We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm embarrassed to say this...”

U.S. Space and Rocket Center
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$24.00*
and up
US Space and Rocket Center Admission
Ranked #1 of 74 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Home to Space Camp, Aviation Challenge and NASA's Official Visitor Information Center for Marshall Space Flight Center; The U.S. Space & Rocket Center is recognized as one of the most comprehensive U.S. manned space flight hardware museums in the world.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As a Houstonian and fan/supporter/advocate for NASA and the Johnson Space Center in Houston, I am a tad embarrassed to say that I preferred the US Space and Rocket Center in Huntsville, AL. We were so impressed by this exceptional representation of NASA and space exploration. The exhibits, the variety, the learning, the inspiration, and the ponderings that we left with all made for a wonderful day. The interactive exhibits were engaging for adults and children, and they WORKED! The last time we visited the Space Center Houston, it seemed so commercialized with cartoon character exhibits, etc., and we left disappointed. The Huntsville center is top notch and we are so glad that we visited. Nice gift shop, too!

5  Thank aprilcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USSRC, Public Relations Manager at U.S. Space and Rocket Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are so excited to hear that you had a great experience on your recent visit to our center. We are always looking for ways to make each guest have an exceptional visit and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback. We hope that you aren't too "embarrassed to say". We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,666 - 1,670 of 2,369 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went to see the latest Da Vinci exhibit and were thrilled with the display of many of his inventions. The revamped gift shop had lots to offer. This was our first visit without out of town visitors and loved it.

1  Thank steverow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USSRC, Public Relations Manager at U.S. Space and Rocket Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our center. There are always new exhibits being planned. So we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had a great time with the history and accomplishment of the space programs. The new voyager series would have been great, if Obama would not have cancelled the program.

Thank Kd4szb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USSRC, Public Relations Manager at U.S. Space and Rocket Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your recent visit to our center. History is a big part of our museum and exhibits. Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent experience. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went on Memorial Day. My 5 yr old son enjoyed the displays, esp. the Mars ride, army displays and the volunteer aeronautical principle demo. Saturn V hall is the very interesting.

Thank HJDC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USSRC, Public Relations Manager at U.S. Space and Rocket Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for visiting our center. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit. We appreciate you taking the time out to give us feedback on your experience. We hope to see you all come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Plan on going back next year, but can't give it a perfect rating because my "crew leader" was less than personable and didn't share information. We had two small groups of students and one group was given a greater experience than the other. The exhibits did allow my group to read and understand the information presented minus a guide.

Thank Graceandfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USSRC, Public Relations Manager at U.S. Space and Rocket Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We are sorry to hear that your recent visit to our museum did not meet your expectations. We strive to ensure every guest to the museum and to our camp programs has an exceptional visit and appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback on how we can improve for next time. We have passed along your comments to the specific areas you mentioned. We hope that you all will make another visit soon, as we do look forward to see you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U.S. Space and Rocket Center also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Space and Rocket Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing