We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like New”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hoover
Carson City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Like New”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

So I walked in to a clean and new looking lobby and I was then told it was six years old. Folks it looks brand new. The rooms were clean and fresh. To top it off the staff was excellent and very helpful. I checked in around 5 pm to find to of the friendlies agents. Great job Hyatt Place, Hoover Alabama.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirgons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    135
    83
    51
    32
See reviews for
170
80
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This property has very easy access with plenty of parking. The exterior is well mannered and it sits right across the street from the mall. Traffic is very steady outfront, but enjoyed watching it all from my room. The hotel is very quiet and the lobby is clean. Regi checked us in and was very nice, mannerly, and met all our needs. He showed us around and we loaded our luggage up and headed to our room. The room was very typical Hyatt Place, but housekeeping was very poor. The bathroom floor was full of all different types and colors of hair. No soap was left by housekeeping and a dirty towel was in the bathroom from the previous guest. The spare blanket was full of hair, stained and just badly needing a wash. The spare pillow had no case and was pitiful, stained, and smelled. The day of our depature the fire alarm went off early in the moringing. We waited for a call or announcement as the it rang steadily. The halls had no staff in it to ask what was going on. Just blinking fire lights. Finally we just went downstairs and asked due to the staff not answering our phone calls. This was all very disturbing. The fire truck arrived reset the alarm and left. The staff seemed to care less that the whole hotel was awaken by fire alarms that early in the morning. The lack of communication was sad. The breakfast was very good, well stocked, and hot. The staff overall seems polite around the manager, but otherwise could care less. The fire alarm problem was evident they had either no training or did not care for their guests. Housekeeping supervisor needs to look on the floors, tubs, and washing. Hyatt may benefit if it went to a more washing the bedspreads and linens for each new guests as its disgusting to find 50 shades of hair.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigStickInAFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Overall, we were not satisfied with our stay. We had such expectations from this hotel as being one of the best and we were wrong. There were so many little things that were not done that turned into big things that didn't make us feel like home away from home like most hotels we have stayed at in the past. The hotel on the outside was very clean and the lobby screamed high quality, but the room was not up to par.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had two rooms booked at this hotel for a youth soccer tournament. Both rooms were booked in my name. On Wednesday prior to arrival on Friday, I contacted the hotel and spoke to a very nice lady. I asked her to change the name on one of the rooms from mine to the team's coach. I then asked her to change the arrival date on the other room from Friday to Saturday. She told me she had made the changes and everything was in order. When we arrived to check in on Saturday, we were told by Caroline (who identified herself as the supervisor) that the room had been cancelled on Friday (the day before). When my husband said there must have been a mistake, she said it was in the computer, the hotel was completely sold out and there was nothing she could do. She then turned around and walked off. Never have we experienced such rude behavior especially by someone who is supposed to be in a supervisory capacity. Fortunately, another employee who was standing nearby offered to help and found a handicapped room that he was able to offer. Since we had no other accommodations, his offer was accepted. We will never stay at another Hyatt Place hotel anywhere and suggest if you decide to book this hotel anyway, you do so at your own risk. We heard others who experienced trouble with their reservations as well. Obviously this particular property needs a more competent "supervisor" who understand the value of good customer service.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent one night in this hotel. It is a clean hotel, good rooms, and great location. However, the single unit AC makes terrible noise. There are several good restaurants near the hotel and movie theater.

Room Tip: If you will turn on the AC, it will be noisy and may make it difficult to sleep, unless you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel was advertised among Holiday Inn, Hampton Inn and alike, but it was a better choice. Of course this is not a luxury hotel, but it was a very good value and nice from many aspects:
...it was designed to be an above standard hotel from a design point of view
...it was new and had a fresh feeling
...free breakfast, internet, parking is not always given in this hotel category
Reception/ service could have been a little better - do not order pastry from the receptionist, she would bake them for you, and they are receptionists, not cooks, trust me

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRozsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for the 5 Star review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Julie Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma, KS
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was looking forward to this stay because we've enjoyed Hyatt Place before. This property is run down and needs remodeled. The breakfast was as expected, good choices, etc. We were just disappointed with the worn out looking rooms. I can say that the location is good too.

Room Tip: ask when this place has been remodeled before you stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
I am so sorry you were not pleased with your visit to Hoover. I hope you will give us another opportunity to make amends and if you are inclined to do so please contact me and I will do my best to insure you enjoy your stay.

Julie Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoover
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Hoover-Galleria
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Hoover
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham-SW-Riverchase-Galleria
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hoover/Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover

Property: Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover
Address: 2980 John Hawkins Pkwy, Hoover, AL 35244-1087
Region: United States > Alabama > Hoover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hoover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Birmingham’s suburb of Hoover, you’ll find the Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, a welcoming, comfortable and affordable hotel designed for today’s modern traveler. Whether you’re visiting on vacation or business, our Hoover hotel’s 126 cozy guestrooms and modern amenities will make you feel right at home. From starting your mornings with our free hot Breakfast, to ending your days over a premium beer or wine from the Coffee to Beer & Wine Bar, we meet all your needs. Add in 24-hour business and fitness centers, 24-hour dining, a swimming pool and an excellent location and we become the obvious choice for any short- or long-term trip to Birmingham, Alabama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover Hotel Hoover
Birmingham Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing