We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
Ranked #7 of 609 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Waynesville, Ohio, USA
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Huntsville on our drive down to FL and it's so nice to be able to find some good food instead of eating fast food again. The waitress was very attentive and treated our kids very nicely. We has the fried catfish and meatloaf and they were both good. We would definitely come here again!

Helpful?
1 Thank chw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    98
    34
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Comfort Southern Food All In One Place”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Blue Plate Cafe is amazing! Lively, kind, and delicious food! 4 or 5 specials of the day, and that's about all you can order! Everything was amazing, and I cleaned my plate. Can't wait to go back and enjoy their other specials! Amazing southern food. Just go and try it yourself!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank PinkPanda1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A place to enjoy an unhurried meal”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Downtown Huntsville has only a few good places for breakfast or lunch. Most restaurant are the big chains, but I was totally please with the Blue Plate Café. The service is quick and caring. The food is good and wholesome, while the prices are in line with normal expectations. But the sweet tea is what really made this pleasurable dining. The tea a southern staple not too sweet but sweet enough to be cool and relaxing on a hot muggy day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We eat here a good bit”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We're locals and have been eating here for years. All the food is true southern food and it's delicious. My favorites are chicken & dressing, dumplings, hash brown casserole, squash (only on certain days), strawberry shortcake (Monday only). Those are my favs but I've never had a bad meal here. Breakfast is great too. This is where the locals eat for those out-of-town folks reading this. You will feel like you've won the lottery if you get a parking spot between 11:30 and 1:30 Monday through Friday, so get here early. I've never had to wait over 30 min for a table. Service is always excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We ate here this morning for breakfast. The food was great and cooked to our liking. Eggs, omelets, gravy, bacon...it was all very good. I want to go back and try their pancakes and french toast, too. The waitress was very sweet and did a wonderful job.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing