We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for "fine" dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grille 29

Grille 29
Reserve with OpenTable
Grille 29 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 593 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 72
Description: Grille 29 is Huntsville hottest new concept in upscale-casual dining. Located in the heart of Providence Grille 29 offers diners a wide variety of dinner choices in a classy comfortable atmosphere. The specialties of the house are in the "From the Grille" menu section with tender cuts like our 8 oz. Filet Mignon and 12 oz. New York Strip Steak. Coupled with Shrimp with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat or broiled Jumbo Scallops, these savory and hearty entrees are uniquely presented and prepared to your liking. The stylish all wood bar at Grille 29 features full liquor service and is manned by some of the area's most professional and courteous bartenders. The wine list consists of 104 varieties of bottled wine, 52 of which are available by the glass . The enticing signature Martinis and cocktails enhance your overall dining experience. Make new friends and enjoy a drink at the bar or meet with old friends for drinks in the relaxing lounge.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
198 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good choice for "fine" dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Huntsville does not have too many fine dining restaurants. While Grille 29 is not overly fancy, it is superb quality food. This is one of the nicer places to visit in Huntsville for an upscale meal of quality. It does not have the most killer atmosphere, as it seems a bit sterile in that department, but it is a nice, subdued light venue that serves good food. OH, and Sunday brunch is excellent!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    96
    36
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I love near Providence so we decided to take the in-laws there for lunch. They arrived too early for lunch and too late for breakfast but we decided to go anyway. The waitress surprised us all with a brunch menu. Everyone ordered something different and no one was disappointed. I enjoyed the fried egg burger and had fried potatoes as my side. Holy smokes it was delicious. Additionally I used the sriracha sauce my father in-law wasn't using and it made everything better. We will be back for brunch!

Now dinner two weekends ago didn't go quite as well. Until I see that they get better reviews on their steaks I won't order another. Plus the oscar addition was maybe a teaspoon of crab. But it's not going to ruin me from going back, just have to try something new.

Helpful?
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were looking for a place to have a drink and conversation. We left a sports bar because of to much noise and saw Grill 29. We were completely surprised all around. A great atmosphere, 1st class service and a great menu. We had a glass of wine and then decided to stay for dinner. Nice menu selections available for any type taste. The service was fantastic, helpful on all questions and special requests. The meals arrived with just enough time to finish the earlier drinks. We were a party of four and everybody highly praised the food. The place was packed for a Monday.

We followed up two days later just to see if this was a fluke, but received the same 1st. class food and service. This will be our new top restaurant for Huntsville. A really great place! Reservations are recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PAV4544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Ohio
2 reviews
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The desk clerk at our hotel mentioned this was a great local restaurant. They were right. Dessert is a must when you go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mghancoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The grits are the star here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We went here based on Trip Advisor reviews. The restaurant is dark but romantic. Our Server was Christian, who gave excellent service. We had the seafood flatbread as an appetizer. The flatbread had a good blend of fresh seafood, topping and bread flavors. Plenty for two. My wife had the crab cakes. They were shaped like they were made in a muffin pan. Tops a little burned. The seasonal vegetable was zucchini and squash. Ok but too plain for a higher end restaurant. I had the pork chop. No complaints but nothing special. I loved the creamed spinach. Like the flatbread, a very good blend of flavors with no one flavor overwhelming the others. The white corn cheese grits were outstanding. The texture was just right. The sweetness of the corn and the tanginess of the Parmesan made the dish a reason to go back to Grille 29 again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grille 29 also viewed

 

Been to Grille 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing