you get right on it. I haven't taken all the trails that go up into the woods on the building side of the lake but I have walked around the lake on both visits, at first it might look overwhelming because you can't always see the end of the little lake or pond but it is very doable and the path tho natural it is very leveled and wide, so much so that you and the regular walkers can pass with little effort on either part. There are slight inclines on the main path but very manageable and not noticeable as you are walking except when you see it visibly. There are few places to sit along the trail and the boat house not only gives you a beautiful view of the water and those who live in and around it but also provides a shaded picnic area. Thru out the year the foliage will be different but I am sure always pretty. It can be busy at times with weddings and other events so you might have to adapt you visit but could not distract much from a fun and mostly peaceful escape from the busy world right outside the parking lot.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katea9tails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talladega, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had been told so many wonderful things about Aldridge Botanical Gardens, and I was completely disappointed!! I was expecting lots and lots of flowers, but there were very few when I was there and this was in April. Birmingham and Atlanta Botanical Gardens both put this one to shame. It was more of a forest than it was flowers, so if you're looking for lots of different flowers - go somewhere else.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bamabrowneyes2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldridge Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Aldridge Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing