We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Fair Food”
Review of Thai Garden

Thai Garden
Ranked #107 of 611 Restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Athens, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great Service, Fair Food”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Our first trip here was for a weekday lunch served from 11-2 PM M-F. We both ordered from the lunch menu with several meals offered at about $9.00 each including soup or salad, spring rolls and the main dish. The soup was good, an egg drop type but was mostly just a flavored broth. The spring rolls were the fried type, very small and just fair. But main dishes were just ok as well. It seemed to me the dishes were more like Chinese than Thai although they were spiced more like Thai. Generous portions were served, plenty for a lunch special. Our cost without tip and drinks was $19.33. This is a nice place, very friendly people and great service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carry out lunch CRAP”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I didn't even get to the food, I was going over the menu, and found some things I wanted, then I read the line. Soups and Salad don't come on carry out.

Called them to clarify, surely they don't charge full price for it and not give you everything? WRONG. Still full price, but you don't get soup or salad. Thanks, but no thanks. Lost a potentially long standing (first time) customer over a bowl of soup.

Don't support a place that treats customers this way, I certainly won't.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, AL
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Yes, I cleaned my plate”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Okay, so I love Thai and seldom get the pleasure to eat and enjoy. So a lot of food was ordered and all of it was consumed. None of it was bad and none went to waste. Ordered teh fried tofu to start. Adore the texture and the spicy peanut sauce it comes with. Followed it up with coconut soup which is heavenly. I went for the spicy vegetables with chili paste. I asked for three stars and should have gone four and a half but thankfully these poeple have you covered. There's plenty of condiments on the table. Crushed chili's were only a reach away. I always try to hit his place when in Huntsville and have never been disappointed. The wait staff is friendly, the food is fantastic and it's a solid value. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Americana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We've been going to Thai Garden for years. My husband loves Thai food, so we're always on the lookout for Thai restaurants when we travel.
We were there again last week and it was delicious, as usual.
It's a little off the beaten path, but it's easier than ever to find with a GPS.
The people are so friendly and helpful, as well. The food is always good, whatever you order.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attalla, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Alabama' s best Thai”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Started with the chicken, coconut and mushroom soup! Perfect.
Then the coconut catfish that set my senses on fire.
Clean, great services,, friendly staff, good spot!0

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tastetester11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Garden also viewed

 

Been to Thai Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing