We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Birmingham Hoover

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Birmingham Hoover
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hoover
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BED BUGS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stopped here in late October 2011. We were given room 223. I always check for bed bugs and this was the first time I had ever found them! I found a live one in between the mattress and box springs. I took it down to the front desk in a cup and they acted clueless. They didn't know what a bed bug looked like. I told them they needed to google image search after I left and then call an exterminator. I can't believe Marriott isn't training their hotel personnel to be on the look out. We got our refund and RAN out the door. Gross place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 223 and check your beds carefully. Youtube has videos on what to look for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    62
    36
    23
    10
See reviews for
44
29
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed two nights over a holiday weekend. The hotel was very busy, but our room was quiet. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the front desk staff were professional and pleasant. It was a good experience. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earlyriserct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I've stayed here a few times and it's fine. This time my room was great, except the bathroom wall paper was peeling off. Also, they did not leave any soap or shampoo in the room. The staff was great, the breakfast was pretty good. The wireless was good as well. Great restaurants very close. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
147 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

The property is okay, but as a frequent business traveler I often stay at Courtyards because I know exactly what I'm going to get - clean, quiet, comfortable, convenient. This place is quite outdated, and while it's not terrible, it's not quite average either (by normal Courtyard expectations). My room smelled of mold - actually other areas of the hotel had the same smell. Thread bare and stained towels. On the plus side, the room had a newer TV and coffee. I will probably look at a different property next time I'm in the area.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cinncitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Well overpriced for a Marriott Facility. Had to call several times for assistance for the room. Not much attention on the cleaning. Rooms seemed to be turned over and not thorouhly cleaned.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Got a room for $50 through Priceline. The hotel is a bit older, but everything seems to be well maintained. The room was comfortable and quiet. Great beds and lots of pillows! We had access to wireless Internet in the room. Though the pool was closed, we did check out the whirlpool and it was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsc4gators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

The Courtyard in Hoover is a bit dated, but nothing is 'worn out.' Only a breakfast buffet is offered (and a bit pricey for what it is), but they do have the little market off the front desk with snacks and beverages. Pillows in my king room were a bit squishy, but they have updated the TV's and they are all flat screens. The bad news is that they only appear to have WIRED internet service, it is free, but you are tethered.

The staff at the hotel front desk and cleaning team is very nice and friendly. Waitresses, well...you wouldn't guess that they work for tips.

Location of the property is great. Near the galleria mall so you have shopping and tons of dining options. One of the best is right next door at Jim 'n Nick's BBQ and the neighborhood (a business district) all seems pretty safe.

If you are looking for a clean hotel near lots of activities, this would be a pretty good hotel for you. Not much is within walking distance to be prepared to drive, even if it is only 2 or 3 mins. I paid about $87 + tax for the hotel and it was worth that

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoover
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Hoover-Galleria
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham-SW-Riverchase-Galleria
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Birmingham Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Birmingham Hoover

Property: Courtyard Birmingham Hoover
Address: 1824 Montgomery Highway South, Hoover, AL 35244
Region: United States > Alabama > Hoover
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hoover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Birmingham Hoover 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Birmingham Hoover is proud to share our newly renovated state-of-the-art lobby and stylish new guest rooms. This Hoover hotel is just 11 miles from Birmingham's city center and located near the areas’ best shopping, dining and golf courses. The exciting new features at this Hoover, AL hotel include inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Internet access throughout, access to the latest news via our GoBoard and The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.® offering enhanced breakfast, dinner and beverage options. Relax by our outdoor pool. Whether in town for business or fun, we offer exactly what you need for a relaxing and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Birmingham Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Birmingham Hoover Hotel Hoover
Courtyard Hoover
Hoover Courtyard
Hoover Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing